Mayhem De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
budgie
January 11th 2019


12108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

deathcrush is 1st wave id say this and burzum are like, showcasing the transition from 1st to 2nd

Digging: Polygon Woods - Post Space

zaruyache
January 11th 2019


21204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

snox once argued it was 1st wave but he's not around anymore and I can't remember what his reasoning was, or else I'd be pedantic and argue the point myself just to be contrary.

budgie
January 11th 2019


12108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

would that be pedantry

zaruyache
January 12th 2019


21204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

arguing the point of where an album falls between two largely arbitrarily defined categories based on subjective interpretations of its instrumental elements? Yea kinda.

Egarran
January 12th 2019


12026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I wrote a big university assignment claiming that Burzum and Darkthrone etc was 1. gen. Later I learned that 1. gen is something like Mercyful Fate and Venom.



Later again I learned that none of this matters in any way.

Digging: Without Face - Astronomicon

Thalassic
January 12th 2019


3061 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The only thing that matters to me these days is "do I like it or not?"

AdolfChrist
January 12th 2019


21906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mercyful Fate and Venom arent black metal, begin the shitstorm.

Digging: Vessels - Helioscope

Egarran
January 12th 2019


12026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Exactly, it's an endless discussion. I think that idea appeals to BM nerds because it somehow elevates the genre and makes it a Grand Tale. Instead of just being middle-class teens wanting to edgy.

AdolfChrist
January 12th 2019


21906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That was me for sure, cringey times. Fun times too though, no regretz.

Egarran
January 12th 2019


12026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No ragrets indeed. All people who are obsessed with something want to put in a grand perspective.

Casavir
January 12th 2019


3634 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Mercyful Fate and Venom arent black metal, begin the shitstorm."



If MF is black metal, Arch-era Fates Warning and Slauter Xstroyes is black metal. Agreed with Venom tho m/

Egarran
January 13th 2019


12026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The consensus here seems to be that MF is not black metal.



Which is the only sensible opinion.

budgie
January 13th 2019


12108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well i categorize the mf self titled ep as black metal

Egarran
January 13th 2019


12026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Damn it.

zaruyache
January 13th 2019


21204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

the way musical waves work, though, early waves usually come from diverse bands that contribute ideas and aesthetics that are eventually brought together by later bands, and these compiled influences become the genre proper. MF did contribute more than just aesthetics to the genre, so technically I think they should fall under the umbrella of 1st wave despite being a heavy metal band themselves. Just like Slint is "post-rock" despite playing mathrock/post-hardcore.

Casavir
January 13th 2019


3634 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"MF did contribute more than just aesthetics to the genre, so technically I think they should fall under the umbrella of 1st wave despite being a heavy metal band themselves"



So you think Arch-era Fates Warning is black metal?

zaruyache
January 13th 2019


21204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

early 1st wave bm is more of a general movement than a structured genre, so if you wanna argue that bands belongs then go for it. I don't listen to Fates Warning so idk.

Spaten
January 13th 2019


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anyone else think that Freezing Moon is actually one of the worst tracks on the album?

Casavir
January 13th 2019


3634 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, it's great but it's among the lesser tracks compared to songs like the title track and From a Dark Past.

Hawks
January 13th 2019


73026 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Blasphemy smh.

Digging: Dead Can Dance - The Serpent's Egg



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy