Porcupine Tree Deadwing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


26797 Comments


Like a cancer scare
In a dentist chair
Sucking in the air
Wire across the stair
Kicking down the door
At your local store
When your world of bore
Forces through the floor
Unexpected news
Wearing high-heeled shoes

Digging: Open Mike Eagle - Brick Body Kids Still Daydream

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2013


39418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm pretty sure it's "with your world at war, voices through the floor"

And yeah they're ambiguous and meaningless but I've heard much worse

From a broader perspective of the whole album, Arriving Somewhere has great lyrics

Digging: The Used - The Canyon

Collis
September 24th 2013


551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is my favourite PT by some margin. Harrison's drumming is insane on this album, 5:05 onwards on Mellotron Scratch is ghost note city and makes me ejaculate every time.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


26797 Comments


@Rowan: No complaints about Arriving Somewhere, the lyrics are fine in that one. It's my favourite post-Stupid Dream PT song by a mile.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2013


39418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah fantastic song

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


26797 Comments


I dunno why the lyrics in the title track annoy me so much, there's just something about that section I copy and pasted that makes me cringe every time I hear it.

ButteryBiscuitBass
September 24th 2013


11198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, he's not the best lyricist.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2013


39418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Outside of the semi-spoken word sections I like the lyrics in the t/t.

"And something warm and soft just passed through here

It took the precious things that I hold dearer

It rifled through the grey and disappeared

The creeping darkness makes the small hours clearer" is good stuff

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2013


39418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah he's far from the best but I don't think he's that bad either

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He's capable of being a pretty bad lyricist but also a good one too. Arriving somewhere has fantastic lyrics

Emyay
September 24th 2013


6280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i like his lyrics a lot.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

His best songs I've heard lyrically are on Stupid Dream and In Absentia so far. Still yet to hear anything older than SD though.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


26797 Comments


His lyrics aren't really any better on their earlier stuff but I find it easier to overlook them as they're just meant to be psychedelic, acid-influenced nonsense, which he actually does pretty well. Plus the lyrics aren't as prominent in their psychedelic stuff due to there being lots of instrumental sections.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've always found that the music is more dominant in PT. That's my favorite aspect of this band.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


26797 Comments


Well then you might like their psych stuff even more.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm working my way backwards. What's Signify like?

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


26797 Comments


It's good but I personally prefer The Sky Moves Sideways, Up the Downstair and Staircase Infinities (EP). Signify was basically a transitional album that saw them mix their psych sound with the sort of sound heard on Stupid Dream and Lightbulb Sun. So in that respect it's probably best to do what you are doing and work backwards as that will be a good introduction to their earlier sound while still having some similarities to their more recent material.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok sweet. I love almost everything I've heard by PT so far. The Incident as some good stuff but it's quite underwhelming at parts.

TheVermMaremagnum
September 24th 2013


252 Comments


The incident is ok, but everything made by wilson and company is far better. Open car was one of my jamz a long time ago.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


18884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stuff like the blind house and octane twisted are brilliant but your unpleasant family and drawing the line are lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy