Sly and The Family Stone There's A Riot Goin' On
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
parksungjoon
February 24th 2021


47235 Comments


If Radiohead's Kid A was re-made by Andre 3000 (The Love Below half of OutKast), this would be the result. It's utterly bewildering, bleak, and possessed of an inspired murkiness not far removed from doom metal.



and this is why you dont make a 20 year old write about music made 20 years before they were born

ArsMoriendi
February 24th 2021


41157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holy shit this review mentions Kid A 3 times



What kinda garbage review brings up Radiohead when talking about 70s funk



"The production is also quite muddy, though this contributes to the music and is nowhere near as bad as St. Anger! "



This guy was staff apparently :| mentioned St. Anger in a fucking Sly review

GhandhiLion
February 24th 2021


17645 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

vomiting emoji

parksungjoon
February 24th 2021


47235 Comments


in some ways this might be the worst review on this site

TVC15
February 24th 2021


11372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Iai still writes reviews regularly on RYM



They're give or take of the same quality, making absolutely nonsensical comparisons and gaining a lot of upvotes for it

parksungjoon
February 24th 2021


47235 Comments


Oh I've noticed...

ArsMoriendi
February 24th 2021


41157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This deserves a better review, by a contrib



but that only contrib with this rated is hel9000

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2021


4969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just wanted to talk about what a banger I Wanna Take You Higher is but



"If Radiohead's Kid A was re-made by Andre 3000 (The Love Below half of OutKast), this would be the result. It's utterly bewildering, bleak, and possessed of an inspired murkiness not far removed from doom metal."



is hilarious

GhandhiLion
May 23rd 2022


17645 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the doom metal part might be worse than radiohead

parksungjoon
May 23rd 2022


47235 Comments


The production is also quite muddy, though this contributes to the music and is nowhere near as bad as St. Anger!

notkanyewest
May 24th 2022


333 Comments


His only weapon is his pen

widowslaugh123
May 24th 2022


4076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best record ever

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2022


60860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

jfc this review is egregiously bad



will jam this soon

widowslaugh123
May 28th 2022


4076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Johnny have you heard in other sly before? You might not dig this very much haha

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2022


60860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have not! and have now heard this; I was expecting something less smoky/smooth and a little more jagged/angry (a la funk, not angst) for whatever reason and am kinda vibing anyway but not head over heels if that figures? Should I backtrack?

parksungjoon
June 13th 2022


47235 Comments


>jfc this review is egregiously bad


smutnikpewsic

widowslaugh123
June 13th 2022


4076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mean that might provide better context for this album. Their run from life to fresh is pretty good if you want to check those out. Honestly I like all their albums up until small talk but I may be a minority

Snake.
June 13th 2022


25285 Comments


"Again, Kid A springs to mind. I'd bet my house on Thom Yorke owning and loving this record!"

sheesh i probably could've been a contrib on this site back in 2004

parksungjoon
June 13th 2022


47235 Comments


worse, staff

Butkuiss
June 4th 2024


7209 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

“If Radiohead's Kid A was re-made by Andre 3000 (The Love Below half of OutKast), this would be the result.”



Respect where respect is due for Iai but oh my god this line



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy