Thought Industry Mods Carve the Pig
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
July 19th 2022


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

--I found that kind of weird considering that this was the same label that oversaw Fates Warning's discography from The Spectre Within to FWX lol --

Fates Warning was traditional progressive metal for so long that by the time they started experimenting with electronics and stuff, they could still be marketed in the traditional metal circles. I'm literally 3/4 of the way through the Fates Warning book that was just released, and that's basically the jist of it.



Also they released Night on Brocken and Long Day Goodnight (or whatever it's called), too.

Willie
Moderator
July 19th 2022


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Double posting about 12 hours later, but thinking about it.... maybe that's one of the reasons Fates Warning didn't break out when they started moving away from a traditional prog sound; because Metal Blade was still marketing them like they always had instead of trying to think outside the box. The book has all sorts of stories of Metal Blade kinda blowing it with promotion, actually.

Casavir
July 19th 2022


5648 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Double posting about 12 hours later, but thinking about it.... maybe that's one of the reasons Fates Warning didn't break out when they started moving away from a traditional prog sound; because Metal Blade was still marketing them like they always had instead of trying to think outside the box. The book has all sorts of stories of Metal Blade kinda blowing it with promotion, actually."



Is that the one Jeff Wagner wrote? I've only just recently ordered Mean Deviation and I mean to read through that before getting to the Fates Warning book.

Willie
Moderator
July 19th 2022


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, the one Jeff Wagner wrote. I have Mean Deviation on the Kindle App, but haven't read it. I want to, but just don't think about it because I never open the app. The Fates Warning book was the actual book, so I could see it and remember to read it.

Casavir
July 19th 2022


5648 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I got Mean Deviation physically so that should be cool.

Willie
Moderator
July 19th 2022


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It should be good. Based on the Fates book, he's definitely a good writer.

Gyromania
September 24th 2023


37218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this doesn't hold up

Koris
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2023


21370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ heavy disagree

Gyromania
September 24th 2023


37218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

rly love the closer but most of this just sounds like wankery to me. i love some albums that are just: idea, idea, idea.. but this one doesn't execute properly on a lot of the experimentation, for me at least. feelsbadman. i think i prefer the debut

Willie
Moderator
September 24th 2023


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I go back and forth. They're so different from each other, that it's hard to compare.

Gyromania
September 24th 2023


37218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah they rly are worlds apart and it saddens me, think I prefer their third album to this one too. Idk, I prob need to hear it again to say for sure, but a lot of this just seems totally directionless and it all feels a little too serious - like Mr Bungle without the humour. I’m all for albums that flit from idea to idea but the execution is so amateurish here and that doesn’t lend it any charm, for me. What even happened to these guys anyway? The third album too sounds pretty different from the first two

Casavir
September 25th 2023


5648 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is some of the most focused avant-metal in the whole genre by far next to Songs for Insects, what are you talking about lol

Dylan620
February 4th 2024


5871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is kind of amazing

Willie
Moderator
February 5th 2024


20217 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice. I'm glad people are still discovering this band.

Dylan620
February 13th 2024


5871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Willie, it took me a long time after reading your review for me to get around to this album, but you're a saint for spreading the word on this.



Hey man! Isn't it amazing how this new political correctness has just become a blatant disruption of freedom of speech? I think it's even more amazing that I think I know what I'm saying, I think!

Koris
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2024


21370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still crazy to think that Jason Newsted was the one who discovered these guys, lol

Hawks
February 13th 2024


90431 Comments


Shut up Casavir.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy