Jesu
Silver


4.0
excellent

Review

by Blindguardian USER (5 Reviews)
June 24th, 2006 | 117 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


Justin Broadrick is something of a legend within the metal community. To be honest, I was never into any of Broadrick’s projects, despite the constant flow of praise for his work. I am considering a reevaluation of Broadrick after hearing Silver. The music on Silver is simultaneously crushingly heavy and ethereally melodic.

Jesu:

Justin Broadrick – Guitar, Vocals
Diarmuid Dalton – Bass
Ted Parsons – Drums

The title track begins with the sound of swelling distortion. Underneath the guitar, a melodic synthesizer line weaves a repetitive, hypnotic pattern. Broadrick’s angelic vocals, sounding almost like a hymn, rise over the wall of distortion. The crushing distortion of the guitar and bass obscures his words. More important is the melodic sense that his vocals bring to the song, providing contrast to the crushing guitars. When the guitar drops out, the synthesizer continues over the warm, resonant sound of the bass. The synthesizer builds, changing its form, seeming to stretch upwards, until the song ends.

Star enters with rapid, pulsing drums accompanied by an interesting distorted bass line. Broderick repeats variations of the words “If I could forget it like you do," lending the track a melancholy feel. Throughout Silver, Broderick uses his voice sparingly. The scarcity of vocals serves to emphasize the presence of Broadrick’s singing. As his voice rises above the mire of distortion, it serves as a focal point for the listener’s attention. Wolves feels noticeably darker than the previous songs. The synthesizer and bass are initially responsible for creating an ominous atmosphere. The entrance of a guitar playing a crushing chord progression then heightens the tension. Broadrick’s haunting vocals fade in and out over the wall of sound. The final track...

...Dead Eyes, begins with the sound of a damaged record. The synthesizer lines contain the suggestions of a human voice, but it is impossible to catch any words. At 4:10, the heaviest guitar riff on the album enters. Gradually the instruments begin to drop out, until only the crackle of the synthesizer remains. The inclusion of the same sounds at the beginning and the end of the song lends Dead Eyes a cyclical feeling of unity, although the song itself does not offer enough of a climax to stand with the rest of the record. The main downside to Silver is the repetitive nature of the material, which could ruin the album for some listeners. You get the same distorted guitar and bass tones throughout the album, and every song is linear. Jesu make up for the repetition by lacing the album with melody. Although at first listen picking out the melody may seem daunting, the listener does not have to search too far beneath the layers of distortion encasing the melody. Silver is successful because its outward harshness conceals an underlying pop sensibility that catches you when you least expect it.

Pros:
– Music remains crushingly heavy while concealing a wealth of melody
– The guitar and bass complement one another with interesting lines
– Broadrick’s ethereal vocals provide a nice counterpoint to the music

Cons:
– Songs are linear in composition
– Occasionally repetitive
– Lack of variation in the guitar and bass tone

4/5


user ratings (325)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Greg Majewski (4)
Jesu's newest release is an impressive excercise in sonic experimentation. Truly crushing in some pa...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Blindguardian
June 24th 2006


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks, I figured since the weather sucked so I can't play soccer, and the world cup games were over for the day (I wanted Mexico to beat Argentina) I should do another review

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2006


17945 Comments


stfu c hanningThis Message Edited On 01.13.08

Hatshepsut
June 24th 2006


1997 Comments


Argentina in OT I want Mexico cause my friend likes Mexico. Oh well.

As for the review, it's a good one. Isn't post rock more like alternative? I think you describe it more like metal, but I can never really really be sure in tbts.

Blindguardian
June 24th 2006


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well I'd say metal, its got a drone/industrial edge too, but I wasn't the one who chose the genre, the album was already added, I just wrote the review

Hatshepsut
June 24th 2006


1997 Comments


Ah, I see.

Zebra
Moderator
June 24th 2006


2647 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've never been able to get into Jesu. Wolves and the title track are my favorite songs, but sometimes the music gets to heavy for its own good. Nice work on the review.This Message Edited On 06.24.06

Hatshepsut
June 24th 2006


1997 Comments


First? Fifth?

Blindguardian
June 25th 2006


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ummm what? Fifth what?

Zebra, yeah that's the flaw of the album, it can get tiring sometimes cause it maintains the same level of distortion pretty much throughout, I like it, but the repetition does hurtThis Message Edited On 06.24.06

AlienEater
June 25th 2006


716 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I haven't this yet. Will do eventually, I really dig the other one.

Blindguardian
June 25th 2006


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hell yes for the featured review, seriously give this a try if you like drone or sludge bands or are a Godflesh fan

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2006


17945 Comments


STFU CHANNINGThis Message Edited On 01.13.08

burton.and.gas
June 25th 2006


641 Comments


ye! someone else reviewed Jesu. Nice review haven't heard this. The s/t rules


spoon_of_grimbo
June 25th 2006


2241 Comments


heard of these, although i thought it was Justin Broadrick? the guy from napalm death? i may be wrong...

Blindguardian
June 25th 2006


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think he was in Napalm at some point, this is totally different

$bassline$
June 25th 2006


7 Comments


he in fact was in napalm death before godflesh.

as for this album, i think the repetitive quality is great for the material. i was already a big fan before this was released so maybe it was just because that's what i was expecting. i mean, it is after all drone music, among other things of course. so if i were you i wouldn't really list the repetitve nature as an absolute con, i think it should just be pointed out that some people may not appreciate that aspect of the music. i think that this is by far jesu's most accessible release to date, and i've shown it to friends who don't listen to anything even in the ballpark of this style and they thought it was pretty cool.
not to be a whiner though, this is a good review and congradulations on the feature.

Werny
June 26th 2006


148 Comments


Justin (you called him Jason in the review, fyi) was in the first line-up of Napalm Death, playing rhythm guitar on Scum.

I've only got Streetcleaner by Godflesh which is amazing, is Jesu anything like it? The full-length that Jesu released last year was almost unanimously declared a classic so I think I'll grab that one.

Blindguardian
June 26th 2006


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry about the name, I'll change that now
Jesu is not exactly like Godflesh, the vocals are cleaner overall and there is much more emphasis on creating feedback with heavier distortion, Jesu is extremely dense in comparison, however, Jesu retains an industrial edge similiar to Godflesh, I'd recommend that you try Jesu if you like Godflesh
I actually prefer Silver to the full-length, I think the songwriting is more consistent, the full-length felt a little wandering

Kage
June 26th 2006


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I listen to Jesu occaisonally, but I haven't heard much of this release. I think I will check it out. Great work on the review.

burton.and.gas
June 28th 2006


641 Comments


Justin (you called him Jason in the review, fyi) was in the first line-up of Napalm Death, playing rhythm guitar on Scum.

actually he was in their 2nd line up and was ony on half of scum anyway. The bassit of their second line up is the only ND memebr to have lasted since then. He wasn't even their original bassist lol, and at the time the original drummer was the one and only original member.


sj_2150
October 23rd 2006


251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

FUCK! i cant stop listening to it. its amazing! its very heavy yet its very melodic. im buying this one for sure



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy