Draconian
Sovran


2.5
average

Review

by Hawks USER (92 Reviews)
November 8th, 2015 | 55 replies


Release Date: 10/30/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not a terrible effort, just extremely predictable.

Most metal fans have probably heard of Draconian at one point or another. Hailing from Sweden, Draconian has been putting out a somber mix of death, doom, and gothic metal for around 2 decades now. What used to really make them interesting was their ability to mesh together gothic undertones and crushing death/doom all into one final product. On their newest album, Sovran, they do much of the same, which is where a lot of the problem lies.

First off, I won't say that this is a bad album because it's not. Sovran never had any moments where you think to yourself "wow this flat out sucks." What it does have, however, is plenty of moments where you find yourself looking to see how much longer you have to get through and that's really the main problem here. Lack of interesting riffs and really any variation throughout a 50 minute album isn't helping their case either. The guitar work doesn't switch pace at all and sounds like they're rehashing the same riffs over and over for the entire album. Previous albums such as Turning Season Within and Arcane Rain Fell at least showed the band displaying their emotion with different riffs and drum patterns. Here they sound like a band that's getting bored with the style they're playing and that's just the truth.

The most interesting aspect of this record, and the best aspect, is the addition of full-time female vocalist Heike Langhans alongside Anders doing the male vocals as always. While she joined the band in 2012, this is the first full-length album with her as a member. Her vocals aren't anything that you probably haven't heard before, but the angelic yet melancholic sound of her voice at least adds something that Draconian has never really had before. Anders' vocals are also well done, but a little stale at this point as well if I'm being honest. Simple low growls with little to no variation once again, and while they're done quite well, it's something we've all gotten used to and can predict at this point in the band's career.

Overall, if you're a fan of death, doom, and/or gothic metal, there's a chance you'll like this. However, if you're a fan of the band already, you've heard this before. You just have to decide if you're up for another album worth of slow riffs that end up not really going anywhere and a vocal performance that is only really highlighted when the female vocals come in.



Recent reviews by this author
Desecresy Stoic DeathDrudkh / Hades Almighty One Who Walks With the Fog / Pyre Era, Black!
Mesarthim IsolateArizmenda Without Circumference Nor Center
Axis of Light L'appel du videMayhem Live in Leipzig
user ratings (57)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Zachary J. Dixon (4.5)
Beauty in Tragedy...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
November 8th 2015


50129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah I have 2 reviews on the front page (3 if you count the feature) blah blah blah.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cryptoriana ? The Seductiveness of Decay

Gyromania
November 8th 2015


22709 Comments


good work, hawks. review is concise, informative, and easy to read.

heard mostly bad things about this

Wolfhorde
November 8th 2015


15369 Comments


I remember listening to a good song by Draconian but I don't remember. I think I listened one or two songs off of this and they barely compared.

Hawks
November 8th 2015


50129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks Gyro. m/



Yeah Wolf used to be so much better, I was highly disappointed by this album.

Wolfhorde
November 8th 2015


15369 Comments


Oh right, it was when I was at Wylie's.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JXhXk3uE_y4

This song and then I got the album that was on which I thought was pretty cool. Good winter stuff, actually.

InFlamesWeThrash666
November 8th 2015


6747 Comments


They played it safe with this one

Digging: Septicflesh - Codex Omega

Hawks
November 8th 2015


50129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wolf that's an older track I think that's from Where Lovers Mourn, I haven't heard that whole album yet, but yeah I can imagine it's much better as a whole than this.



You should listen to Arcane Rain Fell and see what you think.

Wolfhorde
November 8th 2015


15369 Comments


Yeah, it's from Where Lovers Mourn. I might just do that later, gotta do a summary for public law - that music might just be the right background music.

Hawks
November 8th 2015


50129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fuck yeah bro lemme know what you think if you get around to it.

EvoHavok
November 8th 2015


7140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Shame. I'll give it a spin, though.

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Hiss Spun

Hawks
November 8th 2015


50129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah you might as well listen for yourself, but this is underwhelming. :[

Wolfhorde
November 8th 2015


15369 Comments


Will do.

Hawks
November 8th 2015


50129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

m/ m/ m/

Hawks
November 8th 2015


50129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks man. m/

EvoHavok
November 8th 2015


7140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First Draconian you jam, Snide?

EvoHavok
November 8th 2015


7140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That will help a lot. Most of the criticism people give this is that they played it very safe; something which can't be an issue for you.

I suggest checking Arcane Rain Fell and Turning Season Within.

Hawks
November 8th 2015


50129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah those albums both slay.

EvoHavok
November 8th 2015


7140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, they carved themselves a nice sound and it seems they're really clinging to it hehe.

Hawks
November 8th 2015


50129 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It works well for some bands, but the past 2 albums from these guys have been bland.



Clinging to the established sound that is.

EvoHavok
November 8th 2015


7140 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mhm. I suspect I'll give this a similar rating to yours after hearing it, Snide.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy