Accept
Russian Roulette


3.5
great

Review

by Sabrutin USER (35 Reviews)
March 20th, 2015 | 18 replies


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The last piece of Accept's classic era is still worth more than a listen.

1987 marked the ending for Accept's classic era, and even though a few valid releases were published between 1993 and 1996 the band's true comeback album arrived only in 2010, with new vocalist Mark Tornillo. What happened in 1987 is easy to understand, Udo Dirkschneider, the charismatic long time vocalist, left the band due to different musical ideas. It is also easy to note a shift towards a more commercial sound in some parts of Metal Heart. That said, what is often forgotten while speaking of Accept's classic era is the band's seventh LP, Russian Roulette. Showcasing a darker tone than its predecessor, this album is quite the underrated gem.

On paper, Russian Roulette is standard old Accept material without doubts. Actually, it does a bit more: the seven minutes long epic-like "Heaven Is Hell", dealing with religion issues, fuels the darker tone of the album. Memorable moments like the guitar solo that explodes after the shouting of 'is it heaven or hell?' and the following atmospheric organ section give the feeling that this track would have been the best choice to name the album after.

You shouldn't kill your brother
Except if he doesn't know what's right
If he can't love your heaven
Ah, it's mercy for him to die

- Heaven Is Hell

The rest of the album, while showcasing that darker tone, is exactly what one would expect from Accept. Addictive choruses, over-the-top attitude, catchy riffing and wank-free solos are always present. One complaint would be the low mixing of the bass guitar, which could be a bit of an annoyance for those who seek strong rhythm sections, even though the drum work is far from poor (the opener's chorus would be half good without that double bass). Nevertheless, what stops Russian Roulette from being considered on the same league of albums like Restless and Wild and Balls to the Wall is a simple motive: it feels a bit tired, especially in the second half.

The structure of the classic Accept rocker is well known, and it can be intuited just by listening to Dirkschneider distinctive vocals. It is no mystery that it would be hard for him to carry a chorus always on his own, and that is why gang vocals are often used by the band. It can also be intuited that there is a limited number of occasions where you can use such structures before they turn stale, and that is exactly what started to happen in Russian Roulette, before reaching the climax during the band's last reunion with the singer.

Keeping that in mind, do not be fooled by such a talk. Russian Roulette still shows Dirkschneider's Accept at the (almost) best of their game. A highly recommended listen to all who enjoyed listening to the band's most famous albums, and still a valid offering for anyone who is searching for some heavy metal with no frills seasoned with some tasty guitar licks. Highlights include the infectious "Monsterman", "Aiming High", the mellower "It's Hard To Find A Way" and, obviously, "Heaven Is Hell".



Recent reviews by this author
Maxophone La Fabbrica delle NuvoleAsia XXX
Maze of Sothoth Soul DemiseKlimt 1918 Sentimentale Jugend
Toto HydraAn Autumn For Crippled Children Eternal
user ratings (121)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2015


22283 Comments


Nice. '80s Accept rules, but I haven't heard this one yet. Will check.

Digging: Sorority Noise - You're Not As ____ As You Think

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2015


10166 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great and much needed review Sab, pos.



This one didn't click with me very much on the few listens I gave it but it's still an enjoyable album.

Digging: Doomocracy - Visions & Creatures of Imagination

DrJohn
March 20th 2015


1041 Comments


I'm not familiar with that tbh... nice review though so pos.

rockandmetaljunkie
March 20th 2015


6557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's always a pleasure to see Accept getting some love. Pos'd for you.

I'm not sure I'll check this though.

Sabrutin
March 20th 2015


4103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks everyone, if you enjoy early Accept I'm positive you'll find at least a couple of tracks to enjoy. "Monsterman" is one of my favorite Accept tracks, have a look if you are curious: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btFE6HPFl3U

sputnik1
March 21st 2015


303 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I bought this the day it came out and consider it a soundtrack to my life. Love it and Metal Heart!

Sabrutin
March 21st 2015


4103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

m/



What's your favorite track?

sputnik1
March 21st 2015


303 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Tough call, Monsterman then Russian Roulette, Also really like Heaven is Hell.



Sabrutin
March 22nd 2015


4103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice, I'm glad to see the love for Monsterman!

Robbit
May 3rd 2016


54 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I decided to listen to this album again today BEFORE reading your review. As it turns out, I completely agree with you on this. RUSSIAN ROULETTE was received a fairly raw deal from the critics. This album is a return to the heavier, more aggressive sound Accept had on BALLS TO THE WALL. The songs might not be quite as good, but they are solid and well executed. In fact, I'm finding myself liking this much more than METAL HEART. I never liked the Pop Metal album sound of that record. I'm having a tough time reconciling my ratings for RUSSIAN ROULETTE & METAL HEART, which I both gave 3.5 stars. I've even considered bumping this one up a bit (or METAL HEART down to 3 stars). [Read my Sound Off on METAL HEART for further thoughts on that one.]

Sabrutin
September 3rd 2016


4103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Spinning this one right now, it's so overlooked.

rockandmetaljunkie
February 10th 2017


6557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"heaven is there where hell is and hell is down on earth"



Awesome tune and probably the only worthy song from the last album of their classic era

Sabrutin
February 10th 2017


4103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah come on a "good" album must have more than one whorty song :D



My faves: T.V. War, Monsterman (album fave), Aiming High, Heaven Is Hell, Another Second to Be

rockandmetaljunkie
February 11th 2017


6557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You've got a point, maybe "worthy" was a poor choice of words on my behalf. Every song here is decent enough but i feel the only memorable song was the one i mentioned.

Sabrutin
February 12th 2017


4103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think I see why but I can't agree. Album's on par with Metal Heart for me, as in MH as the highlights but this one has the consistency

rockandmetaljunkie
February 12th 2017


6557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That album though had the t/t which is one of the best metal anthems ever recorded. The whole album though is quite inconsistent, i give you that.

Sabrutin
February 12th 2017


4103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And also Teach Us to Survive, Bound to Fail (best intro section in metal?) and Midnight Mover (the riffing in the verses is just killer)

rockandmetaljunkie
February 12th 2017


6557 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Bound to Fail (best intro section in metal?)"



It's up there for sure. One of their most overrated songs. And it tells a good story too. How humanity is bound to succumb to vanity. At least that's how i perceived the lyrics, lol

And great fucking solos in the end. Wolf Hoffmann is one of my guitar heroes.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy