Modest Mouse
This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About


5.0
classic

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (98 Reviews)
December 4th, 2014 | 225 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Smiths, Pixies, Built To Spill, and the Meat Puppets get into a car and drive off a cliff

Classic Albums Month Pt. 2: I Think I Know My Geography Pretty Damn Well

This is a Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About is a tough album to declare a classic. It's an intimidating listen because of its rough exterior, and a challenge to sit through because of its length, but that's sort of the charm. There's a strangely relaxing vibe that comes out of the general nihilistic tendencies Modest Mouse convey as the music is often abrasive, songs tend to drag on with extended jam sessions, and the lyrics are cryptic and confusing, but the raw talent in terms of songwriting and musicianship keeps it all together. It also doesn't hurt that Long Drive is impeccably consistent to the point that every single track stands out in some fashion. Every song oozes catchy bass lines, driving, complex, and unusual drum beats, and above all else, Isaac Brock's inventive and powerful guitar and vocal performances. All of these characteristics get tuned-up and refined on later releases, but Modest Mouse's lack of experience and focus while recording Long Drive serves as an exceptionally pleasant foray into the unknown. Modest Mouse didn't quite know where they wanted to go when they recorded Long Drive, and that's what makes it great. Equal parts beauty and equal parts chaos, This is a Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About showcases Modest Mouse at their rawest, their most adventurous, and it laid the groundwork for the best three album stretch in indie rock.



Recent reviews by this author
Dance Gavin Dance Instant GratificationTitle Fight Hyperview
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereModest Mouse The Lonesome Crowded West
Viper the Rapper You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke CrackHave Mercy A Place of Our Own
user ratings (1035)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
The Katz brothers (5)
...

JJOMan (5)
This album is perfect for a long drive, regardless of if you have something to think about or not....

YoYoMancuso (4.5)
A gargantuan indie rock record with plenty of heart and a variety of pleasing sounds to take in....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2014


51213 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

A short review for one of the best albums indie rock has to offer



I'm going to write a lot more for Lonesome Crowded West and Moon & Antarctica don't you worry

Digging: Hop Along - Painted Shut

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2014


3024 Comments


IMO this was their best, nice one treb. I always thought the best part of this album was the sincere lyricism, and the sort of sloppy
progression. the songs sort of drag on, enveloping the original structure. love it

Digging: Kamasi Washington - The Epic

SkaCali
December 4th 2014


293 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

very cool

SnakeDelilah
December 4th 2014


10852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pos

Digging: Father John Misty - I Love You, Honeybear

Rowan5215
December 4th 2014


29439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been waiting a long time to make a snarky comment like "This is a long review for someone with nothing to talk about" but you clearly anticipated that. Well played, treb

tommygun
December 4th 2014


25630 Comments


'every single track stands in some fashion'

what

Cygnatti
December 4th 2014


24199 Comments


Stands out?

Digging: Mo*Te - Life in a Peaceful New World

demigod!
December 4th 2014


46781 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Smiths, Pixies, and Built To Spill get into a car and drive off a cliff




don't forget the meat puppets

Digging: My Alias - Light

tommygun
December 4th 2014


25630 Comments


people always do dem :[

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2014


3024 Comments


maybe some Guided By Voices

Ryus
December 4th 2014


7800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"don't forget the meat puppets"



yes!





Digging: Joe Henderson - Inner Urge

TalonsOfFire
December 4th 2014


12229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

About time this had a contrib/staff review. Imaginary pos

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2014


4385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i listened to their album with Johnny Marr and that's it, will have to give this a listen.



really great review as per usual

Digging: Blur - The Magic Whip

demigod!
December 4th 2014


46781 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

their first 3 albums + building nothing are absolute essentials dude

psandy
December 4th 2014


138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, I was really excited to see this on the homepage with your name under it.



@arcade you won't be disappointed.

tommygun
December 4th 2014


25630 Comments


dramamine is the best song ever fuck all y'all

Ryus
December 4th 2014


7800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2]

Rowan5215
December 4th 2014


29439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spitting Venom >

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2014


51213 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

love you guys love dis album love dis band

SharkTooth
December 4th 2014


8462 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

let's spread the luv guys



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy