Bad Religion
How Could Hell Be Any Worse?


5.0
classic

Review

by Alex101 USER (4 Reviews)
April 18th, 2006 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1982 | Tracklist


We all know and love Bad Religion They are the guys who helped save punk rock after Sex Pistols' Sid Vicious died. Even some of the bands of current day 2006 are based upon ideas that Bad Religion started. Some members of the band were about 15 (or so) when they started back in 1980.

Bad Religion's first full-length album, How Could Hell Be Any Worse?, is a highly recommended album released in the band's early years before Suffer, released five years after the release of this album. Fans believe the follow-up to this album, Into the Unknown, was not a good and popular album, due to the band slipping into a different genre. Though, Bad Religion were back to their regular genre, which is punk, since releasing the 1984 EP Back to the Known.

How Could Hell Be Any Worse? was financed by a $1 000 loan by guitarist Brett Gurewitz's father. Its success surprised the band when it sold 10 000 copies in under a year. The sound of the record was vastly improved from their first release, 1981's self-titled EP. The record was originally released as an LP in 1982. The third song on this album, "Part III", features Greg Hetson (who was in Circle Jerks during this time) playing the guitar solo.

In 1991, How Could Hell Be Any Worse? was repackaged and finally released on CD as it appeared on the compilation album 80-85, which includes all the songs off this album and the two EPs Bad Religion and Back to the Known, plus three songs from a Various Artists compilation album Public Service, featuring Circle One, Disability, RF7 and Redd Kross.

If you are a fan of REAL PUNK ROCK, rockabilly, in general, I highly recommend this album as it is one of Bad Religion's best, and really has some good songs on it. When you listen to this album (or on 80-85), it helps you enjoy their long journey back to their humble beginnings.

(On this album) Bad Religion are:
Greg Graffin - Vocals
Brett Gurewitz - Guitars
Jay Bentley - Bass
Pete Finestone - Drums

Key tracks:
"We're Only Gonna Die"
"Latch Key Kids"
"Part III"
"*** Armageddon... This Is Hell"
"Voice of God Is Government"

How Could Hell Be Any Worse? = 5/5 = REALLY A GREAT ALBUM!


user ratings (300)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Neoteric
April 18th 2006


3243 Comments


Your recommendations is a bit silly but this was great for a second review :thumb:

Although I think you concentrated on the history of the band way too much. Try and cut that down.This Message Edited On 04.18.06

TurnTheOtherWay
April 18th 2006


459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I agree with Cathedral. This seems more like a Bad Religion history course than an album review.
I've been wanting to get my hands on this, but I can never find it.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2006


15740 Comments


This review told me absolutely nothing. Try to actually talk about the songs in the review, I haven't the slightest clue what this sounds like.

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

kno_kontrol
April 18th 2006


448 Comments


yeah, a review is supposed to be about the music, not just the history. You give nothing on the music.

mmfan486
April 18th 2006


17 Comments


If I were you I would look at some other reviews to see how they do it before trying to do any more of your own. It didn't do me any harm.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2006


16089 Comments


Are you saying only 4 reviews are worthwhile on this site? Why do you bother commenting?
Do look at all reviews; look at the criticisms by other people. It's the only way you'll really learn.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2006


15740 Comments


Vheissu, why do you bother speaking? I don't think my reviews are rubbish, and the fact you sit there on your high horse with a grand total of one pisses me off. Lay off, you haven't the slightest clue what you're talking about.

Zesty Mordant
April 18th 2006


1196 Comments


You have about half of a really great review. The background about the band and the album itself is well-done. However, it means nothing if you don't actually talk about what the album's contents are.

(don't look at the other reviews. There are about 4 of them that are worthwhile on this entire website, most of them by either Med57 or DFelon).

Does this include your review?
We got to get this sand out of your vagina.

NEDM
April 18th 2006


1113 Comments


[quote=Alex101] We all know and love Bad Religion They are the guys who helped save punk rock after Sex Pistols' Sid Vicious died.[/quote]
This is what gets you my neg vote. That is a terribly ignorant and fanboyish statement. Not to mention you told me absolutley nothing about the album. Turn the bold down a bit too!
[quote=vheissu] (don't look at the other reviews. There are about 4 of them that are worthwhile on this entire website, most of them by either Med57 or DFelon).[/quote]
Spoken like a true scumbag :thumb:


kno_kontrol
April 18th 2006


448 Comments


vheissu is a self righteous cuntbag. go die.

Weezerfan_returns
April 18th 2006


9 Comments


Saved punk rock after the sex pistols and sid vicious?


No.


The sex pistols/sid vicious were fuc'king garbage. Don't let their cute hairstyles and shitty music fool you. BR is 1000000x better than the sex pistols could ever be.

Kurtis Cobainis
April 19th 2006


58 Comments


'We got to get this sand out of your vagina'

HAHAHA, thats the funniest thing I've heard all day.

By the way how do you do that quote thingyThis Message Edited On 04.18.06

Red Cap Brain
April 19th 2006


174 Comments


I found your review very interesting but itīs true that you didnīt say much about the music, but youīve got my vote.

NEDM
April 19th 2006


1113 Comments


You are lame sauce. Musicoffical's reviews own your sloppy opinion on who saved punk rock. Leave the site if you're so much better than us. If you think the bold text will save you then you are sadly mistaken. By the way, you are a terrible assclown to critisize us like that. Yes, you said it yourself, the review was infact POOR. It had nothing to do with the album, it was just a fanboyish rant on how Bad Religion saved punk, haha, that is just so funny.
And You have obviously not listened to more music than us if you think this deserves a 5, not to mention the "saved punk" line either. Your opinion is blasphemy. And you sir, can rot in hell.

Zesty Mordant
April 19th 2006


1196 Comments


dude, there's a reason you ****ers aren't published in magazines. Don't take style advice from a bunch of amateurs. If you want to improve, disregard everything that's been said but this: read books, and read magazines with reviews by writers that were actually HIRED because they're GOOD.
I don't see this as a site for music reviews... I see it as a site for music discussion. Like a much more organized, topical forum.
1) I think my review was pretty poor. I wrote it while up late, and it's full of redundancy and leadups that go nowhere.
2) Most of you couldn't write your way out of your own asses.
3) I've read more books, studied more ****, and probably listened to more music than alot of you ever will have. Just because I don't throw my opinion in your faces by taking hours to write reviews, thus climbing my way up the site hierarchy, doesn't mean my opinion isn't worthwhile.
4) MusicOfficial, your reviews are rubbish. I'm not saying you won't get better, but right now, and I'm sorry to say it, they are pure uninteresting crap.
5) The sand in the vagina thing is about 4 years old. It wasn't funny then, it isn't funny now, and it won't be funny the next time you subtly insert it into one of your relentlessly witty posts.
6) who the hell banned me again? Honestly, what rule did I break? Jesus, this community is a perfect example of how power corrupts. Even transparent, useless online power. the last time i got banned, it was because I argued (in a more civil manner than those I argued against) that Coheed's latest album sucked royal ***. That's just flat out ridiculous. Whatever. I guess I'll see you around. (edit: in hell, you flaming queers)

hahaha, you're the worst in the league. get lost loser.


TurnTheOtherWay
April 19th 2006


459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I could break apart that post if I really wanted to, but it's just easier to call him a dipshit.This Message Edited On 04.19.06

The Jungler
April 21st 2006


4827 Comments


The sand in the vagina thing is about 4 years old. It wasn't funny then, it isn't funny now, and it won't be funny the next time you subtly insert it into one of your relentlessly witty posts.

...That sorta makes it sound like you have sand in your vagina thats four years old... which makes it a heck of alot funnier.
Just because I don't throw my opinion in your faces by taking hours to write reviews, thus climbing my way up the site hierarchy, doesn't mean my opinion isn't worthwhile.

A. I bet you wouldn't be saying that if you could write a decent review.
B. None of us write for that purpose. It's for the love of music and writing. Plus we all want to share our opinions (not shove them in you face)

EDIT: Nevermind, I read your review, it was pretty good, just lay off other peoples, okay?

More on topic, the review isn't too good, but theres nothing I can say that hasn't been said. Better luck next time.

This Message Edited On 04.21.06

tom79
June 21st 2006


3372 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

We all know and love Bad Religion They are the guys who helped save punk rock after Sex Pistols' Sid Vicious died.

:lol:

Digging: Business Models - Room

Aeaon
August 21st 2006


188 Comments


We all know that's bullsh*t.

PunkYou
November 22nd 2007


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'd like to see an example of any band saving any genre. It simply doesn't happen, but Bad Religion in the early 80's outdid all other acts in terms of rejuvenating the genre.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy