SOHN
Tremors


3.8
excellent

Review

by Jacob Royal STAFF
April 25th, 2014 | 25 replies


Release Date: 04/07/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: And when the votes are made, I might make a mark

I'm going to try and do SOHN a favor here. For all the hype the electronic producer’s been getting over the last couple months, a fair bit of it has been prefaced by comparisons to other artists in the beats-driven R&B scene where the musician’s been wedged. And sure, some of that is fair- we need a basis upon which we can understand which fields artists are playing within, yada yada- but at the same time, I feel an obligation to give credit where it’s due. For Vienna-born Christopher Taylor here and his accompanying debut album, I gotta say this guy is paving his own path rather well. Tremors finds time to be adventurous with its feet firmly planted on the ground; it moves maturely.

There are many factors into what makes Tremors a worthwhile album to invest time in. If there’s one thing about it that’s unendingly consistent about it, though, it’s that Taylor always knows how to make an intriguing beat- and in terms of scope, he runs the gamut. Songs like “Lights” deploy an outfit of airy and glassy drums that properly keep pace; in other realms, mechanistic growls practically define the more spastic “Veto.” And not just are these songs structurally interesting; they’ll want to make you feel something, designed with emotion in mind. So if you feel nothing after playing “The Wheel” below, then I can’t help you any further. But even though SOHN stirs the pot stylistically as much as he does here, the end result is a sumptuous, satisfying piece that goes down easily from the first bite. And for better or worse, that first taste defines this album- for what you hear on your first spin of Tremors, much of it will evade your memory the instant it settles. This record is potent at once- “The Wheel” will make sure of that, let me tell you- but after a bit more time with the tune, the magic wears off a bit. While I didn’t think it at the time, I’ve come to realize “The Wheel,” as alluring as it is, is rather an accurate precursor of the rest of Tremors. The song contains some marvelous ideas (like the one in the song’s intro!,) but they hardly have a chance to be valued when repeated ad nauseum. Don’t give us too much of the good things, Taylor- tease us more, you sly dog.

Seductive properties of this album aside, I’ve already discussed the music itself and how its varying scope contributes to all kinds of moods. But another important factor to consider here is Taylor’s voice itself. It specializes in a no-frills sort of falsetto, giving exactly what the song calls for and nothing more. His voice is commanding, but it’s also complementary to the music when need be (see “Paralysed” and the muted brilliance of his performance therein.) At some points, it’s undeniable Tremors could use a more jagged voice at its helm, but at the same time Taylor’s vocal contributions make this one internally consistent record. Refinement and polish are at the top of the agenda here; as a result, however, SOHN doesn’t make as much of a mark as he could. He sure is starting to find his footing with his music, though- this album is a testament to the fact that the best way to improve at something is to keep doing it. Because Tremors was created, Taylor is going to learn lessons from it, and he’ll grow more adept at his music with each passing day. But that sure doesn’t change the fact that in the moment this record hits you, it’s the sweetest thing- and not much else will matter.




Recent reviews by this author
Stolas AllomaternalThe Contortionist Language
Maybeshewill Fair YouthFallujah The Flesh Prevails
Every Time I Die From Parts UnknownBaths Ocean Death
user ratings (56)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (3)
Neutered promise....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2014


17225 Comments


Every time I see this band name I always think it's SOHNS and it never is and that pisses me off. /rant.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2014


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Funny thing is that I have a half-review of Sohns sitting on my Google Drive as well

Our dear Jonny Hunter has also written a great review of this, which can be read below:

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/61996/SOHN-Tremors/

PunchforPunch
April 24th 2014


6280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yea this shit is ill

Nikkolae
April 24th 2014


4866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dat thomas rant doe, agree much more with this review

Digging: Giant - Song

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2014


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Glad to hear it, but what are you referrin to by the 'thomas rant' ?

Jom
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2014


2689 Comments


redsky's first post in the thread, probably

Very good review. The music isn't really my thing but the vocals were cool, so that made for a pretty
interesting listen.

TWIGtheWONDERKID
April 25th 2014


904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“but after a bit more time . . . the magic wears off a bit.”

Nooooo, don’t tell me that—so digging this album right now.


Digging: David Bowie - Nothing Has Changed

osmark86
April 25th 2014


4513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

then you will most likely continue to do so regardless of the reviewer's opinion.

Digging: Emptiness - Nothing but the Whole

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2014


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

#feelinstupid

No I mean that was my personal experience, but others could very well get a lot more out of this! To me it just feels most easily consumed in a few sittings, though I am still enjoying it a bit.

And thanks for the compliments =]

OwMySnauze
April 25th 2014


1088 Comments


Another great peice of work Omaha.

TWIGtheWONDERKID
April 25th 2014


904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Omaha: Just trying to be funny (not my forte) . . . I experience that a lot with beats driven R&B albums. I love them at first, and then later—not so much. I’m hoping this is the exception.

NinoKuni
April 25th 2014


198 Comments


God damn, that song you posted via Soundcloud is the bees knees. I see a lot of low scores for this
but if this song is anything to go off of, I'd say I'm pretty excited to hear it

Nikkolae
April 25th 2014


4866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@jom: das ist richtig

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 28th 2014


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks for the comments guys, especially Snauze! This is a really cool album, and I would hate its immediately super-sweet nature to dissuade anyone from checking it out. There are some killer tracks on this for sure.

Emyay
April 30th 2014


5974 Comments


If there’s one thing about it that’s unendingly consistent about it,

i'd probably say "if there's one thing that's unendingly consistent about it"

gonna give this a listen for sure

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2014


10359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Nah man I should probably add another 'about it' phrase to that sentence, for emphasis and all that

Really tho, thanks man =] it's good stuff

Emyay
May 1st 2014


5974 Comments


listening now. i like this so far. need to put this on later when i'm not at work

cookiedivine
May 2nd 2014


33 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

'a fair bit of it has been prefaced by comparisons to other artists in the beats-driven R&B scene where the musician’s been wedged'

I definitely feel like these comparisons are justified - Sohn is hardly breaking boundaries in a field where experimentation is key, and I'd much rather listen to something by James Blake whose entire back-catalogue is comprised of tracks that move me far more more than 'The Wheel' ever could (more than anything, Sohn's voice is far more bland than Blake's).

That said, I still mildly enjoyed the album. 'Bloodflows', 'Lessons' and the aforementioned 'The Wheel' are great songs (esp Lessons), but even with the standouts I can't help but compare to 'long, evolving build-up' Blake songs like 'Wilhelm Scream' and 'I Never Learnt To Share', when the similarities are so obvious.

I still prefer Sohn to The Weeknd though.

PuddlesPuddles
May 6th 2014


4787 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I still prefer Sohn to The Weeknd though.


Whaaaaaa', now ain't that 'bout a thang

Funeralopolis
May 6th 2014


11768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the weeknd >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Digging: Waxahatchee - Cerulean Salt



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy