SOHN
Tremors


3.0
good

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (103 Reviews)
April 24th, 2014 | 27 replies


Release Date: 04/07/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Neutered promise.

To address the lukewarm corpse of Tremors' hype, retrospect helps us see why certain music "journalists" who were definitely not me were mistaken in predicting BANKS-producer SOHN as the biggest thing to look out for in 2014. Most of the signs were there: forward facing, RnB-inspired pop, slippery smooth production and enough Soundcloud followers to populate Trinidad and Tobago (seriously, over a million), but so far SOHN has made do with a trickle of the success he would have been justified in expecting. Somehow it just failed to kick off. Poor SOHN.

Perhaps it's all down to the name, which stunted any word-of-mouth advertisement because shouting one word of a sentence is frowned upon. It's certainly not the music outright. SOHN builds on the short legacy of James Blake et al. to offer his own quirk on self-produced indie/ RnB/ electronic pop: marrying his above-passable falsetto with more experimental yet still comfortably sensitive beats. Overall Tremors is a very pleasant and hard to fault experience, with the vocal melody of “The Wheel” and blaring horns in the title track taking on the Goldilocks trait of not being too popy or too experimental. Instead settling in to a happy medium.

Sadly for him, music is listened to by more people than Goldilocks and neither daddy, mummy or baby bear are entirely satisfied. Despite the obvious attempts to reach out for his own style, SOHN's clean and slightly over-clinical production has the effect of sapping away a lot of what he hoped to gain with experimentation. It leaves a whole roster of great pop tunes to a sterile and robotic afterlife. For instance, listening to "Lights" is like facing the sun and not feeling any heat, and acknowledging a good song but not reacting is quite disconcerting. At the same time, SOHN takes his music too seriously to pander to the more experiment-averse crowd, which leaves him stuck in the middle: awkwardly shuffling his feet in the shy, Woody Harrelson-lookalike manner of his promo photo.

It isn't all doom and gloom. This over-engineered collection might only survive multiple listens with all the charm of your doctor's waiting room, but it still manages to be interesting, recommendable and, above all else, very listenable. SOHN is simply unfortunate in entering a genre already dominated by a few accomplished and unique artists, and finds his meticulous approach lacking the excitement brought by those before him.



Recent reviews by this author
Throwing Snow MosaicA Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VII
Plinth (UK) Music For Smalls LighthouseThe Correspondents Puppet Loosely Strung
Son Lux Alternate WorldsNicholas Szczepanik Not Knowing
user ratings (48)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Jacob R. STAFF (3.8)
And when the votes are made, I might make a mark...


Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2014


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Fiesty, enit

The Wheel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AslPYSm7jfg

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2014


21966 Comments


recommended artists/similar artists/album artwork intrigue me

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2014


10207 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Fuck I was close to reviewing this

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

osmark86
April 24th 2014


4119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought this was a pretty solid album meself. don't really care about the hype or whatnot surrounding it (in fact I completely missed it). I agree that the production is a tad too glossy and it probably would've sounded better a little rawer. I believe he can produce something even better next time though, so I'll be looking out for whenever that drops.

Digging: Schammasch - Contradiction

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2014


21966 Comments


that song you linked does not intrigue me, however



StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2014


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

mmm yeah, he's definitely got a much better album inside him.

You can still review it Jacob, or do you not want to show me up? :P

osmark86
April 24th 2014


4119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

try Ransom Notes. I really liked that one personally.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2014


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

that was short-lived, then

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2014


10207 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

If I do write on this, it'll have to be kind of a more adventurous review for me since you covered more of the technical details (which are kinda hard for me to write about sometimes)

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 24th 2014


10207 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I'll make sure this gets featured tho, you did a good job with it :3

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2014


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

woop woop

Funeralopolis
April 24th 2014


11378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is pretty enjoyable but nothing much else

Digging: Black Milk - No Poison No Paradise

zxlkho
April 24th 2014


3464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually enjoyed this album a lot. I was surprised.

Nikkolae
April 24th 2014


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i mean, you make it sound like this is really dissapointing but having heard none of the hype i gotta say this is pretty great dunno what u on bout m8

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

zakalwe
April 24th 2014


8141 Comments


He should have called the album graboids.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2014


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

sorry bruv

Fuff24
April 25th 2014


1118 Comments


"awkwardly shuffling his feet in the shy, Woody Harrison-lookalike manner of his promo photo."

Shouldn't this be "Woody Harrelson"?

kingsoby1
Emeritus
April 25th 2014


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

if you like this, check out the new lo-fang record it is way more interesting

NinoKuni
April 25th 2014


198 Comments


I haven't heard this entire thing yet (though I am convinced it's at least good based on "The Wheel" and the reviews I've read), but kingsoby1 is right about that Lo-Fang debut, it is very good.

This is probably the best review of Tremors I've read so far

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2014


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Hah, thanks (: (It's the only review, isn't it?)

Shouldn't this be "Woody Harrelson"?


Well... fuck. Thanks for letting me know.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy