Mogwai
Rave Tapes


2.0
poor

Review

by Eric USER (161 Reviews)
January 17th, 2014 | 137 replies | 7,515 views


Release Date: 01/20/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mogwhy?

7 of 11 thought this review was well written

I still remember the first time I heard “Stop Coming To My House.” Ever seen that Pale Blue Dot video, based on Carl Sagan’s monologue about the awesome inconsequence of earth? Mogwai’s closer to Happy Songs For Happy People was the perfect match. I recall my surprise after it so happened that Mogwai -a.k.a. that band I had associated completely with everything inoffensive and generic- were the culprits behind the track. Credit where credit’s due, though. And it wasn’t Mogwai’s last surprise. Hardcore Will Never Die, flawed as it may be, was evidence that the band’s engine was still running. There was a bombastic We can still invert our entire fucking aesthetic if we want to vibe on their previous record. It was heartening, it was exciting, it was Mogwai still managing to surprise me.

Best case scenario: Rave Tapes is a hiccup. The synth on Hardcore Will Never Die was a new bet that the band sunk their chips into. Rave Tapes relies even more heavily on this. The entirety of the record is spent dwelling on these synths and the lackluster percussion; seemingly Mogwai is trying to mesmerize listeners, to draw them in and ensnare them with the monotone production, the tepid tempo. The act tires about halfway through Rave Tapes. “Hexon Bogon” is my increasing boredom. “Repelish” is the awkwardly-introduced Led Zeppelin interview. “Mastercard” is my annoyance that apparently Mogwai doesn’t have the self-respect to add a semblance of diversity or change of pace to Rave Tapes. The band has put out filler-albums before (see: The Hawk Is Howling) and this is just as inoffensive and generic. Mogwai sound very much like the band I pre-judged them for being before I had heard them.

It’s easy for me to imagine that Mogwai can redeem themselves in the future. Long ago, they mastered the quiet-loud-quiet dynamic and emboldened it with a fresh vigor, like they had created it in the first place. Mogwai is a band that wasn’t afraid to shift from strings to synths because of their songwriting prowess. The band has tapped surprising wells of creativity before, not even a lackluster record like Rave Tapes makes me believe they’re somehow incapable of this in the future. Let’s all hope that the Mogwai album that makes us forget their inconsequential latest record comes sooner rather than later - not that I need much help forgetting about Rave Tapes.



Recent reviews by this author
Tau Tau EyelidsGhost Ship Golden Girls
Crosses EPWarren Franklin Your Heart Belongs To The Midwest
Frightened Rabbit A Frightened Rabbit EPSLOTHS Transit
user ratings (155)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Scott Murphy (4.5)
Elder statesmen of post-rock portray another example of their lasting radiance....


Comments:Add a Comment 
SeaAnemone
January 17th 2014



19732 Comments


album is stream-able here: http://www.theguardian.com/music/musicblog/2014/jan/14/mogwai-rave-tapes-album-stream but Mogwhy would you want to listen to it?

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 17th 2014



11956 Comments


lol

Digging: Various Artists - In Utero, In Tribute

SeaAnemone
January 17th 2014



19732 Comments


halfway done with my Sixpence None The Richer review!!

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 17th 2014



11956 Comments


omg i hope youre serious

SeaAnemone
January 17th 2014



19732 Comments


lol i'm not, stupid

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 17th 2014



11956 Comments


you were joking

i am crjushed goodbye

minty901
January 17th 2014



1963 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah this isnt that good. shame cause i saw them live just before the album came out and they were amazing. the new songs were better and more rocked-up live.

minty901
January 17th 2014



1963 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

and i think hawk is howling is one of their best albums.

Sniff
January 17th 2014



1094 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Im afraid this is accurate. I dont know if I want to listen to this or not

JS19
January 17th 2014



4164 Comments


I knew this would be crappy. Band is good and all but probably one of the most overrated bands of the 90s/2000s

Digging: Sadistik - Ultraviolet

Pheromone
January 17th 2014



3412 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The main problem with this album is the fact it is so monumentally boring

Digging: The Flaming Lips - Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2014



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, I think 2's a bit harsh though. It's certainly not one of their best albums, but it's solid nonetheless. I don't really understand the negativity towards Repelish either.

SeaAnemone
January 17th 2014



19732 Comments


I thought about giving it a 2.5 instead of 2 but then I realized that a 2 is much more fitting for a review in which I basically have nothing positive to say about the album. It' more inoffensive and boring than it is bad, but oh well.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2014



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it's very much within their comfort zone. Remurdered, Blues Hour and The Lord is Out of Control really lift it for me.

SputnikSweetheart
January 17th 2014



181 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review is kind of short and you don't really talk about the record itself (the music in it) really all that much, but good review. I honestly felt the same while I was listening to this. I think the cause of their "being uninspired" might be the fast pace on which they release record after record.

Pheromone
January 17th 2014



3412 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The Lord is Out of Control is still a fantastic song

ibringyoufire
January 17th 2014



351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Good review, pretty disappointed with this album

Digging: Alex G - DSU

Cygnatti
January 17th 2014



21349 Comments


hehe dat summary

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

Rev
January 17th 2014



9382 Comments


Bummed to hear this sucks

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 17th 2014



5193 Comments


damn, good review

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy