Mendeed
This War Will Last Forever


4.5
superb

Review

by Luke M. Jenkins (Confessed) USER (58 Reviews)
April 5th, 2006 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


Mendeed first came to my attention when I learned about what bands would be supporting Trivium on their UK tour. Curious to say the least, I googled the band and soon found myself on their homepage sampling some tracks from this album. Needless to say, I was quite impressed; they are a little different to Trivium but have some elements that both bands incorporate into their music. Mendeed are a blend of frenetic riffing, thunderous double bass drumming and screamed vocals. The guitarists are definitely competent and intelligent and melodic solos and riffs are thrown around all over the place. Unfortunately, the bass is drowned out and practically non-existent which is a common problem with lots of modern bands. As the songs on this album follow a common theme, this review won't be a track-by-track but more of a general overview of the album. I hope that this will be worth reading as I am not as competent with generalising albums as I am with track-by-tracks.

The album is full of good points and of course, bad points. It is definitely a showcase for the qualities that Mendeed possess. David Proctor has a very metalcore-type voice and his scream is quite powerful and if I am not mistaken the clean vocals are handled by the bass player, Chris Lavery. That is probably a good thing to, because I can hear hardly any of his bass at all. The clean singing is probably going to be a hit-and-miss thing with a lot of people. Personally, it isn't anything hugely special but it adds variety to the vocals and it isn't horrendous.

Onto the drumming. This is definitely a highlight on some songs. Kevin Matthews has a slight addiction to his double bass, particularly the rolls and constant bombards of speed that punish your ears. This is definitely not a bad thing however, as he is an extremely competent drummer. He throws in some cool fills every now and again to break things up. Unlike in other bands, most notably Trivium, where the presence of the drummer is a huge one, the drums are not very high in the mix. Nevertheless, the drumming is impressive and certainly gives Mendeed a great backbone.

Both guitarists in Mendeed are very capable and produce some solid riffs and lightining solos. In fact, I think all the lead guitar is handled by Steven Nixon. He certainly does a good job, throwing in speedy, intelligent phrashing and slower, more melodic passages. The solos remind me a little bit of Avenged Sevenfold, particularly the 'Waking The Fallen' era. Whilst Nixon is not a patch on Synster Gates in my opinion, he is a damn good guitarist. The rhythm section is filled in via the capable hands of Steph Gildea. Everything he plays is solid and helps keep things together. Some harmonies are also thrown in for good measure. The result is that they sound great and are perfectly suited to the brand of metal Mendeed play.

The majority of the album definitely follows the same sort of formula. Within most of the twelve tracks on offer, verses will tend to be screamed and choruses sung. Some choruses do sound truly epic, such as that of 'Remains Of The Day'. Metalcore riffs are blended with more frenetic, melodic riffing which is common thing nowadays in the modern metal scene. Fortunately, Mendeed put their own spin on things. 'The Reaper Waits' boasts some of my favourite riffs from the album. Proctor's lyrics are nothing hugely special and lyrical themes tend to revolve around the end of the world, or so it seems. Yet all in all, Mendeed prove that they have what it takes to become one of the leading acts in British metal. They are definitely better than Bullet For My Valentine in my opinion.

Well, I know this review probably is not as detailed as my track-by-tracks but I hope it was worth the read.

Recommended Tracks

Beneath A Burning Sky
Remains Of The Day
Poisoned Hearts
The Reaper Waits

Tracks from this album can be heard on the bands official website, www.mendeed.co.uk. Check these guys out if you are a fan of modern metal with an old-school touch - you won't be disappointed.



Recent reviews by this author
War from a Harlots Mouth MMXPig Destroyer Terrifyer
War from a Harlots Mouth TransmetropolitanDevil Sold His Soul A Fragile Hope
Coheed and Cambria No World for TomorrowPig Destroyer Painter of Dead Girls
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lartsa
April 5th 2006


23 Comments


I have some stuff from them that isn't on this album, It was alright; Considering it's from this year, they've most likely gotten better. They were compared to Avenged and maybe that's what threw me off.

I'll check this out.

Confessed2005
April 5th 2006


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is quite a bit different than older offerings IMO. Definitely better though.

MRDuCran
April 6th 2006


7 Comments


I'd say Steve Nixon is a better guitarist than Synyster Gates, I've met him (he's a friend of my friend) and talked with him in a local pub about playing Serrana at 120bpm, listen to Glory By Thy Name by Mendeed, it has 4 string sweeps in the intro, very impressive.
I've yet to hear anything from this album, but I will soon, I'm glad these guys are doing well.This Message Edited On 04.05.06

pattern_recognition
April 6th 2006


950 Comments


Meh, these guys strike me as kind of average. I feel like I've heard it all before.

Confessed2005
April 8th 2006


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In fact, Glory Be Thy Name is an amazing song...agreed, flashy and cool intro. But I am sure that Synster could probably pull that stuff off...there are some sick sweeps on the solos to 'Second Heartbeat', 'I won't see You Tonight Pt.2' and 'And All Things Will End', plus most of 'City Of Evil'.

spoon_of_grimbo
April 8th 2006


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"the reaper waits" is a good song, so ill have to check out more by these guys.

Confessed2005
April 8th 2006


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anyone going to actually say whether the review was any good... on another note, Mendeed's previous material is almost as good as this release. Those who want proof should download anything off the 'From Shadows Came Darkness' EP.

spoon_of_grimbo
April 8th 2006


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the review is pretty solid i'd say.

and having heard all the songs on their myspace, ive been fully converted and will be getting the album as soon as i get paid!!!


Whiskey On The Rocks
April 8th 2006


36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Seen them live twice, one of my favourite bands.
This album is really good, I find it annoying that bands like BFMV are being hailed as the saviours of british metal when bands like this are busy playing tiny shows. Bullet were rubbish live compared to this, they messed up solos whereas Nixon pulled them off even with people grabbing his guitar / feet / hair.
'Stand For One And Fight For Glory' 'The Reaper Waits' and 'Beneath A Burning Sky' have to be my favourites.
Having met Nixon as well...I think he's better than Synester.

Confessed2005
April 9th 2006


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'Whiskey On The Rocks' - you are so right. I really cannot understand why BFMV should have so much success when bands like Mendeed are capable of so much more in every single way.

spoon_of_grimbo
April 9th 2006


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i like bullet, but i'd have to agree that mendeed totally eclipse them in terms of skill and general creativity, and just sounding immense.

although ill have to take your word for it on the live front, as i've seen bullet live and they pulled off every song pretty flawlessly, both times.

Tarantino's Tarantulas
April 14th 2006


819 Comments


What Ive heard of Mendeed is pretty fvcking decent - thanx Confessed2005 for recommending them!

Confessed2005
April 14th 2006


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No problem Tarantino's...I was really surprised to see copies of this album at my local HMV. It took me a while to actually find this anywhere other than the internet so it is good to see the band is making headway.

spoon_of_grimbo
April 17th 2006


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

picked up the album and.... WOW, its fucking immense throughout. contrary to what most people seem to think, i really like the clean vocals, because they're not overproduced, and they compliment the music really well.

metallicaman8
April 17th 2006


4677 Comments


i've never actually hear any songs by the band but they sound pretty good, i'll be sure to give 'em a listen

Good review also

Confessed2005
April 22nd 2006


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I absolutely cannot stop listening to and loving this band or album. Hence I have upped my user album rating.

engulfed in flames
May 15th 2006


11 Comments


Good review.

I stumbled across these guys on myspace and I listened to The Reaper Waits and was instantly hooked.

I think the Screaming is better than Trivum, but not the clean singing. I have to say, though. I wasnt as impressed with the drumming. Thought it could have been alot better, but I have yet to listen to the whole album so I may eat my words there.

Thought the guitar was great, riffs and solos alike. Great atmosphere to the music, and I personally love that.

BTW I don't like as much as Bullet for My Valentine, sorry.

engulfed in flames
May 15th 2006


11 Comments


Good review.

I stumbled across these guys on myspace and I listened to The Reaper Waits and was instantly hooked.

I think the Screaming is better than Trivum, but not the clean singing. I have to say, though. I wasnt as impressed with the drumming. Thought it could have been alot better, but I have yet to listen to the whole album so I may eat my words there.

Thought the guitar was great, riffs and solos alike. Great atmosphere to the music, and I personally love that.

BTW I don't like as much as Bullet for My Valentine, sorry.

h8pop
May 15th 2006


30 Comments


mr pattern_recognition is so right.

Confessed2005
May 15th 2006


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Personally, I agree more with Mr spoon_of_grimbo...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy