The Offspring
Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace


4.0
excellent

Review

by teslabarrier USER (6 Reviews)
August 19th, 2013 | 54 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: give it a chance.

The Offspring are one of my favorite bands of all ***ing time. Since Smash, I've been an avid follower. Conspiracy of One was a pile of ***, but Splinter rebounded a lot. Joke songs really brought it down, but with RaF, RaG, The Offspring are dead serious now.

If you only listen to the singles you might the wrong impression. As they are far from the highlights, "You're Gonna Go Far Kid" actually is one of the weaker tracks. It's repetitive and mainstream sound ing, but is still decent. "Hammerhead" is great though, angry lyrics about a school shooter make the track a standout. "Kristy Are You Doing Okay?" though is a pussy song, a ballad from the punks who once sang about gang violence and decapitation. It's about rape (a good thing), but its delivery is off, and Dexter's vocals are damn nasally.

The punk is back though. "Trust in You" shows promise through a fast-paced romp where Dexter puts his energy into the vocals, a good thing. "A Lot Like Me" is everything Kristy wasn't, with decent lyrics but subpar vocals. More pop rock sound, but not bad, considering punk doesn't sell. Could be bad becuase it proves that these ***s are old sellouts. Even "Takes Me Nowhere", which rips off a riff from a Splinter song I don't just know.

"Nothingtown" is also great, but more pop-rock style a la "Lot Like Me", but is also pretty sellout ish. Album highlight is definately "Stuff is Messed Up". Actual title: "*** IS ***ED UP" (also, *** you sputnik for censors). The lyrics are great, especially the titular phrase "*** is ***ed up". Sarcasm in the verses (the cell phone line LOL) and a bridge where Dexter raps about boob jobs (big XXX tits for me please).

"Fix You" sounds like Freshmen's Verve Pipe. It's decent, but very pussy. Punkers don't sing about this ballad crap! Sell outs! "Rock Bottom" is actually not bad, but "Rise and Fall" steals one of my favorite songs ever, "Green Day's American Idiot". Too bad they ***ed it all up.

Rise and Fall is not a bad album. Sure there are some pop rock sounds, but it's a stylistic change. Some songs could be deemed sell outs, but for me It's a great punk and pop rock listen, and a nice addition into Offspring discosgraphy.



Recent reviews by this author
Anberlin VitalNine Inch Nails Hesitation Marks
fun. Some NightsGreen Day ¬°UNO!
Imagine Dragons Night Visions
user ratings (847)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
teslabarrier
August 18th 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hope the humor is better. tried to be a better than my last review.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2013


50458 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"If you only listen to the singles you might the wrong impression"

missing a word

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2013


50458 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is not a review, there is no point

Mad.
August 18th 2013


3872 Comments


This review has no redeeming qualities.

Green Baron
August 18th 2013


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

your "jokes" ain't funny.

stop reviewing. you're clearly crap at it.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2013


50458 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I fail to see any jokes, profanity itself is not a joke

Mad.
August 18th 2013


3872 Comments


I'd put a lot of money on this kid being under 14

Green Baron
August 18th 2013


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well he tries to be funny but utterly failed

DegausserGuernica24
August 18th 2013


1134 Comments


'pop rock'

fuck you

Green Baron
August 18th 2013


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this guy's even worse than camgrovesfan

Green Baron
August 18th 2013


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

also lol @ pop rock

there's something called pop-PUNK, have you ever heard of it.

teslabarrier
August 18th 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you guys are all dicks. i just review for fun, and you hate on me all the time. fuck you cocksuckers.

DegausserGuernica24
August 18th 2013


1134 Comments


0 reviews a day, please.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2013


50458 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"you guys are all dicks. i just review for fun, and you hate on me all the time. fuck you cocksuckers."

If you didn't want criticism you should have posted this in your diary instead of on a public internet forum.

staticNUMEROcuatro
August 18th 2013


53 Comments


literal worst review I've ever read

InbredJed
August 19th 2013


5917 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

How do you hear a review on Sput?

I knew this had to be a joke when I saw the album rating, but I clicked on it anyways, just to see if I could be proven wrong....

Not today it seems

Digging: JJ Cale - Okie

MeatSalad
August 19th 2013


14590 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

lmfao

ChopSuey
August 19th 2013


2392 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

""Fix You" sounds like Freshmen's Verve Pipe. It's decent, but very pussy"

lol very pussy

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2013


31223 Comments


s*** review, f***

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2013


28586 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

c*** review. n*ce j*b.

I l*k* th* w*ay u writ* & u s**m coo*l

Digging: Chris Brown - X



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy