Frank Sinatra
Come Fly With Me



by CaptainHadouken USER (22 Reviews)
April 21st, 2013 | 12 replies

Release Date: 1958 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thank you Mr. Sinatra

How do you describe Frank Sinatra? Undoubtedly one of the greatest voices in music of all time, or maybe a forgotten legend to many today. Sinatra is nostalgia. His music reminds every listener of a more simple time for music. 60 years earlier, listeners did not have a music industry with the amount of different genres and flooded with a large amount of both amazing and terrible artists as we do today. Keeping up with everything today is difficult enough as it is. Yet at the end of the day there are classics that take listeners back to that simple time. Mr. Sinatra, this reviewer at least, thanks you for that.

Come Fly with Me was recorded in 1957, released in 1958, and composed by Billy May. Its concept was to be a musical journey around the World. Judging by the songs titles, and tone of music within the album, the concept works pretty well. Whether you prefer somber and relaxing songs like Autumn in New York and Moonlight in Vermont, or more upbeat jazzy songs such as Come Fly with Me and It's Nice to go Trav'ling, it is all brilliant and relaxing to listen to. Granted this is just a general review over the 1957 release, not the later CD re-issued version. Pieces such as Blue Hawaii, and Brazil are also brilliant. They have a sound and tone very relative to their titles, or themed locations for the songs.

Sinatra's voice is one of a generation, and to this day it still inspires and intrigues listeners. There would not be a stand-out moment here. In retrospect, this whole body of work, as an album is a standout performance. Even with Mr. Sinatra's amazing voice, it can be understood where some people can get bored with this genre of music. Objectively, trying to figure out why to this reviewer is difficult, yet it can be understood, hence why this record is a classic, but possibly shy a perfect classic. In overview however, something as simple and beautiful as this will still out-do a large number of albums out today. To have this kind of lasting legacy, no matter how big or small, is an accomplishment that many artists will not have 60 years down the road.

Mr. Sinatra, you gave the masses beautiful music for many many years. This record is only one testament as to why there are still a good few people who appreciate what your voice has done for music overall. It might be overlooked , but never forgotten. Come Fly with Me Is an outstanding piece of work. To this day is shines bright, there is also a feeling that it will continue to do so for an even longer time.

Recommended Songs (if you can find the originals)

Come Fly with Me
Autumn in New York
Its Nice to go Trav'ling

Recent reviews by this author
Mercyful Fate In the ShadowsCZARFACE CZARFACE
Siouxsie and the Banshees TinderboxSiouxsie and the Banshees Juju
Morbid Angel Illud Divinum Insanus - The RemixesStarcastle Starcastle
user ratings (64)
other reviews of this album
Dalton DuBois (5)
A snapshot of picturesque romance, and diamond sunsets...

Comments:Add a Comment 
April 21st 2013


Album Rating: 4.0

excellent record

April 21st 2013


Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, surprised no one else had reviewed it.

Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2013


insta pos this is classic stuff. u a fan of bing crosby?

Digging: Trophy Eyes - Chemical Miracle

April 21st 2013


Album Rating: 4.5

I have heard a few songs that i like, I have just started to branch out from Sinatra honestly. Got a whole folder of Frank's stuff and kinda branching out and going from there.

Storm In A Teacup
April 21st 2013


Fuck yeah Sinatra's awesome pos

April 21st 2013


Back when flying somewhere was cool..

April 21st 2013


Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, it was good choice for a sunday jam.

April 21st 2013


Great review. I wish pop/jazz was as good today as it was then.

July 21st 2014


Album Rating: 4.0

'twas goodbye on the Isle of Capri

May 19th 2016


I think Frank Sinatra is far from being a legend forgotten by some. Almost everyone has heard of him at least. In addition to that, we should not forget that his heyday was in the 40s, 50s and 60s, and no singer of that time even come close to being as iconic and remembered as Frank Sinatra. Since the height of Michael Jackson's career was relatively more recent, without disparaging Michael. Frank Sinatra is still the third most famous American singer in the world after Michael Jackson and Elvis Presley. In a 1000 years the Sinatra music will still be valued and it will be remembered that neither Beethoven and Mozart. Moreover, even the rock is today the most popular genre in the world, many people do not like. With Sinatra, would not be different, of course there are people who do not like the Sinatra music in the same way that there are many people who dislike decade genre. That's just a matter of taste. I know some of my age, I'm 17 years old, they hear songs like Sinatra in old musical movies or time movies and like, and express curiosity about having music swingers and also very smooth music of that era, such as In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning or Only The Lonely, when I offer these songs to them. The Sinatra music has many classical elements, which is not very popular and a lot of people feel sleepy, which does not mean it is not wonderful. The Sinatra music is also much more accessible the masses than classical music. What happened was a gentrification phenomenon not only of Frank Sinatra songs, but the Great American Songbook, seen today as something to just because it would be too sophisticated. This is talk that the cultural industry stuck in people's heads, saying that which is not pop or is fashionable is inaccessible or "fun." Then people when they hear only one type of the cultural industry tax music tend not receive very well the music that runs it. Good music is always accessible to open-minded, those who are not fans just fads and have critical sense. I covered that my text only the theme of popularity, influence and Sinatra music because that compliments that have not already done I could do the voice of Sinatra. Lack of respect for persons with which is not the style and taste them. Who does not sometimes rock like considers gender crap without thinking one bit! What do you think of everything I said about Sinatra here? Do you agree?

May 21st 2016


I also believe that many young people today who are interested, respect and love only what is fashionable and is pop. They may find waltz and classical music, even Beethoven and Mozart, as sleepy and dated things. And Frank Sinatra is still much more affordable than Beethoven and Mozart. Frank Sinatra music can be fun, lively and contagious or sad, relaxed and smooth. The Code of Frank Sinatra is complete and timeless, like the Great American Songbook, that there are young people who still see singers like Ella Fitzgerald, Nat King Cole, Bing Crosby, Miles Davis, Tony Bennett, Billie Holiday, among other singers, as dated ! But maturity often fixes it and when are several adults spend like these songs or at least respect much.

May 21st 2016


s-sure thing bud!

You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile


Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Site Copyright 2005-2016
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy