Omar S
Thank You For Letting Me Be Myself


3.5
great

Review

by Olivier De Clercq CONTRIBUTOR (37 Reviews)
April 4th, 2013 | 77 replies | 4,830 views


Release Date: 03/25/2013 | Tracklist


Part of the appeal of Omar-S' music has always been the slight arrogant undertone present in his tracks - for proof, just look at the title of his last album. It Can Be Done, But Only I Can Do It, has been the man's motto for as long as he's been in the game, not taking notes from anything or anyone else. And although his new release, Thank You For Letting Me Be Myself, suggests the Detroit DJ has become a bit older, wiser and humbler, it's still hard to take the statement non-ironically. Yet for all the narcissistic mannerisms he continues to display in his music, the tracks themselves keep on being masterfully programmed tunes, carrying with them the spirit of his hometown.

Listening to Thank You... is akin to be taken away on a journey throughout Detroit's legendary history of dance music. And like with his previous output, Omar takes his time to let that journey unfold. As always, his rudimentary but melodic house and techno music is built from only the most necessary parts: a no-nonsense four-to-the-floor drum track and one, continuously looping synth line. It makes his work come off as deceitfully simple and primitive, yet criminally effective as well. And strange enough, despite the frequent crossing of the six-minute barrier, his tracks never really start to sound all that enervating. As far as I'm concerned, that has to do with his full analogue approach; flashy modern software is strictly forbidden in Omar-S' studio. The result is a slightly chilly, but very groovy and atmospheric record which uses time and repetition to get its message across.

Not every track is a smashing success, though. Especially in the second half of the album, filler like the endlessly trailing 'Tardigrade' or the puberally titled and clichéd acid track 'Ready My Black Asz' detracts from the overall quality of Thank You... The songs also need each other's company to have any lasting impact. Taken separately, they don't have nearly as much staying power as when they are lumped together, supporting each other and weighing down on the same fundaments. Therefore, Thank You... is an album that as a whole is clearly more than the sum of its parts.

Still, there are some individual jams to be found on the record, of which the grandiose eight-minute title track immediately comes to mind. Unfolding itself as a hazy rave daydream, anyone giving the track the attention it deserves will find himself surfing along the irresistible groove that Omar lays out throughout its meandering running time. A bit earlier, the claustrophobic and disturbing 'Hellter Skelter' sounds like it was blasted from the dirtiest, grittiest sound system imaginable, and then was drowned in the depths of the ocean, for good measure. Elsewhere, the at new-beat hinting 'Air Of Day' and the jazzy Frankie Knuckles-tribute 'The Shit Baby' will definitely evoke a good dose of nostalgia for anyone who can remember the heydays of the late '80s techno movement.

But looking back certainly isn't Omar-S' style, because as said earlier he couldn't give less of a damn about what others want from him. He just does what comes natural, and coincidentally, what comes natural for him just feels like classic Detroit. He gets away with it though, and he owes it to his arrogance; or let's just call it self-assuredness. As a pure statement Thank You For Letting Me Be Myself may not be as powerful as It Can Be Done, But Only I Can Do It, but the music itself is anything but.



Recent reviews by this author
The Notwist Close to the GlassThe Men Tomorrow's Hits
Valentin Stip SighActress Ghettoville
Burial Rival DealerRecondite Hinterland
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

- Thank U 4 Letting Me Be Myself: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3wPJPintfrM
- Amalthea: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z475OMeuHgk
- The Shit Baby: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q9gWQ1PUyMg

Digging: Amatorski - From Clay To Figures

Typhoner
April 4th 2013



738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was just thinking about the fact that this album really needed a review and all - then I logged in saw you just posted it.

Great review obviously. Very well-written and thorough analysis of the record. I do like it a bit more than a 3.5 though and I think your review actually also suggests a higher rating. And yeah, I just like 'Ready My Black Asz' but I'm just a sucker for acid tracks ;-).

Digging: A Made Up Sound - Night Owl

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://www.motherlovemusic.be/album/omar-s-thank-you-for-letting-me-be-myself-album-review

Well, I wrote one in Dutch already and it took me 20min or so translating it, so I thought "Why Not?" ;]

Yeah, I like it too, but it's just a bit too clichéd. Superb party stuff though. And this is indeed bordering on a 4 for me, but there's still the fact that some tracks on their own aren't that impressive. Oh well...

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, and if you like acid, definitely check out Recondite's 'On Acid' (I think I may have told you already about that one). I'm so glad I found it in my local record shop the other day, it sound magnificent on vinyl.

Typhoner
April 4th 2013



738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I remember looking for it, I'll look a bit more.

Oh, and don't get me wrong: I wasn't intending to write a review for this, I'm just happy you did it

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't hesitate to write some more, though. Your Hidden Orchestra one was really good. So glad I found that record thanks to you, love it so much.

Typhoner
April 4th 2013



738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks!

It's more that writing this kind stuff is quite hard for me. But there are got plenty of albums in need of a review (new faltyDL, Apparat, Ellen Allien, ...), so I might try to put something together.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, I heard Apparat's got a new one out, but I haven't got round to checking it. Haha, Dev hates it, typical.

Looking forward to it! :]

Typhoner
April 4th 2013



738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I might ;)

Anyway:

HEY PEOPLE, NICE STUFF TO SEE HERE!

Come and talk with us about deep house, techno and what not!

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Artwork doesn't have a circle in it. People won't show up.

Mookid
April 4th 2013



1294 Comments


Great album

Listening to this album by the wharf is an experience

Awesome review too pos'd

Typhoner
April 4th 2013



738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

But, ... it has some dude on it!

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for reading! Yeah, I can imagine this working wonderfully as a soundtrack for industrial places.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



2675 Comments


Like the review, man. Not sure about the record though ;)

Picked it up as soon as it reached the internet but didn't slip into it at all - the same thing happened with It Can Be Done as well. Maybe all this soppy ambient music is ruining my house taste buds.

Jash
April 4th 2013



4243 Comments


"Artwork doesn't have a circle in it. People won't show up."

Hahaha!

I'm gonna have to check this out, Ive never loved anything he's done but every release of his I find a couple tracks I can get into

Digging: Wen - Signals

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

really good review, nice to have you cover this sort of stuff in the absence of our favourite robot.

I just last week actually gave his other albums another listen and realized that I liked them quite a bit more than I originally thought, just in time to get into this one hopefully.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



6956 Comments


is there pornography on this

Digging: Wild Beasts - Present Tense

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2013



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

idk mannnn

look at dese mods though, honoring all my bleep-bloopy feature requests. cheeeeeers.

scissorlocked
April 4th 2013



3479 Comments


great work man!

haven't listened this one yet, but I expect it to be pretty good

also, fuck!, Theo Parrish isn't even in the database!

Digging: Fantastic Mr Fox - Sketches

Winesburgohio
April 4th 2013



911 Comments


I wouldn't say there's an arrogant undertone in his music at all tbh, weird claim

Digging: Harvey Milk - My Love Is Higher Than Your Assessment...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy