Job for a Cowboy
Doom


3.5
great

Review

by Dancin' Man USER (40 Reviews)
March 5th, 2006 | 266 replies | 196,271 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


34 of 38 thought this review was well written

First off, this a death metal album. There are some breakdowns and traits of other genres, but at it's core, it is death metal. Pretty decent stuff too. Before all of you traditional death metal elitists get your panties in a bunch, listen to this album.

Job For a Cowboy made quite a splash with their demo alone and promised to become a quite powerful band in today's metal scene. While they do lack creativity to a degree (how many other bands are playing death metal grind and metalcore at once these days?) they do what they do exceptionally well. Think Red Chord, similar sound and perfromed at a similar level. This is a band that I feel death metal elitists to tough guys to scenesters can appreciate.

Each song is filled with top notch riffage. Sometimes it sounds fairly generic but it all has a nice flow and has the right level of dissonance mixed in to make the melodies fairly unnerving. The drumming is also done very well. The drummer does a nice job adding in interesting fills rather than keeping each part the same consistently. The parts are interesting and sound fairly technical. The drummer helps this band avoid being a boring breakdown filled band. The vocals are all over the map. Personally, I am not a fan of screams and growls because I think they sound fake compared to an angry yell (a la Pig Destroyer) but this guy does his thing very well.

The songwriting here is immense. The tracks are all in the four minute range but aren't filled with annoying repetition. THere is a nice mix of flowing riffs highlighted by the occasional stop and go. There are no real solos here, but they are unecessary here anyway. The breakdowns are of the death metal variety usually. Fairly short and more like a rest than the dance-off section. There are a number of interesting pauses that serve to trick the listener. Overall, these guys have good ideas as far as how a song should be written.

The mix and production are done very well. I can hear the instruments clearly, although the bass often gets lost (except for that awesome section in The Rising Tide). On the bright side, things aren't muddy though they do sound very downtuned and I really prefer standard tuning all the way around. I feel like if you can make a brutal and heavy record without changing your instrument, you have very serious talent. Somtimes I also feel like the bass drum is running the music and that can get dull. Suspended By The Throat is overall the worst song I feel. It's the song at the end of the set to make the dancers happy. Oh well.

Pretty decent album but with flaws. A good listen for fans of The Red Chord and Behemoth.



Recent reviews by this author
Verse AggressionTool 10,000 Days
Found Dead Hanging Dulling Occam's RazorMe and Him Call It Us The (C:) Drive Of Love Stories
Ephel Duath The Painter's PaletteRobinson Robinson EP
user ratings (932)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
iamthesword (1.5)
Job for a Cowboy's "Doom" is a sub-par effort that no one should be interested in at all, no matter ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
March 5th 2006



12688 Comments


I'm so happy someone else likes Job For A Cowboy! I don't own any albums, but I listen to them on one of my friends iPod's a lot.
This is a very solid, detailed review, but not long at all. I laugh in the face of whoever negged this.

Dancin' Man
March 5th 2006



719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Meh, people can neg all they want. I write short reviews. If people don't like them, they can write one.

BloodThirstyGuillotine
March 5th 2006



63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Waiting for a Job for a Cowboy review. Really good band. Great review. Entombment of a Machine is a great song.

Dancin' Man
March 5th 2006



719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

truth. I love when you think it's over and then it comes back for one more round.

Hatshepsut
March 5th 2006



1997 Comments


Ha the person who negged changed his mind. Nice detailed review.

Arrakakaka
March 5th 2006



685 Comments


Good review as usual, but this band is.. meh. They don't perk my interest when I listen to them.

Doobieman22
March 13th 2006



2 Comments


i cant stand job for a cowboy. I mean for one that name just sucks plus i just can't hadle knee deep. I just don't like the genre death metal that much anyway so i guess thats why i dont like job for a cowboy


SunnyDayRealEstateAM
March 13th 2006



58 Comments


I like Job For A Cowboy. They play an amazing show. Entombment of A Machine is vicious.

cutthroatmurderers
March 14th 2006



11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

job for a cowboy is a freakin sweet band. yep. they are awesome because they are grind deathmetal and have really good breakdowns. their vocalists matches the talent because of his wide range of screams, and he can sound like a piggy in distress

LOOK Daean said
March 14th 2006



14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aw.

i orginally wrote a review for this but i guess it got rejected

also to be honest, this isn't even death metal, this is beyond it.

i like to put this under the genre "Doom"

also, saying that job for a cowboy, or any death metal band has breakdowns, is laughable.This Message Edited On 03.14.06

Jawaharal
March 14th 2006



1832 Comments


Doom metal is slow sluggish metal.

So, that wouldn't really fly with every metal person on mx.

Dancin' Man
March 14th 2006



719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There are very clear breakdowns here. And if you want, I will find you other, european death metal acts with breakdowns. The breakdown is not limited to metalcore or hardcore.

This is death metal. It may not be the most cut and dry death metal, but that is what it is closest to. I am confident saying this because I have listened to a lot of death metal in my day.

tombright_104
April 4th 2006



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

probably one of the best bands to come out of this 'scene', these guys just keep getting better, cant wait for an album!

A Threnody Waltz
April 6th 2006



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is an amazing band, and doom is probably the best Demo I've ever heard. they remind me of Through The Eyes Of The Dead and they are both amazing bands. Check this album out.

cutthroatmurderers
April 7th 2006



11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what is the easiest way to get "Doom" i want to have the actual cd instead of just my burnt copy

Stoic
April 17th 2006



161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think they're heavily influenced by death metal (some sections are even pure death) but technically they're not. I dont normally like bands from this scene but Job for A Cowboy (what a lame name by the way) have somehow clicked me, especially the vocals. Catchy groovy and angst driven in an enjoyable way.

Salivation
May 3rd 2006



2 Comments


This is a great album the only thing that dissapointed me is that its limited track listing after listening to the whole cd i was left craving more but nonetheless good album

Salivation
May 3rd 2006



2 Comments


This is a great album the only thing that dissapointed me is that its limited track listing after listening to the whole cd i was left craving more but nonetheless good album

thehouseeffect
May 3rd 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i wish someone would tab emtombment of a machine for me..........please someone do itThis Message Edited On 05.03.06

shavo=god
May 6th 2006



22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thank you (the houseeffect) i want some one to tab it soooooooooooooooooo sooooooooo sooooooo bad . i love that song and the album. not many songs but meh its a sick album!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy