My Chemical Romance
Conventional Weapons


3.5
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
February 5th, 2013 | 50 replies | 18,656 views


Release Date: 02/05/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Rebellion is not a T-Shirt you sell"

After hearing Conventional Weapons, it's a wonder why My Chemical Romance even bothered to released Danger Days. Shelving an album's worth of material for such a weak, cluttered concept that lacked direction or depth and portrayed a dumb story with such childish characters was a big mistake. However, in an attempt to keep the fans on the lookout until they return with a new full length, the band decided to release a pair of songs each month on vinyl from October to February (a popular move these days to cash in), under the title Conventional Weapons. There are a few ideas here that became the starting points of Danger Days, but maybe for the fear of coming up with subpar material, they brought in a moronic story, complete with raps and even synths, instead of relying on their own strengths.

Recorded before Danger Days, back in 2009 with former drummer Bob Bryar, these tracks have a slightly different feel from the previous effort, the overly dramatic Black Parade and even the aforementioned successor. Gone are a big part of the theatrical performances, leaving behind a more stripped version of My Chemical Romance, closer to the boundaries of their second album Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge. Of course, Gerard Way is still obsessed with death and his lyrics tend to make a big deal out of everything, but he sounds more honest and actually has something interesting to say this time (such as the nod to the success of The Black Parade in "Tomorrow's Money", saying "I stopped bleeding 3 years ago/While you keep screaming for revolution/Because rebellion's not a t-shirt you sell/You keep your money and I'll see you in hell"). The best example of his new found clarity might be "The Light Behind Your Eyes", which finds the front man at his most humble state, delivering what's arguably MCR's best and most mature ballad yet, singing"If I could be with you tonight/I would sing you to sleep/Never let them take the light behind your eyes").

Music wise, Conventional Weapons sits also closer to the manic, more down-to-earth Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge, but filtered through the arena sized Black Parade, keeping some of the arrangements and to a certain extent the vibe of the latter. These albums have divided a vast majority of their fan base in recent years and the band attempted to fuse the two worlds. In the end, they succeeded, showcasing a more calculated My Chemical Romance. This way, high octane tracks like "Boy Division" and "Make Room!!!!" have power, but don't threaten to get out of control (to some old fans' disappointment) and the more settled lullaby, "The Light Behind Your Eyes", has a beautiful acoustic rhythm with nostalgic slide leads, but fortunately doesn't get overly pretentious and dramatic. The closer "Burn Bright" is another great track, bearing more resemblance to Black Parade's "Famous Last Words", one of the highlights on that album. Even if it has the same atmosphere, MCR managed to keep the arena leanings to a lower level and focus more on the delivery.

In the end, Conventional Weapons turned out to be one of the band's most satisfying records. Fans of both Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge and The Black Parade will find this enjoyable and cut down to only 10 tracks, there is little to no filler here. None of the tunes sound too bloated or cheesy, being a fairly straightforward effort, that should've seen the light of day three years ago, instead of the horrid Danger Days.



Recent reviews by this author
Yawning Man Nomadic PursuitsSeven That Spells The Death And Resurrection Of Krautrock: IO
Tim Bowness Abandoned Dancehall DreamsWo Fat The Conjuring
Kasabian 48:13Greenleaf Trails And Passes
user ratings (113)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
willchambers216 (5)
A suiting legacy of not only MCR, but of everything that ends....

fish CONTRIBUTOR (2.5)
It's the simple things that let Conventional Weapons down...

Zack (4)
Overall Conventional Weapons is an excellent release with some really tight songs to show how much t...


Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I enjoy this more than expected. Might be my second favorite, behind Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge, which remains their greatest record.

Stream No. 5 - http://dyingscene.com/news/my-chemical-romance-stream-conventional-weapons-number-five/
No. 4 - http://www.altpress.com/news/entry/my_chemical_romance_stream_conventional_weapons_number_four
No. 3 - http://www.altpress.com/news/entry/my_chemical_romance_stream_conventional_weapons_number_three
No. 2 - http://www.altpress.com/news/entry/my_chemical_romance_stream_conventional_weapons_number_four
No. 1 - http://www.alterthepress.com/2012/10/my-chemical-romance-conventional.html

Digging: Karma To Burn - Arch Stanton

pissbore
February 5th 2013



9935 Comments


http://i.imgur.com/ZQx0tmO.jpg

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha. That Dimmu Borgir album is really weak. But still, this is one of the best things the band have done. I hate Danger Days and don't enjoy most of Black Parade.

slipnslide
February 5th 2013



2640 Comments


"less to no filler"

little to no filler

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks. I'll correct that.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2013



7970 Comments


It is good to hear that this is more straightforward, and not collapsing under its own pretension.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I gave up on them after Danger Days, but this is solid material.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



4380 Comments


Good review, Insomniac. I haven't listened to this and chances are I never will. Nothing against My Chemical Romance personally, they've just never been my bag.
POS'd.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was a fan during the Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge era, back in 2004-2005. Then they gotten worse with each release. However, this is closer to TCFSR, I enjoy it more. Still, it won't be a classic any time soon. Thanks!

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



4380 Comments


I've only really heard "The Ghost Of You" which I really liked when I first heard it and "Helena" was okay too. I just never pursued their music any further due to a lack of interest. I had friends who loved the band so I have heard good things about them,

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, that album is their best. I really like "I'm Not Okay", "You Know What They Do To Guys Like Us In Prison", "Give'em Hell, Kid", "Thank You For The Venom" and "The Ghost Of You" off that record.

toxin.
February 5th 2013



12019 Comments


"even bothered to released Danger Days"

Good review, insom
Considering what a big deal you make out of the lyrics, I was expecting an excerpt or two. But maybe that's just my own preference/style
pos

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the pos. I wanted to include some excerpts, but they are better mostly in Gerard Way's own terms: "I stopped bleeding 3 years ago/While you keep screaming for revolution/Because rebellion's not a t-shirt you sell/You keep your money and I'll see you in hell "

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2013



21575 Comments


Was really disappointed with this. Might counter review

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I saw you had a higher rating for Danger Days. I find this a lot better and less pretentious for the band's own good. Anyway, I'd be happy to read your review :D

VermicideReloadead
February 5th 2013



1433 Comments


After their last bland album, this is huge step forward.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I hope they keep this direction for the next record and don't create another dumb cartoon version of themselves.

Cygnatti
February 5th 2013



21349 Comments


ghost of you is great but cmon guys the black parade was easiily their best album.

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



3333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didn't enjoy it as much as Three Cheers. Still, tracks like This Is How I Disappear, The Sharpest Lives, Famous Last Words or House Of Wolves are cool.

Cygnatti
February 5th 2013



21349 Comments


how I disappear is such a serious jam, it's a lot like 3 cheers imo, but I enjoy it more than most 3 cheers songs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy