Alkaline Trio
Crimson


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (87 Reviews)
November 13th, 2012 | 21 replies | 1,047 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Alkaline Trio cry out "We want to be different" while old school fans can't help but scream "Betrayal!"

After Good Mourning polarized fans and almost let them slip away, Crimson was the final nail in the coffin for old school Trio fans. With its glossy production, multiple guitar tracks, string sections, and overall alt rock sound - old school fans couldn't help but cry foul and jump ship. And it's hard not to blame them, Alkaline Trio is basically a different band on Crimson. While remnants of what they used to be can be found on tracks like "Mercy Me" and "I Was a Prayer," for the most part Crimson is radically different enough to turn a lot of people off. Alkaline Trio is basically aping Sing The Sorrow by AFI here, not exactly from a sonic standpoint, but just in the overall alt rock sound and how different both albums are from previous releases by the bands. Alkaline Trio's new direction is pretty hit and miss on Crimson. The piano intro and hard edge sound of "Time To Waste" works, and the layered production of tracks like "Sadie" is great, but on tracks like "Your Neck" and "The Poison" the band falls flat on their face. The not so great tracks on this LP are a classic case of "Trying too hard syndrome," as their overproduced and layered sound can't adequately take the place of the tight songwriting the band was known for on previous releases. Overall, Crimson has some great tracks, some so-so tracks, and some iffy ones, with most of the disparity coming from the band's sudden shift into a new sound. Alkaline Trio would head even further in this direction with their next release, and even try to take it all back with This Addiction, but as for the band's original fans, well they'd already jumped ship after the beautiful mess that is Crimson.



Recent reviews by this author
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika FantajinBrave Bird T-Minus Grand Gesture
Old Gray/Tiny Moving Parts SplitBanner Pilot Souvenir
Carissa's Wierd Songs About LeavingAge Sixteen Open Up Finders, Please
user ratings (633)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wanted to write a one paragraph review really bad so here you go


Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

bloc
November 12th 2012



34675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I always thought the first half of this was really good. I haven't listened to this in a long time.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I fucking hated this album the first time I heard it, it was the first I'd heard of the band
Then I dug it hard, now I just dig it
Full circle baby

acad
November 12th 2012



150 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

tied with their other five perfect albums

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I forgot to mention how they tried to bring back the dark elements from Maybe I'll Catch Fire but it doesn't work nearly as well

pizzamachine
November 12th 2012



12571 Comments


pos'd dat shit

MalleusMaleficarum
November 12th 2012



13784 Comments


yep totally used to jam this in high school, still jam goddamnit though.



MalleusMaleficarum
November 12th 2012



13784 Comments


cool review trebsz

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Pizza, your Green Day review made me laugh

WeepingBanana
November 12th 2012



10045 Comments


i've only heard goddamnit and from here to infirmary

i'm the best kind of alk3 fan

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2012



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

But Maybe I'll Catch Fire is the best oh man
Self titled is better than From Here as well

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2012



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Desperation bump


Satellite
November 13th 2012



20678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

holy fuck this review was long

dethbed is the shit

Digging: Dikembe - Mediumship

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2012



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dethbed is the best
I'll try to trim down the next review

dimsim3478
November 13th 2012



4735 Comments


This album tries way too hard to be the sonic equivalent of its cover artwork.

Digging: My Psychoanalyst - Choreomania

MTObsidian
November 13th 2012



118 Comments


Hey, it's that one paragraph review you were talking about! Nice work. Pos'd.

Mike08
November 13th 2012



601 Comments


The length is ok, just break up the paragraph. It doesn't NEED to be 1 paragraph. I like your writing style alot.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2012



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks dude, I just really wanted to have a one paragrapher


Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2012



19451 Comments


hmmm i've been too lazy to write a review these past few days but i'm liking this one paragraph idea.

Digging: The Who - Tommy

bakkermaarten007
November 13th 2012



3300 Comments


You're quite good at these short reviews, have a pos.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy