Radiohead
Kid A


5.0
classic

Review

by Justin Swope USER (86 Reviews)
October 5th, 2012 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Kid A marks a revolutionary phase in the band's career, implementing electronic soundscapes and atypical instrumentation.

How do you follow up one of the landmark albums of the 90s that "saved rock and roll music"? Radiohead's answer to this question was to shift gears and run full speed in the opposite direction. Kid A, the band's fourth LP, is by far one of the most career-altering albums ever. This also makes it one of the most divisive. When I first listened to Kid A, I remember I was lying in my bedroom on a rainy afternoon. I wish someone had held a mirror up to my face when the album started rolling because I'm sure my facial expression was priceless. Like many fans, I was perplexed when I first heard Kid A. I was asking myself questions like "What was that?". The transition from the critically praised OK Computer to Kid A was a rough and unexpected one, but in the end, I realized that I had come across one of the most revolutionary and magnificent albums of all time.

Thom Yorke went back to the drawing table and worked to create something new. Kid A is Radiohead's sidestep from mainstream attention. It is certainly a hard album to comprehend and absorb, making it Radiohead's most challenging LP. Full appreciation requires multiple listens, and the listener is rewarded with something that he or she may have missed each time. What makes Kid A so spectacular is its flow. Throughout the album there is a strong sense of unity that binds all of these songs together. The dramatic and noticeable difference between Kid A and its predecessors is the dearth of guitars and the heavier reliance on electronics. However, the electronic aspects of this album lend to the strange and unusual ambience that this album carries. It may catch fans of the guitar-driven Radiohead off-guard, yet this is just another stage in the band's evolution.

The crux of Kid A is its unshakeable attentiveness to detail. At times the sound feels extraterrestrial and robotic, while at other points it sound strangely natural and liberating. A coiled array of textures and sounds often hide in the background only to slowly creep onto center stage. As with any Radiohead album, Kid A progresses on its own terms, but this LP delves into much more bewildering and unmapped territory. Luckily, Radiohead never once sacrifice emotion for ambition.

My favorite song on the album has to be repressed and delicate "How to Disappear Completely". The song details Yorke's constant struggle with international fame. The sheer isolation of this song allows Yorke to pull the listener in with his beautiful vocals overshadowed by an otherworldly collection of sounds. "In Limbo" traps the listener alone at sea with nothing but a looping melody. It is definitely one of the weirdest songs the band has ever released, but it is worth every second. "Optimistic" presents a more conventional song structure that may temporarily relieve the struggling casual listener. "Everything In Its Right Place" sets the tone for the album with heavy reliance on electronic beats juxtaposed with looping vocals. As the opening track, it is most likely the song to surprise people expecting another OK Computer.

This is the album where Thom Yorke finally starts to use his voice as an instrument in itself. The numerous layers of Kid A allow Yorke and the rest of the band to experiment. The title track, "Kid A" reminds me of background music in a car commercial spliced with immensely distorted vocals from Mr. Yorke. The track is incredibly dense and provides a truly gratifying listen with a good pair of headphones. The dance-inducing "Idioteque" is the most energetic song and the album and is the result of hugely successful experimentation. The band masters a newly engineered sound and makes it both distinct and undefinable. The use of bass on "The National Anthem" is immediately addictive alongside the chaotic horns. Kid A certainly has a wintry feel to it, but the sentimental depth keeps the steady pace going. Finally, the album comes to a majestic close with "Motion Picture Soundtrack", one of the band's best album closers of all time. Although it is about dying and letting go, it is a beautiful song that sends the listener into the abyss of eternal silence.

The emotion of Kid A is both complex and abstract. However, those who embrace Kid A will not be disappointed. I might be one of the few who actually prefers Kid A to OK Computer, but, either way, Radiohead is on an unforgettable journey. Kid A is a milestone in the band's catalogue, setting the stage for further innovation in the world of music. Once Kid A ended, I knew that I wanted more.

Favorite Tracks:
How to Disappear Completely
In Limbo
Everything In Its Right Place
Kid A
Motion Picture Soundtrack



Recent reviews by this author
Ariel Pink Pom PomBuilt to Spill Keep It Like a Secret
Flying Lotus You're Dead!Alt-J This Is All Yours
Rustie Green LanguageCloud Nothings Here and Nowhere Else
user ratings (5258)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

competent review, but do you like anything else than radiohead ?

MeatSalad
October 4th 2012


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

competent review, but do you like anything else than radiohead ?


favorite bands

Radiohead, The Flaming Lips, R.E.M., Animal Collective, Pixies, The Beatles, Aphex Twin, Spoon, Arcade Fire, Boards of Canada, Sonic Youth, Flying Lotus, Massive Attack, Pink Floyd, Wilco, Guster, Air, Death Cab for Cutie, Nicolas Jaar, Portishead, My Bloody Valentine, Autechre, Neutral Milk Hotel, The Shins, Liars, Smashing Pumpkins, Squarepusher, Grizzly Bear, Nine Inch Nails, Bon Iver, Tim Hecker, Pearl Jam, Elvis Costello, The Books, Dave Matthews Band, Bob Dylan, Sigur Ros, Spiritualized, Led Zeppelin, Oneohtrix Point Never, Holy Ghost!, James Blake, The XX, Mogwai, Bibio, Explosions in the Sky, Old 97's, Actress, The Strokes, Nirvana, The Black Keys, The Police, Pantha Du Prince, Vampire Weekend, Crowded House, Kraftwerk, iamamiwhoami, Andrew Jackson Jihad, SBTRKT, The Mars Volta, Beach House, TV on the Radio, Lone, Mount Eerie, Scuba, Phantogram, Black Dice, Foo Fighters, The Orb, The Living End, The Kooks, The Smiths, My Morning Jacket, Of Monsters and Men, Battles, The Avalanches, Clark, Burial, Moby, Interpol, John Talabot, Band of Horses, Counting Crows, Zero 7, Grouper, Thom Yorke, Atoms for Peace, Recondite, Elliott Smith, Mount Kimbie, Miles Davis, DJ Shadow, Gorillaz, Crystal Castles, Fleet Foxes, MGMT, Loscil, Crystal Stilts, Apollo Sunshine, The Who, The Rolling Stones, Foster the People, Bjork, The Velvet Underground, XTC, The National, The Fratellis, Silversun Pickups, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Incubus, Africa Hitech, Eprom, Coldplay, Muse, John Mayer, The Beach Boys, Grateful Dead, Queen, Ben Harper, Bob Marley, Jack Johnson, Social Distortion, Audioslave, Rustie, Modeselektor, Aerosmith, The Clash, Guns N' Roses, Green Day, Velvet Revolver,


Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs (And Around in Your Heart and on

Ethics
October 4th 2012


4112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lmfao

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah, put in my place, just all 4 of his reviews are radiohead

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh he likes Guster, do a Guster review Justin.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


20158 Comments


I've never heard an entire radiohead album before but I love creep.

Don't hate me : P

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

jtswope
October 4th 2012


2494 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah lol I'll get to other groups. I just wanted to start with Radiohead. But I like a lot of different groups as you can see lol

MeatSalad
October 4th 2012


15089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've never heard an entire radiohead album before but I love creep.


Listen to OKC nigga

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


20158 Comments


I will. I've heard songs from their albums and liked them. I just never got around to listening to one of their albums in full for some reason.

Chortles
October 4th 2012


18102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah atari, ok computer is like rimjobs to your ears, you need to get on that shit

Digging: Cocteau Twins - Treasure

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


20158 Comments


well written review btw pos'd

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


20158 Comments


@Chortles I will tonight man : )

Chortles
October 4th 2012


18102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome dude, hope you enjoy it. it's one of those albums that actually deserves the insane amount of hype it gets

YoYoMancuso
October 4th 2012


11224 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

although this has pretty much all been said before, nice review. have a pos. also you finally used paragraphs!

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

3 staff 5 reviews damn

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

ADM20
October 4th 2012


48 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is my favorite Radiohead album, the one that I first listened to, and the album that completely changed my opinion on what music could be. I had never listened to anything like it before, and there never will be anything like it. It has absolutely no flaws whatsoever. From the moment Everything In Its Right Place started, I was in love with it. It has so much atmosphere, so much beauty... oh, sorry, I got really into that description...

Crawl
October 5th 2012


1647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

national anthem and idioteque are epic.
pos

Chortles
October 5th 2012


18102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

national anthem is like the best song ever i agree

DutchDevotee
October 5th 2012


37 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Somehow seeing reviews for three consecutive albums from one band being rated a 5, does take away the sincerity of the reviews somewhat (imho).

ZackSh33
October 5th 2012


367 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pos

I still don't understand this album. I love OKC and especially the Bends, but this was always just a little too out there for me to listen to casually. I usually listen to it when I'm going to sleep (not that it's boring, it just can be very relaxing).

Get rid of the last sentence, and your review is almost perfect. Great work! I'd love to see you do another band besides Radiohead, though.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy