Queens of the Stone Age
Lullabies to Paralyze


2.0
poor

Review

by Neoteric USER (86 Reviews)
February 3rd, 2006 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Where, oh where have you been, my love?
Where, oh where can you be?
It's been so long since the moon has gone
And oh what a wreck you've made me
Are you there over the ocean?
Are you there up in the sky?
Until the return of my love, this lullaby


This is the opening statement of the 1:22 opener ďThis Lullaby" which is the song on the album sung by Mark Lanegan (ex-Screaming Trees front-man) with itís soft acoustic touch and Markís low husky voice, this album seems really awesome, right??? Well, yes and no. While the album includes some tracks destined to be QOTSA classics, some seem like a blip in the Queens discography. After the distinct This Lullaby, another short song comes on. Though itís not acoustic or soft, it is more fast and energetic. Why, this song Iím talking about is of course Medication.

The guitars are a bit different on this album, though Josh still has that down-tuned gloomy stoner sound on his guitar, the chords are a bit different as the guitar work makes it sound bluesy. The percussion has decreased in quality mostly because this ďJoey" person does it while 2002ís commercial hit Songs For The Deaf had the almighty Dave Grohl as the one behind the drum kit. This album tries to be commercial with obvious hits Little Sister and the more less popular In My Head. Some of the songs are quite consistent but the track listing doesnít flow sometimes, I canít listen to tracks 10-13 sometimes. It also isnít as good as itís processor even though I gave it a 3.

Josh Homme seems to be the main point of the band, the fact is, without him the band wouldnít be the same or even exist due to the music being circulated around him. Iím having trouble adjusting to this record, the album is just so different from ďSongs for the Deaf" and it is also a lot harder to get into since a lot of the songs are more blues oriented yet SFTD was a hard rocker.

I also felt that I didnít know who I was listening to, at this point they arenít really a band, just Josh and his friends. It was a band before Nick left and that opened up a hole in the Queens arsenal. I bought this from the pounding catchiness of Little Sister and I was hoping for more of the same when I opened up the case but they were only a few songs like that. The rest were more serious songs which left me disappointed and felt it was false advertising (cheesy I know) Hope was not all lost as there is some songs that I felt were really good that I could easily like first listen.

In My Head was more of what I was looking for when I bought the album as it was a light catchy song which gave the album a boost but the song was still under-par for what I expected and it got boring fast. I wasnít going to get anything I anticipated so I tried to look for other pluses about the album. Some of the songs are good, Everyone Knows That You Are Insane is quite heavy for QOTSAís standard but the driving repetitive chorus can sometimes be tiring.

It seems the line of songs with major repetition is high which gives me the feeling Josh is starting to run out of ideas for his super-group after Kyuss. Take Someoneís In The Wolf for example which contains a lot of good progressive elements but there is nothing here to keep me going for the whole 7:15, no major changes and parts to fill it all up hence major repetition. Iím sorry Queens but you havenít impressed me so far. Maybe chunky blues song is the way forward for them so sorry Iím not supporting you guys.

Maybe the many months I have had time with it hasnít helped. I still canít get into it at all. Maybe itís just me that thinks this record is bad but Iím finding it hard to come round to liking it. All I really see here is some repetitive crap that goes on and on though that would be too harsh. QOTSA really need to work on their ideas and what made their other albums a success but theyíve lost it right now. The songs need to be written better. Rated R was them starting to handle themselves; Songs for the Deaf was a progression and this was supposed to be them perfecting the formula but this feels like a step backwards.

The instruments are still strong.. Though the absence of Nick, the bass is nice and chunky here and Josh sometimes has a horrible tone but his guitar playing fits nicely. The drums are too basic though (I miss Dave Grohl) and Josh doesnít have the best voice. There isnít much to the lyrics though as the lyrics arenít supposed to be the main point to each song but some of the lyrics are amusing for a while.

" Medication for us all, it is a new way/ And we're gonna take it cause we love it/ Don't you know?"

Iím assuming this is some sort of drug reference as Iím still not sure but the way the song is done makes the lyrics amusing for some.

"I keep on playing our favourite song/ I turn it up while you're gone/ It's all I got when you're in my head and you're in my head so I need it"

As often, the lyrics arenít metaphorical, a lot of them are to the point and they donít dwell on metaphors which makes the song more interesting and there is a story behind them.

The band has changed for the worst. They arenít good at writing songs that can keep to your attention for more than 5 minutes. I think they should have kept to the same formula as Songs For The Deaf or at least come up with something that could work. The album fails in comparison and will forever be a low point in QOTSA discography.



Recent reviews by this author
Pink Reason Cleaning the MirrorThinking Fellers Local 282 Lovelyville
Primal Scream Beautiful FutureCan Future Days
King Crimson DisciplineWilliam Basinski Melancholia
user ratings (1751)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album

Comments:Add a Comment 
DesolationRow
February 3rd 2006


833 Comments


Oh no, j00 di'nt dis t3h Qu33nz 0f t3h St0n3 4g3!

Good, solid review. I have some of this on my computer, but haven't listened to it enough to give an accurate impression. Judging by how No One Knows sounds, it isn't my cup of tea.

Neoteric
February 3rd 2006


3243 Comments



Oh no, j00 di'nt dis t3h Qu33nz 0f t3h St0n3 4g3!



Good, solid review. I have some of this on my computer, but haven't listened to it enough to give an accurate impression. Judging by how No One Knows sounds, it isn't my cup of tea.

Thanks Twist, I can't even get an accurate impression, it's just so boring.

fisky009
February 3rd 2006


813 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, I like SFTD, my personal favourite. LTP is just as good, it got me into queens of the stone age in the first place so there are a few tracks I eenjoy

FunkyMunky
February 3rd 2006


43 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0


not that good of a review
you need to elaborate more on each song

Some of the better song on the album:
Tangled up in plaid
I never came
Broken box
Skin on skin(just so damn sexy)

so listen to them before you judge

Someone's in the wolf, I almost think they were making fun of themselfs for writing such long stoner rock songs....... funny ending :thumb:

but most of the others are a tad too repetive for me

Neoteric
February 3rd 2006


3243 Comments


it's an overall, why would I elaborate on each song?

Xander_Christ
February 3rd 2006


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not their greatest, but deserves more than a two. A lighter, more bluesy effort for sure but its still quite listenable. I Never Came is perhaps my favourite Queens song. Hopefully, the next album picks up the pace a little bit.
Also, most of the songs sound much better live.


Zesty Mordant
February 3rd 2006


1196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

decent review, though I disagree with many of your points:

This album tries to be commercial with obvious hits Little Sister and the more less popular In My Head. Some of the songs are quite consistent but the track listing doesnít flow sometimes


I don't see how it is any more commercial than its previous albums or why that matters (if thats what your suggesting). Likewise, I don't see as being any more inconsistant than previous albums.

I also felt that I didnít know who I was listening to, at this point they arenít really a band, just Josh and his friends.


QOTSA have always been like that though and thats why they're revered. Nick wasn't an original member, he just happened to be around when the band broke into radio.

The songs need to be written better. Rated R was them starting to handle themselves; Songs for the Deaf was a progression and this was supposed to be them perfecting the formula but this feels like a step backwards.


It sounds like you've been holding unreasonably high hopes for this album.

the bass is nice and chunky here and Josh sometimes has a horrible tone but his guitar playing fits nicely. The drums are too basic though (I miss Dave Grohl) and Josh doesnít have the best voice.


I think the rawness is what makes this album good, especially given the change to a more bluesier timbre.

That being said there are some excellent tracks on the album that the review overlooked. "Tangled up in Plaid", "Burn the Witch", "I Never Came", "Broken Box" and "'You've Got a Killer Scene There, Man'" are all formidable tracks.


scallahan06
February 3rd 2006


124 Comments


i dont like your review. because you mentioned that "joey" as a person not a band member. i admit the beats arent as great, but at least he makes up his own stuff. joshua basically made up the beats for grohl. i look at grohl as a substitue drummer for when these guys didnt have a permanent one. listen to joey live, he is much better than grohl. JOEY ROCKS, and so does lullabies. some fan you are giving it a 2. it deserves a 4!

Damrod
Moderator
February 3rd 2006


1093 Comments


Hm, this album never got me except for "Little Sister" and to an extend "Burn the witch".

Regarding the review: Solid review voicing an opinion.

Still, people seem to judge more on the opinions than the review itself...

*sigh*

Reywas
February 3rd 2006


148 Comments


Burn The Witch easily my favourite QOTSA song. Worst record though but not exactly a two in my book.

Zesty Mordant
February 3rd 2006


1196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still, people seem to judge more on the opinions than the review itself...


True, but I felt the review itself was a little too subjective. A lot of it seems to be based on what the reviewer expected and what the reviewer subsequently heard and then judging it on that basis.


Rudd13
February 3rd 2006


952 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Alright review. This is a good album.

/rants once again of how great Burn The Witch is.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
February 3rd 2006


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This CD is so bland and boring as a whole...very unimpressed.

Jawaharal
February 3rd 2006


1832 Comments


I don't understand teh hatin on this album. I like all of the songs I've heard off it. Little Sister is rawkin and Burn The Witch and Someone's In The Wolf are pretty good songs.

Zesty Mordant
February 3rd 2006


1196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Broken Box" is one of the best songs they've (Josh) ever written

Storm In A Teacup
February 3rd 2006


13161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was my opinion of the album when I first bought it, but after over half a year, it grew on me. Good review.

[quote=Last name of a murdered woman, and baby ]Judging by how No One Knows sounds, it isn't my cup of tea.[/quote]

That's on Songs For The Deaf.This Message Edited On 02.03.06

scallahan06
February 3rd 2006


124 Comments


and my friend loves queens but he hates no one knows, the only song he hates he said. so dont go by that song entwistle

Rockafella
February 4th 2006


88 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Takes a while to get into but this is no way suited for a 2.

AlienEater
February 4th 2006


716 Comments


it does take to get into it, but it gets better every time you hear. but burn the witch is total shit

Xander_Christ
February 4th 2006


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Burn the Witch sounds better live in my opinion, more raw and edgy than the album version which I find a little bland.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy