Kreator
Phantom Antichrist


4.5
superb

Review

by BlackLlama USER (37 Reviews)
June 11th, 2012 | 170 replies | 19,530 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Kreator returns in 2012 to bury the masses beneath a mountain of hate fueled thrash. Violent, angry Teutonic metal at its finest Phantom Antichrist should sate any metal fan’s thirst for blood.

16 of 16 thought this review was well written

It is almost becoming cliché at this point to keep heaping praise upon release after release in the Thrash genre. Depending on whom you ask the resurgence is either in full swing or near its end. 2012 started off with a bang with Jersey’s own Overkill putting out the Electric Age, later this year we have new Testament to look forward to. If that is not enough to quench your old school thirst’s Kreator has just released their 13th studio album Phantom Antichrist. Last we heard from the veteran metal crew was 2009’s stellar Hordes of Chaos. It was another case of where could the band go from here. I would love to say up (and in my estimation the answer would be yes) but the real answer would be more sideways and on a slightly different road than before.

The intro/title songs are one hundred percent old school Kreator. Angry, hate filled rhetoric over beautiful technical thrash are sure to please even the most jaded of metal critics. It is the fourth track in where things start mixing up a bit. From Flood Into Fire is an excellent song, but some Kreator fans may be put off by the very power-metal typical shouting and chorus. It still reeks of the bands style, but one can tell they haven’t put themselves on auto pilot. The change is not present on all of the tracks but this one and United In Hate certainly include some newer territory for the band. Your enjoyment of these songs will certainly affect how much you are going to enjoy this release over some of their more pure thrash oriented work. Yes the riffs are here by the bucket full but this is no Hordes of Chaos part 2.

Technically this is the best I have heard Kreator sound on a release. The current line up has found their sweet spot and the production really helps make this release shine. The audio treads that fine line between the genre’s old-school roots and modern technology. One of the things that I appreciate is that the guitar and drum work never feel too mechanical, the human element is there and appreciated. Vocally Mille Petrozza sounds as pissed off as you imagine him (maybe even more so than normal though it’s hard to tell with his style). Lyrically the themes never range too far from the old school Kreator vibe of battle and hatred.

Some of the changes and evolution the band has made are not going to impress everyone. If you let that stop you from enjoying the rest of the release you are missing out on an absolutely crushing record. For those that embrace the new direction, this is going to even harder to top than Hordes of Chaos.



Recent reviews by this author
Steel Panther All You Can EatWe Are The In Crowd Weird Kids
Biohazard Urban DisciplineXentrix Shattered Existence
Ghost B.C. If You Have GhostBeastmilk Use Your Deluge
user ratings (330)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
lostforwords (3.5)
Flags of Hate and Powerslaves...


Comments:Add a Comment 
BlackLlama
June 11th 2012



1358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Grammar or style wise, any input is appreciated. Really enjoying this release, doesn't seem to be everyone's cup of tea though.

Digging: Morgana Lefay - Maleficium

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2012



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, pos.

My sole objection for the album is that after the awesome shock of first few listening sessions, the sound of the guitars feels a bit "compressed".

What I mean:

I listened to Converge's Axe To Fall and then the new Kreator and the guitar distortion on the first one was far more "loose".

On the next album, Kreator should use Kurt Ballou as a producer.




Other than that, the album is nothing short of an awesome crossover between old school metal and Kreator thrash.

Victory Will Come is fuckin' awesome.


One suggestion:

For those that embrace the new direction, this is going to even harder to top than Hordes of Chaos.

this reads a bit awkward.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

BlackLlama
June 11th 2012



1358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I waited a good bit before writing this one as it had first listen 5 written all over it. I'm torn Between Victory Will Come and United in Hate. Such a fun, violent song.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2012



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ventor behind the drum kit is the fucking tits.


On the contrary, on my first listen this was a 3-3.5, but it is now a solid 4, hands down.

BlackLlama
June 11th 2012



1358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Opinion seems to vary a lot on this release. Can't wait for Testament now, will be the 2012 tri-fecta.


SpiritCrusher2
June 11th 2012



2631 Comments


Kreator goes melodeath on a couple of songs here

YUJOS
June 11th 2012



890 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ Maybe you mean melodeath went Kreator...

Digging: Aosoth - Ashes of Angels

NWOAHM666
June 11th 2012



849 Comments


Haven't heard this yet but I think Kreator kinda lost it after the mid-Nineties.

I'm still looking forward to this, who knows what can happen.

SpiritCrusher2
June 11th 2012



2631 Comments


yea who knows

BlackLlama
June 11th 2012



1358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The 90's was rough for a lot of Thrash/Metal bands. If you haven't given them a chance in a while I would recommend that you check out Hordes of Chaos first.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2012



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is Hordes Of Chaos that good?

I refused to listen to it back in the day, because I was so absorbed by the excellence of Enemy Of God.

KILL
June 11th 2012



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

havent heard but know for a fact its not a 4.5 but will check I GUESS

CaptainDooRight
June 11th 2012



26444 Comments


Cool haven't heard yet but it's been on my to listen listen. Haven't read your review but will later.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

SteelErectedb4you8er
June 11th 2012



2612 Comments


Nice review man. I don't know what Kreator albums you have been listening to NWOAH, but Violet Revolution, Enemy of God, and Hordes of Chaos are all excellent albums. And Voivod, Hordes is awesome, it is rawer and just in your face. Still have to listen to this, but this makes me want to hear it now!

alachlahol
June 11th 2012



7423 Comments


every new thrash album is at least a 4.5 these bands are almost too good

Tyrael
June 11th 2012



20395 Comments


it seems like all you guys ever do is complain about everything

I hope you're happy with your lives

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

KILL
June 11th 2012



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thrash was never the same agreed

alachlahol
June 11th 2012



7423 Comments


i gotta say this album pleasured me more than pleasure to kill

BlackLlama
June 11th 2012



1358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

As I said, it's getting hard at this point to write bad things about these releases. I'm not taking away from anyone's older work, but music that's been coming out for the past few years (Overkill, Kreator, Exodus to name 3) has been top notch. Can't take it away from them. A lot of fans simply want to dislike shit as that's what they are used to. Holy fucking hell though, pull out your butt cream and get over the hurt, this is a great release.

KILL
June 11th 2012



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i thought hordes was p good it had some riffs, kinda on the same level as ENEMY OF GOD



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy