Spider Island
The Witch & The Dragon


3.5
great

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
March 15th, 2012 | 18 replies | 3,512 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I looked out this morning and the sun was gone. Turned on some music to start my day.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Spider Island’s debut EP, The Witch & The Dragon, hits just the right spot. My friend, you’re in for an EP that harkens back to the glory days of rock n’ roll. It’s poorly recorded, the sound leveling is abysmal, the lead singer is imperfect, and the drums are often ill-fitting, but there’s something to be said for sketchiness when the result is raw, earnest music. So what kind of music is this? This is true rock n’ roll. This is the kind of stuff that could easily play alongside Boston and Rush on the radio and no one would think twice. It’s instant nostalgia, and highly recommended to anyone that keep on rockin’ in the free world. Is this EP particularly special? No, not really, and that’s what makes it great. Aside from the screams in ‘Planet of Chaos’, or the strange obsession with guitar solos, The Witch & The Dragon is straightforward, ageless rock/prog rock. In other words, it’s pretty cool.

Editor's note: The Witch & The Dragon is the project of sputnikmusic user CrownOfMagnets. You can download Undome for free (legally) here: http://spiderisland.bandcamp.com/album/the-witch-the-dragon



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
March 14th 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Enjoy!

CaptainDooRight
March 14th 2012



28359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i don't think the link is correct, it took me to some type of ambient music

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

pizzamachine
March 14th 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh hehe, I'll change that.

CaptainDooRight
March 14th 2012



28359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love the production on this album, ace for sure

NotSoFast
March 14th 2012



388 Comments


Um... review is kinda short.

pizzamachine
March 14th 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I found this difficult to review so I kept it short and more concise.

NotSoFast
March 14th 2012



388 Comments


Well maybe short is better, for the people who don't have the time sit around on this site and read a full length review. Because I know that even I skip around in a review when I'm short on time.

pizzamachine
March 14th 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I try to avoid reading or writing super long reviews, they kill me.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2012



30893 Comments


Ed. note is nearly half the length of the review

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

pizzamachine
March 15th 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I noticed that haha

MO
March 15th 2012



18263 Comments


sweet more sputnikers music, definitely going to listen

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

CrownOfMagnets
March 15th 2012



2232 Comments


Hey Pizzamachine thanks a lot man. even if this review is short it seems you understand what spider island is about.

CaptainDooRight
March 16th 2012



28359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

awesome album bro, two man band?

CrownOfMagnets
March 17th 2012



2232 Comments


@captain thanks and ya, currently lookin for a new drummer.

CaptainDooRight
March 17th 2012



28359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bummer bro, he bail out

so it's just you now?

so you guys don't do shows right?

CrownOfMagnets
March 18th 2012



2232 Comments


our drummer story is like that movie spinal tap.. our first drummer was skilled but he moved, then we had another guy who played some shows with us and left because we were too proggy or something. then this other dude said he'd join and we never heard from him.

i did the guitars/vocals/drums on this. the other dude in the band picture is sam, the bassist.

Once we find a new drummer we will play shows again.. it's been too long.

ohfoxxxycole
March 22nd 2012



4350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this ish is great

CrownOfMagnets
June 1st 2012



2232 Comments


new stuff in the works!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy