Modest Mouse
The Moon & Antarctica


5.0
classic

Review

by Sam Feldman USER (7 Reviews)
March 3rd, 2012 | 50 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: So long.

Isaac Brock breaks his jaw a few weeks before recording The Moon And Antarctica and the result is a sprawling masterpiece, soaked in atmosphere and profundity bleeding through its pores. Go Figure. Modest Mouse span across a galaxy of fifteen cosmic endeavors writing about the universe and how there is no heaven or hell. But on The Moon..., they've created their own hell to which there is no escape.

The Moon... is completely desolate, perfectly explaining its album title, what with the two loneliest places around and in the middle of them is Brock, lost at the ocean of space. It exists on the fringe, and by doing so creates a wonderful sense of comfort, as if a little cabin on the edge of the world that only you know about. Never before has Modest Mouse sounded so essential than here, escalating their pungent, moody indie rock into great heights. The Modest Mouse you know and love on The Lonesome Crowded West is still here but is incredibly hazy and freezing, being almost smothered by this quiet intensity that lurks in the untouched shadows of The Moon's many canyons. This is perfectly captured on the empty "The Cold Part". So long to this cold, cold part of the world, Brock whispers over soaked atmospherics, an empty field with trillions of stars above. That's the beauty of The Moon & Antarctica: after you get past the classic cuts here, there is still so much more to discover, another world filled with the darkest cellars to which the sun can never reach.



Recent reviews by this author
Death Grips The Money StoreThe National Boxer
Dead Bugs Of a FeatherDilute Grape Blueprints Pour Spinach Olive Grape
Pepe Deluxe Queen of the WaveRed Nightfall Red Nightfall
user ratings (1827)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
chambered69
March 3rd 2012


1253 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

one of my favorite albums ever man

Ponton
Emeritus
March 3rd 2012


5793 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

my hell comes from inside comes from inside myself

why fight this

ohfoxxxycole
March 3rd 2012


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fucking love mm

profoundword
March 3rd 2012


239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think I like Lonely Crowded West more, but this is still effing brilliant.

mvood
March 3rd 2012


818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

really good read, captures the album brilliantly.

In terms of mm albums I think personally this and Long Drive are joint at the top but this is far more consistent in terms of track quality.

Relinquished
March 3rd 2012


25045 Comments


KILLERBEE has spoken

eyehategod
March 3rd 2012


977 Comments


burp

Gyromania
March 3rd 2012


15702 Comments


But on The Moon..., they've created their own hell to which there is no escape.


...What the hell are you talking about?

Gyromania
March 3rd 2012


15702 Comments


Lol, man... I don't want to sound like an ass, but you missed the mark so badly here that it's kind of
funny. This album is a little bit cold, sure, but it's nowhere even remotely close to being as
'desolate' and 'freezing' as you make it out to be. And your descriptors of it being 'dismal', akin to
hell, etc., make me feel at times like you're describing a doom metal album.

fireaboveicebelow
March 3rd 2012


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do you just hate music so much that you have to mock it with this type of writing? It's not passionate, it just sounds like you wish you were. This isn't hellish, or desolate (there's notes aren't there?), or so cold there's no sun, there's lots of parts that are positive and uplifting. You are trying way too hard and then some. Even the band would tell you to chill out.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2012


50362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Best album ever
sup

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

Gyromania
March 3rd 2012


15702 Comments


"Paper Thin Walls" is my favourite.

plane
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2012


6094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I always took this album and Brock's admissions of douchebaggery as coming to understand what nature v. nurture does on a man, not necessarily how he goes about creating his own "hell." Almost as if he had to change ("took a lotta work...") because anyone can "easily fuck ya over." The world is cold, yeah, but this album?

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2012


15737 Comments


it's time to take a break sam

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2012


50362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck gotta spin this now

KILL
March 3rd 2012


71750 Comments


sweet review some metal bro

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Gyromania
March 3rd 2012


15702 Comments


After revisiting this album, I think "The Stars Are Projectors" might actually be my favourite. This is a damn near perfect record.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2012


50362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Alone Down There through Life Like Weeds is my favorite movement in music

iambandersnatch
March 3rd 2012


1480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm drinkin drinkin drinkin drinkin coca coca cola

Gyromania
March 3rd 2012


15702 Comments


I could never decide on a rating for this, but I've been listening to it for years and I've always loved it, plus there's great nostalgia in listening to most of this, so I think a 5/5 is pretty fitting.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy