The Roots
undun


2.5
average

Review

by Sam Feldman's Rating USER (66 Reviews)
December 29th, 2011 | 87 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An easy album to listen to.

I always expect or want an artist to not make it easy for me to appreciate his or her art. I like when music challenges me, the listener, as if the artist is daring me to like them. I've found the harder you have to work at something, the more embedded it will be into you, the more you will appreciate its existence, its fearlessness to not give in to you just so it will be liked. It's a relationship of sorts; two people exposing all that they are, the artist and the viewer, and if the other person doesn't like it, well so be it. it gives meaning to something, a battle not easily won. But come victory or loss, it will be memorable.

That's why undun is not a good record. Well, it is a good record, but therein lies the problem. It's an easy album to listen to; chilled-out hip-hop, catchy choruses, solid flow from Quest, semi-layered atmosphere and production. Hell, even "Lighthouse" is mystical in a way, reaching to the heavens. But none of this means anything because undun is completely and utterly harmless, cowering in its own fear of acceptance. It's a pretty album without question, but it floats by, unable to pierce anything, and in this light undun feels like nothing more than a copout. How I got Over worked because there was a certain power behind it, a slight ruggedness that worried less about quality and more about honesty.

So stands undun, an easy album to listen to but more importantly, an easy album to forget.



Recent reviews by this author
Women Public StrainHip Hatchet Coward's Luck
Two Door Cinema Club Tourist HistoryReal Estate Days
Jenny Hval VisceraDirty Beaches Badlands
user ratings (449)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2011


50951 Comments


yeah

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2011


50951 Comments


I haven't heard this
Should I?

MalleusMaleficarum
December 29th 2011


14392 Comments


no care

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I always expect or want an artist to not make it easy for me to appreciate his or her art. I like when music challenges me, the listener, as if the artist is daring me to like them. I've found the harder you have to work at something, the more embedded it will be into you, the more you will appreciate its existence, its fearlessness to not give in to you just so it will be liked

^ This explains your love for weird, shitty music.

That's why undun is not a good record. Well, it is a good record, but therein lies the problem. It's an easy album to listen to; chilled-out hip-hop, catchy choruses, solid flow from Quest, semi-layered atmosphere and production.

^ Thats called good music Chambered.

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Chambered listen to Game Theory and Things Fall Apart, both of those are masterpieces.

HenchmanOfSanta
December 29th 2011


1922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why isn't this just a soundoff? You spend all of one paragraph reviewing the album.

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its funny you dont like this because its too commercial and unchallenging when its their biggest project yet (the concept), and How I Got Over is catchy too.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2011


16910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Grammatically, this review is fine but I can't make any sense of your argument. Basically, you are saying if an album is easy to digest, it can't be good because you don't have to fight with yourself to like it.

Digging: Low Roar - 0

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Chambered is blazing at the moment, I forgive him.

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its all good Chambered, I just think its humurous how you ferouciously jerked off to a horseshit album like Shabazz Palaces and cant like a genius work like this because its too accessible.

Shabazz Palaces suck hard.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2011


16910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So then what is your reason for saying this is average? I'm sure you have one but I didn't get that from this review

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol Im not following. You say you dont like this because its too easy, which is the definition of accessible.

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dont worry Im just butthurt I love the Roots been jamming them hard lately.

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you dont like Kool On, stop listening to Hip Hop

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
December 29th 2011


16910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh ok...I don't know, it's pretty much just an unsupported opinion but you're normally pretty good so I'll let it slide

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Chambered if this wasnt you I would neg so hard

porch
December 29th 2011


8460 Comments


relaltionship


fix

this is alright i guess, pretty bland/middle of the road tho

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 29th 2011


4956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

pretty bad for a roots record.

AsoTamaki
December 29th 2011


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Basically, this sounds really good. But it's actually trying to sound good. Therefore, it cannot be a good album.

Right?

BigHans
December 29th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its not their best but its definitely better than The Tipping Point, Rising Down, How I Got Over, and Do You Want More imo. Probably Phrenology too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy