Radiohead
Kid A


4.5
superb

Review

by ednights USER (5 Reviews)
November 16th, 2011 | 21 replies | 2,401 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: At the least their most important album

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

In retrospect, Radiohead's greatest strength has been their ability to reinvent themselves with each successive album. Each sounds distinct; each has its own musical voice. Yet overall, the band have undergone a gradual transition from a predominantly guitar based band, to a band focused on sampling and electronic experimentation. On none of their albums is this more apparent than Kid A - a major turning point in their career.

Though Radiohead have always experimented, it's with Kid A that the boundaries between rock and electronica dissolved, paving the way for their more recent efforts. There are subtle elements of this in Ok Computer, but in Kid A it's far more prominent. Album opener Everything In Its Right place instantly sets the tone, a track consisting solely of synths with not a guitar in earshot. This continues with Kid A, a sort of techno lullaby that ushers in the birth of the band's new style. Then there's The National Anthem, which retains a grungy guitar sound and combines with a robotic sounding Yorke falsetto. How To Disappear Completely meanwile offers a ballad in acoustic Ok Computer vein punctuated with sampled effects, whilst the harp glissandi on Motion Picture Soundtrack are stunningly implemented. The real highlight of the album though is Idioteque, a rhythmically punchy track with Yorke's vocal sounding outright spectral.

This isn't a perfect album though. Treefingers has a faint whiff of ambient massage parlour music. And like much of Radiohead's output, the appeal of the album takes time to sink in, though perseverence is rewarding.

What's also important to note is the impact of this album not only on the band but on Yorke himself. Kid A was undoubtedly a major influence on his solo album The Eraser, which expanded on the electronic experimentation present here and later influenced the band's more recent albums.

As a whole, Kid A is less consistent and more experimental than both their previous and recent albums. But that in itself is the very essence of Radiohead's appeal. Kid A's fusion of rock and electronica captures a snapshot of a band in flux. It may not be their greatest album, but it's certainly the most important.


user ratings (5060)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

not a 5. gtfo.

good review though

Timmons
November 16th 2011



561 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

awh i wish i wasn't 6 when this came out, i wanted to be part of the hype, confusion and eventually critical acclaim of this

FruityCatOfDoom
November 16th 2011



2077 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review, and I agree that this album is not a 5. Though this album is even more amazing to sit down and take it in as a whole I think. Its a weird Thom Yorke space journey.

DirEnRefused
November 16th 2011



2134 Comments


there are better musicians on this album than thom.

YetAnotherBrick
November 16th 2011



4399 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"awh i wish i wasn't 6 when this came out, i wanted to be part of the hype, confusion and eventually critical acclaim of this"

this so hard.

Review is not at all necessary, but pretty good nonetheless. Album is increeeeedible

Nomad
November 16th 2011



247 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Noticed that this is slowly climbing up the all-time RYM rankings. Up to 15th now - 14 places to go.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2011



49802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

summary could use a comma

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

foxblood
November 16th 2011



6797 Comments


so many 5's

InAbsentia
November 16th 2011



3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review. Album is a definite 5, but 4.5 is very respectable too.

NigelH
November 16th 2011



1571 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

good review. my mom gave me this for my birthday when i was 10. i thought it was shit. silly 10 year olds.

InAbsentia
November 16th 2011



3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your mom is awesome.

pizzamachine
November 16th 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol what a mom joke

dammets
November 16th 2011



2035 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

As of right now, Ok Computer is better.

InAbsentia
November 16th 2011



3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Naaah. OK Computer is overrated as fuck.

AGuyIsWatchingYou
November 16th 2011



907 Comments


Kid A >> OK Computer

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011



30893 Comments


electronica dissolved,


neg

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

iambandersnatch
November 16th 2011



1466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Idk why something that already had 13 reviews needed another, esp. if it's one that agrees with the rest.. but solid + concise nonetheless.

@ the discussion, I think it's really hard to compare OK Computer and Kid A because (to use the tired analogy) it really is like comparing apples and oranges. I think Kid A has less mistakes or "subpar spots" in it than OK Computer, but OK Computer has better high points. If I haddd to choose I guess I would go OK Computer because it has Airbag +Paranoid Android+SHA, which is probably my favorite 3 songs in a row from Radiohead on any album.

Metamorphosis
November 16th 2011



420 Comments


Good review. Interesting that this is the only 4.5 review of this album.

Drsmith4
November 16th 2011



1712 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Best album ever.

Last time I'll say it.

kingjulian
November 16th 2011



1297 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Their best album for sure. Review is good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy