Insomnium
One for Sorrow


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
October 11th, 2011 | 143 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Insomnium have crafted their most diverse and complete album to date. Just about everything has been improved upon and the result is one of the best releases in their history.

When the press release for Insomnium’s fifth album, One for Sorrow, gushed about how diverse the album was and how it was ‘a new breath of versatility’, I was a bit skeptical. Don’t get me wrong, Insomnium are a great (and very consistent) melodic death metal band, but if there is one thing that they’ve never been accused of, it’s being diverse. The first song released from the album, “Unsung”, seemed to confirm that the talks of diversity were nothing more than hype. Upon first glance, “Unsung” didn’t really seem to feature anything that Insomnium hadn’t already beat to death years ago. It had the standard cyclical melodies, the token clean vocals and the generic backing riffs, but there were a few things that stood out, as well. The most immediate difference was that the death vocals seemed more powerful than on previous releases; lending a bit of aggression that the band had often lacked. Careful listening also revealed that the melodies were much more layered than the basic leads that made up most previous albums. After hearing the album in its entirety, it turns out that One for Sorrow really is a fairly diverse album (by Insomnium standards), as well as the first big stylistic leap in quite a long time.

A lot of the stylistic enhancements can be attributed to the increased emphasis on creating full, dense melodies that often rely on multiple layers to create the final product. This is generally achieved by intertwining two slightly different guitar leads over a subtle layer of keyboards that are also providing a variation on the same theme which, when combined, create one final uniform melodic lead. It’s not just the melodies that have become a bit more diverse and dynamic, but the songs themselves, too. There are very few instances (if any) on this album where a song will stagnate after the first few minutes. Throughout each track, there are generally a handful of different moods, tempos and melodies that lend each track an epic atmosphere and a stronger feeling of movement that never succumbs to the cyclical repetitiveness that sometimes plagued previous releases. This diversity is also what allows each song to maintain more of its own identity than past efforts. In the past, it seemed as though just about every song was played at basically the same speed, but that’s not the case anymore. The songs on One for Sorrow run the gamut from the serenity of “Decoherence”, to the standard moderate pace of “Unsung” to the quick tempos of “Song of the Blackest Bird” (which does seem to take some influence from a band with a similar song title). Overall, this breadth of diversity is a welcome addition that lends the album a replay-factor that was generally missing from previous releases.

Most fans were probably okay with Insomnium releasing variations of the same album over and over, but One for Sorrow proves that they have it in them to be much more ambitious without missing a step. Yes, the songs are still based around huge, hooky, melodies but they’ve grown into full-fledged, epic centerpieces that don’t suffer from the repetition that came with their more simplistic predecessors. The tempos, too, have been expanded to the point that each track can really stand on its own with an increased emphasis on speed, heavy riffs and dynamic shifts. About the only thing to not be improved ten-fold are the clean vocals which still feel tacked on and a bit throw-away, but they’re used so sparingly (three songs?) that they’re just about a non-issue. With the release of One for Sorrow, Insomnium have finally made the first big stylistic improvement to their sound, and with it have given their fans an album that will actually be surprising without losing its core foundation.



Recent reviews by this author
Sick of It All The Last Act of DefianceMeshuggah I (Special Edition)
Cannibal Corpse A Skeletal DomainRabbit Junk Pop That Pretty Thirty
Anathema Distant SatellitesFlotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014
user ratings (389)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Kyle Ward STAFF (3.5)
Going home in another direction...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album Stream:

http://www.inferno.fi/inferno-tarjoaa-kuuntele-uusi-insomnium-levy-6156/



Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

SatansPlayground
October 11th 2011


194 Comments


ugh this band the summary kinda has me a little interested though

TheSpirit
October 11th 2011


17883 Comments


Crysis - 1, Willie - 0

Digging: Wreodan Heahl - Laecig

Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Crysis - 1, Willie - 0
I suck again!

i might have to look into this i was expecting negative reception, but guess not!
I was expecting to write a negative or at least disappiointed review like I did for their last album, but they've stepped up. It's an album that will take a few listens to really let the dense melodies and transitional parts sink in.

seedofnothing
October 11th 2011


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"and the result is one of the best releases in their history"

i own everyone of their cd's and I couldn't even stand listening to this, it bore the hell out of me and I appreciate melo-death but i got a really generic feeling from this album

im getting no wow factor or any sense of progression, rather it now sounds like their trying too hard, i respect the band but this cd for me was a major dissapointment

TheSpirit
October 11th 2011


17883 Comments


you don't suck willie this is a great review

Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i own everyone of their cd's and I couldn't even stand listening to this, it bore the hell out of my and I appreciate melo-death but i got a really generic feeling from this album

im getting no wow factor or any sense of progression, rather it now sounds like their trying to hard, i respect the band but this cd for me was a major dissapointment
You might be one of those people that really liked the instant, simple leads of the previous albums, then. The line "they're trying too hard" (spelling fixed to make things clearer) in your post seems to imply that you'd prefer the simple, cyclical formula.

you don't suck willie this is a great review
I'm a bit lost on the score, then.

Gyromania
October 11th 2011


15791 Comments


Great review, Trey. I'll give this a shot.

Also, that album art is wicked cool.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

TheSpirit
October 11th 2011


17883 Comments


I'm a bit lost on the score, then.


i guess we can consider this one a draw

Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess what I'm saying is that I have no idea what's being scored.

TheSpirit
October 11th 2011


17883 Comments


i guess what im saying is it could be anything everything...? didn't really put that much thought into it...

seedofnothing
October 11th 2011


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"You might be one of those people that really liked the instant, simple leads of the previous albums, then. The line "they're trying too hard" (spelling fixed to make things clearer) in your post seems to imply that you'd prefer the simple, cyclical formula."

Thanks for the fix, I liked since the day it all came down. the track
"Disengagement" was imo their best song in all they have to offer.

I felt Since the Day it all came down had a lot of technicality in the composition department and that to me is more valuable from a musician's standpoint.

I was thoroughly moved by that album, I wish I could say the same about One for Sorrow

The instant simple leads on In the Halls did not move me, but I found it more enjoyable then the new one


Tyrael
October 11th 2011


20883 Comments


Great review Willie, even though this doesn't quite match the awesomeness of Above The Weeping World or Since the Day It All Came Down for me...

But yeah great work man

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Vesper
October 11th 2011


3085 Comments


I guess what I'm saying is that I have no idea what's being scored.


Although Spirit doesn't seem to know himself, lol, I thought the score was an imaginary bet between Willie's skepticism and Crysis's faithful fanboyism.

Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I felt like Since the Day it All Came Down was the band being the one-trick pony that they've always seemed to be. Yeah, the leads were more complete than on In the Halls but they were still very repetitive and they weren't all that different from one another, IMO.

TheSpirit
October 11th 2011


17883 Comments


Although Spirit doesn't seem to know himself, lol, I thought the score was an imaginary bet between Willie's skepticism and Crysis's faithful fanboyism.



!!!!

seedofnothing
October 11th 2011


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"but they were still very repetitive and they weren't all that different from one another, IMO."

I respect your imo, I'm glad they could create a cd that made you feel otherwise

Willie
Moderator
October 11th 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I respect your imo, I'm glad they could create a cd that made you feel you feel otherwise
Me too ;)

seedofnothing
October 11th 2011


3425 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I do admit that first impressions are sometimes misguided based on mood ect., so I'm sure I'll give her another couple runs, as I really want to like this. Hopefully my first impression will change.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed your review bro

I will not rate this album until I've given it at least 3 solid listens. Insomnium at least
deserves that from me

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2011


16410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a 3.75 for me for reasons that will be detailed in my forthcoming review ;)

There are just some very glaring faults with this album and the majority of it leans in the direction I like least about this band.

Regardless, the album is still very good.

In the past, it seemed as though just about every song was played at basically the same speed, but that’s not the case anymore.

I disagree with this wholeheartedly. In fact, this album is played at the same general tempo for the vast majority of it.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy