Alcest
Le Secret (Re-release)


4.5
superb

Review

by BigHans USER (108 Reviews)
August 17th, 2011 | 98 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is a good album.

Because we are talking about a shoegaze/black metal hybrid here and this record is absolutely gorgeous, I could pontificate ad-nauseum with wistful metaphors to describe the borderline transcendent power of this music. I could proclaim loudly how “Le Secret” and “Elevation” have these slow building epic soundscapes that remind you of strolling through a tranquil forest in autumn astride a mighty unicorn or some ridiculously corny sh*t like that. I could regale you all with sweeping prose about the majestic power and beauty on display here, how it’s like wondering into some Goddamn cave with dripping water made even more awesome by piercing sunlight or some overpoweringly pretentious sh*t of the like.

Instead let’s just get straight to the damn point, because I don’t really know that much about blast beats and tremolo picking and am not going to waste anybody’s time trying to describe the black metal influences vs shogaze in any kind of focused, linear way. This EP has 4 tracks and two songs, with two versions of each, an original from 2006 and a re-recorded version from this year. The re-recorded ones are infinitely better in their production and are thus vastly superior overall, although the originals are strong in their own right, maybe even better if you enjoy sh*ttier production. “Le Secret” is mostly a shoegaze track with angelic vocals and a driving sense of melody, and it’s a damn good song. “Elevation” is probably one of the greatest songs I’ve ever heard. It’s about 14 minutes long, and it’s astoundingly gorgeous. I can’t tell you if this is better than their last full-length although “Elevation” is absolutely better than anything on that album. Even if you hate black metal, shoegaze, the French, or think you’re too manly to listen to something that makes you want to careen through a glistening dewy meadow wearing sparkly stuff or some reprehensibly gay sh*t like that, you should probably at least give this a try.



Recent reviews by this author
The Hold Steady Teeth DreamsPaw Dragline
Drive-by Truckers English OceansRanger Knights of Darkness
Grim Reaper Rock You To HellMachine Head Machine Fucking Head Live
user ratings (92)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
feanaro (4)
This is where it all began....


Comments:Add a Comment 
BigHans
August 17th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

best review ever.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2011


19067 Comments


Wow a 4.5?

Digging: Objekt - Objekt #2

BigHans
August 17th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The re-recorded version of Elevation is absolutely Godly, so had to 4.5 it.

TheSpirit
August 17th 2011


18001 Comments


yes

Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version

BigHans
August 17th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I just listened to this for the first time 45 minutes ago and wrote this in 5 minutes, lets just say I was inspired.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2011


19067 Comments


Hmmmm, interesting. I'll have to give this a listen now, i was just going to forget about it.

psykonaut
August 17th 2011


3913 Comments


cool shit, i'll have to get this.

Tyrael
August 17th 2011


20971 Comments


Crazy summary Hans

BigHans
August 17th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thanks Tyrael, the idea behind this review was 1. getting to the point, and 2. kind of making fun of how people normally review albums like this.

fsharptrit0ne
August 17th 2011


4815 Comments


so basically the rerecording of Elevation is 10x better then the original?

BigHans
August 17th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well Ive only listened to each one like twice so I dont know if Id go that far but yeah its certainly better definitely give it a shot.

Tyrael
August 17th 2011


20971 Comments


Haha, you're probably one of the few sputnikers that can get away with this kind of review ^^

Well done! Have a pos.

SeaAnemone
August 17th 2011


20970 Comments


reprehensible gay shit

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

BigHans
August 17th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

haha yeah this isnt a good review but honestly its hard to do better in 5 minutes.

Anyway my last two reviews have been Death and Black metal WHAT IS GOING ON

SeaAnemone
August 17th 2011


20970 Comments


homophobic slurs are like the new "pretentious"

edit: oh wait no you used "pretentious" in the review too, fuck

BigHans
August 17th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yep, gotcha Sea

BigHans
August 17th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

K I just listened to both versions of Elevation again and yes the re-recorded one is at least 10 times better.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2011


24098 Comments


haha i love the summary, pos

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

Tyrael
August 17th 2011


20971 Comments


Anyway my last two reviews have been Death and Black metal WHAT IS GOING ON

Next stop: crunkcore

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2011


19067 Comments


No he means hes actually reviewing GOOD music.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy