Sevendust
Sevendust


5.0
classic

Review

by thejon93rd USER (28 Reviews)
July 21st, 2011 | 44 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The best debut LP ever.

Sevendust is one of those bands that have been around for a while, and yet, still not a lot of people know about their existence. Why might most people not know them? Maybe because they have never once sold themselves out to make a profit. The band is a rare one because their music is both entertaining to listen to and layered.

"Black" is the introductory song to this record and it is one of the best album openers of all-time. Featuring front man Lajon Witherspoon's deep and edgy vocals, this is a song about racism towards black people and it is pulled off with steady aggression and powerful guitar and bass work. The track works in the way that Pearl Jam's "Once" opener for Ten worked: its simplistic lyrics go to describe a man who's on the edge and has an internal rage that's ready to be released. "Black" is about a black man entering a white man's world only to be hated because of his appearance. It's a powerful song that never fails to allow an audience to relate towards it.

The album as a whole is a treasure trove of wonderfully, wholly-realized tracks that unravel various themes of drug-addiction, depression, etc. "Wired" is the most intense track on the record with some of the most infectious lyrics ever brought to reality: "Lock my door / Close my blinds / I want to be by myself / What's that thing you put in your nose? / Can I have some?!" As I said, the track is the most intense on the record and it's surely helped by Morgan Rose's one-two punch drumming near the track's intro and Clint Lowery's backing-vocals during the songs one word chorus ("Wired!").

"Too Close To Hate" is a pulsating track with some lovely drumming taps to introduce the somewhat laid-back track that relies mainly on Lajon's powerful vocals. The song has a simple set of lyrics, largely repeating various lines like "I'm still stuck inside" and "now I feel it in my head again", to empathize the feeling of isolation and solitude. As previously stated, this album is largely built on themes relating to some sort of pain and anger. "Face" is essentially a continuation of "Wired", somewhere along the beginning Lajon introduces "Come along with me on an acid trip" and the music helps in an atmospheric sense. The opening is most effective, with a variety of rich sounds ranging from blowing steam, eerie wind and static-effects. It is yet another powerful track that nicely progresses into "Speak".

The album ends on "Born to Die" which allows Lajon to display his limbo skills. The song takes an incredible turn when Lowery jumps into the chorus with Lajon, screaming "Born to die!" as ferociously as humanly possible. Intense is what it is. Intensity-driven all the way with not a clue of songs pandering towards the radio crowd, Sevendust's self-titled debut is one for the ages. Often heart-wrenching in its lyrical depth and equally headbanging in its glorious riffs, drumming kicks and marvelous vocals, Sevendust crafts a memorable piece of metal-rock art.



Recent reviews by this author
Sevendust Black Out the SunBig Wreck Albatross
Lo-Pro The Beautiful Sounds of RevengePearl Jam Vs.
Cold 13 Ways to Bleed On StageCold Year Of The Spider
user ratings (241)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2011


21971 Comments


some of the claims you make here
"The band is a rare one because their music is both fun to listen to and layered."

Parallels
July 21st 2011


6641 Comments


youve convinced me to stay very far away from this band

BigHans
July 21st 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

holy shit this didnt have a review? Not a 5 but solid.

I CANT IMAGINEEEEEEEE TO BE LIKE YOU

THE PAIN AND THE SUFFERIN YOU PUT ME THROUGHHHHHHH

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2011


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Their 2nd album, Home, is amazing. I'm not high on this one though.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

AfterTheBreakdown
July 21st 2011


7147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cd rules. And nice review. Pos'd

ManintheBox
July 21st 2011


867 Comments


Good review, is this release any better than cold day memory at all? admitidley that release bored the shit out of me towards the end. Still a solid 3 though.

AfterTheBreakdown
July 21st 2011


7147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this is better.

tiesthatbind
July 21st 2011


7374 Comments


This is my least favorite from Sevendust. Great band though.

Digging: xSPONGEXCOREx - How Tough Are Yah?

FrankRedHot
July 21st 2011


6448 Comments


"Sevendust is one of those bands that have been around for a while, and yet, still not a lot of people know about their existence"

Ummmm, what?!?!

"The best debut LP ever."

Hyperbole doesn't sell albums


Review is okay, but you need to put aside your bias.

Apollo
July 21st 2011


10316 Comments


this review is awful

FrankRedHot
July 21st 2011


6448 Comments


"Frank, I'm not trying to sell the album... that's just my opinion on the overall product. What do you mean by "put aside your bias"?"

If you weren't trying to sell the album, you wouldn't write a positive review for it.

FrankRedHot
July 21st 2011


6448 Comments


"Well, if you put it like that then I am trying to sell the album. But what do you mean by "put aside your bias"? How can I do that?"

By not writing a fanboy-ish review with infantile, untrue claims like "The Best Debut LP Ever." It comes off like you love the band too much to truly review this properly. Your review is more a product of your blind love for the band rather than an unbias look at the release.

FrankRedHot
July 21st 2011


6448 Comments


Hyperbole doesn't help your case, neither.

FrankRedHot
July 21st 2011


6448 Comments


"I see what you mean. But, since you made an estimate of my particular taste in music, I'm going to say you're wrong with your "blind love" statement. I've enjoyed listening to this album since 2004. This and Animosity is what got me interested in the band and I have been ever since. I enjoyed this album immensely because I've never heard anything like it before and I can relate to a lot of the themes they present within their songs. When you say "untrue claims", you have to take into account that this is my opinion and not yours. If you don't like it, that's fine. I will do my best to make it read less "fanboy-ish" next time."

I didn't make any estimate of your particular taste in music. In fact,I didn't comment on your taste at all. I was talking about the review, but go ahead and over-complicate it all you want.

FrankRedHot
July 21st 2011


6448 Comments


The purpose of the comment section on reviews is to critique the review. If you can't take the negative, then don't write reviews on Sputnik.

FrankRedHot
July 21st 2011


6448 Comments


On this account I haven't, idiot. You really want me to embarrass you like this?

Apollo
July 21st 2011


10316 Comments


lol a 5

pizzamachine
July 21st 2011


12571 Comments


Here's some CONSTRUCTIVE criticism for you:

The best debut LP ever.

An overblown statement.

and yet, still not a lot of people know about their existence

It's cool to have your opinion, but the statement is too general to put in your review (plus I could argue the opposite: that a lot of people know about Sevendust).

The band is a rare one because their music is both entertaining to listen to and layered.

I can name loads of bands that are both entertaining and have "layered" music. Another general statement!

and it is one of the best album openers of all-time.

An overblown statement.

with some of the most infectious lyrics ever brought to reality

An overblown statement.



Also, the review could have used descriptions of the sound of the album as a whole. Examples: How is this album different from their other albums? What makes this album better than other albums of this genre? Stuff like that.

Ultimately the review is fairly well-written, but try to keep the general, overblown statements to a minimum.

FrankRedHot
July 21st 2011


6448 Comments


I actually tried to be nice to the guy and he decided to act like an asshole. Shows what happens when the Pitter quits being such a Shitter.

Inveigh
July 21st 2011


25019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol and I was just about to comment about how civil this discussion was remaining



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy