Quinoline Yellow
Dol-Goy Assist


3.5
great

Review

by Zettel USER (37 Reviews)
June 15th, 2011 | 13 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


It is really hard to describe Quinoline Yellow’s sound. The music on his first and only LP is like nothing else, an accomplishment in itself, especially when in the Glitch/Abstract/IDM style you are constantly working under the gigantic shadow of Autechre. Quinoline wants no piece of that. After a few great EPs in which he has progressively developed a sound of his own, Dol-Goy Assist is a deliciously and refreshingly unique piece of work at every step. The album is an indescribable combination of fractured beats, unusual rhythms and orchestrated weird sounds. There are melodies to be found here, but they are delivered by the strangest sources, giving the album a constant otherworldly vibe. Nothing here is ever conventional. Even when Quinoline tries ambient he does it in his own terms, presenting twisted pieces that somehow remain relatively accessible.

Dol-Goy Assist, simply put, sounds like a hacked computer; but a hacked computer that makes organized and sophisticated noises. You can spend hours analyzing the music and the way it was produced and put together; it is truly that rich. There is no denying that Quinoline Yellow has a clear vision of what he wants to create. Unfortunately, the experience may be fascinating but it is hardly enjoyable. It is difficult to follow at any given moment, and, even when there is a sense of structure, the sound is so abstract that fails to establish a true connection with the listener. Nothing could be more cold and mechanical. All of this is clearly intentional, but it will not appeal to everyone. From a technical and creative standpoint the album is truly spectacular, but sometimes you need more that musical merits to have a great album. In that respect, it has limited replay value. Despite all this, anyone interested in seeing how far you can take glitch and abstract music, you certainly do not want to miss this small broken symphony of bizarre sounds. It is almost essential.



Recent reviews by this author
Fhloston Paradigm The PhoenixIntegral Sercosa
Field Rotation Acoustic TalesCristian Vogel All Music Has Come To An End
Saschienne UnknownPleq My Life Begins Today
user ratings (1)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zettel
June 15th 2011


598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is the first of a small series of quick reviews of albums that probably no one cares about, but deserve some attention.

Jethro42
June 16th 2011


12456 Comments


Intriguing enough to give it a try. Review is superb, as expected. Short and sweet and effective.

Zettel
June 16th 2011


598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am humbled by your comments, especially when I consider you a very good reviewer, certainly superior to me. I feel my writing very weak these days, but your words lighten me up a bit. Thanks for reading.

Jethro42
June 16th 2011


12456 Comments


Please stop that excess of modesty Zettel, dude. You are an excellent writer as you know it. Plus you never hesitate to give some constructive criticism here and there, and that's all in your honor. As for my writing (under the ProgJect account of course), I'm flattered and I thank you a bunch but I have to give credit to the magic touch of Nagrarok, don't you forget.

Zettel
June 17th 2011


598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As for my writing (under the ProgJect account of course), I'm flattered and I thank you a bunch but I have to give credit to the magic touch of Nagrarok, don't you forget.


Là! Et tu parles de la modestie...si j'avais la chance de lire tes critiques en francais, je ne crois pas que je changerais mon opinion sur ton habileté en écriture. Nag travaille sur des idées déjà claires et organisées, je suis sûr, et voilà la qualité la plus importante. Mais assez de compliments ;-)


Jethro42
June 17th 2011


12456 Comments


Bingo! You have a good 6th sense, dude. I have to say that I am a writing lover. Since forever. And if I was on Sputnikfrançais.com, I would have written an army of reviews, no doubt. Damn dude, you fucking impress me by the quality of your French. I already knew you were good at it. But there you speak like a real francophone! But yeah, enough compliments haha. I think you didn't see this before;
http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/39684/Harmonium-Si-On-Avait-Besoin-dune-5eme-Saison/

Zettel
June 17th 2011


598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How I missed that one? I was not wrong, my friend. I can see the core of ProgJect right there. Now, if you do not mind, could I break down some parts of your review, so you could explain me some expressions and selection of verb times? My Frech is still not that great, and I cannot miss the chance to study a work by some real francophone.

Jethro42
June 17th 2011


12456 Comments


Man...Let's do a cultural exchange; if ever I had hard times with English, I'd let you know (God knows I have my amount of difficulties with my verbs and stuff). Feel free to do the same. That way, perhaps could we become bi-lingual at the same time in the end, haha.

Zettel
June 17th 2011


598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As always, you are too kind. There is no hurry in answering my doubts, so feel free to take the time you need. Maybe tomorrow I will post them in your review. Thanks again.

Oh, and as far as I can tell, your english is as good as mine. I will gladly help you in what you need, just remember English is not my first language either.

Jethro42
June 17th 2011


12456 Comments


No problem, there is enough room in my thread to share it all. It's really a pleasure for me ya know. Like I told you, I love to write and whatever is related to it, so helping people into it is natural for me. I thought English was your mother tongue, really.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2011


7307 Comments


Great review. Second paragraph is particularly eloquent. Have a well-deserved pos; I for one am looking forward to the next review in the series you mention here.

Minor niggle: After a few great EP’s in which he has progressively developed a sound of his own, Dol-Goy Assist is a deliciously and refreshingly unique piece of work at every step.

You don't need the apostrophe - you're trying to say the plural, not the possessive.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Zettel
June 19th 2011


598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for pointing that out, Irving.

It is great that you liked the review, since you are so hard to please. I planned to write some quick reviews, it is true, but Jethro got me distracted, hahaha. I am trying to re-discover my love for writing on music, so that is really the idea behind it all. I just cannot write anymore.

Nice to see you around.

Jethro42
June 19th 2011


12456 Comments


Dude if distracting you can help for getting you back to writing, well mission accomplie!
=]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy