Sylosis
Edge of the Earth


4.0
excellent

Review

by JM USER (2 Reviews)
March 28th, 2011 | 19 replies | 4,121 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Thrash lives on, fresh and evolved"

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

If you consider yourself a fan of the current Melodic Thrash/Death scene, you ought to be familiar with Sylosis. The band is now back with a slightly different line-up and a fresh dose of unrelenting aggression, showing vast improvement from their debut album.

There’s also improvement on the vocal department, as Josh Middleton’s voice seems to fit the music perfectly. Their “new” sound retains their Thrash influence but this time with traces of Prog and Groove metal. Also, there is plenty of guitar playing on here to make all those guitar nerds freak out, just listen to “Procession” or “Where The Sky Ends”.

As for the album itself, Edge Of The Earth certainly starts strong enough with a soft instrumental intro, and it’s not long until the technical guitar parts are introduced, but this time to a further level. The songs flow together really well, and the occasional melodic interludes normally offer us 2/3 minutes to give our ears and necks some rest. Even a cursory listen to this album will expose you to an immense amount of nasty riffs. The drumming is crisp and well-suited, but it definitely takes a noticeable backseat throughout the album, as the most memorable parts are usually created by Sylosis’ guitarists.

Just as the music, the production is phenomenal, you can hear every single note, harmony, solo, sweep and everything else. However as you must know, there is no album without its flaws.

There’s nothing like a punchy, short and aggressive Thrash album. And Edge Of The Earth is nothing like a short album. Instead it kicks your ass for more than 70 minutes and after a few listens I found myself tired from the album by the eleventh song. That’s not to say that there is any filler on here. Despite its lenght, every song is incredibly good and the quality of Sylosis’ music is maintained throughout the CD.

In general, when listening to much of the new metal these days, most bands tend to have 3-4 good tracks and the rest of the album tends to be filler material that is just boring and not good for a live set. However, in the case of this album, every single track feels like it belongs and is certainly not filler.

To conclude, this is an excellent album from one of the brightest talents coming out of Britain, as the band got rid of the Metalcore elements in their music and perfected their formula with a much more mature sound.


Recommended Tracks:

- Procession
- A Serpent's Tongue
- Awakening
- Where The Sky Ends
- Altered States Of Consciousness
- Eclipsed


user ratings (363)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
KILL (2)
faux thrash...

GLaDOS (4.5)
A modern thrash classic with all the heart and soul of some of the best Bay Area thrash bands and a ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
devildriver2
March 28th 2011



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pos'd

Album is a masterpiece

05McDonaldT
March 28th 2011



268 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^there's a lot that's progressive about this, particularly the title track. Brilliant album and review

FirstLight
March 28th 2011



17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some songs have Progressive traces, that's what i meant, this is not a prog album by any means.

05McDonaldT thanks, this is my first review.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2011



6937 Comments


A couple of spelling errors but a good review nonetheless, pos. Did you write this up using word or something? It's a quick way to elimate spelling errors and acts as a copy if the review does not load correctly.

FirstLight
March 28th 2011



17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes i used word, but i'm not a native speaker so i knew it wouldn't be 100% correct.

Thanks for the positive replies

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2011



6937 Comments


fair enough. keep writing.

bloc
March 28th 2011



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Album rocks

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 28th 2011



6937 Comments


Band Rocks/Thrashes Hard.

iwubmoosik
March 28th 2011



386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"@mcdonald if youre talking about a couple acoustic intros/outros and a little bit of synth work, that doesnt classify as progressive, if thats what youre getting at.
"

this is correct, because there isnt enough WANKERY in those parts.

south_of_heaven 11
March 28th 2011



5433 Comments


wish the vocals werent so meh

TBliss
March 29th 2011



987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rockin rock music

sexpoi
March 31st 2011



599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a sweet album. solid improvement form their last. 2011 is shaping up to be quite a good year in metal. and god forbid there isn't a shitload of wankery on the album and actual riffs exist on it, Detriment. i'm fairly sure he meant progressive in the sense that it is different than other bands in the thrash scene

Polymath
March 31st 2011



3836 Comments


Melodic Progressive Thrashcore sounds good to me

PurpleDino
April 4th 2011



3049 Comments


Its progressive in the sense that the song structures arent formulaic and there are many different parts to each song that flow and progress into one another often reaching a climax at the end

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2011



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening to this now. So far it's pretty good.

sexpoi
April 11th 2011



599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol at detriment for thinking that people care wtf he thinks. go pretend u know what the fuck ur talking about somewhere else u fuckin cum spunge. and i wasn't saying that it had to have wankery to be progressive. learn how to fucking read and u would realize that i said it' DIDN'T have to have wankery to be progressive.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011



6937 Comments


Why such hostility?

south_of_heaven 11
April 11th 2011



5433 Comments


Volcano's "Violent" is pretty much the only album that got melo-thrash right.

sexpoi
April 12th 2011



599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

totally man. i totally care. everything i said was a lie and venting helps me not go on rampages



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy