Radiohead
The King of Limbs


3.5
great

Review

by ThePalaceOfWisemen USER (1 Reviews)
February 22nd, 2011 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist


Radiohead has been one of the most influential and critically acclaimed band for almost 20 years. Every album they have made brings something new to the table. Wether its the pop rock of the bends to the sonic landscape that is OK Computer they have always been moving music forward. I feel that this album does lean back to what they have known but also exploring some new territory. Through its textures and loops you can feel a mix of there last three records before it. The band always tries something new but they fell a little short from the darring music that I fell in love with.
I can also hear bits of Thom Yorke's solo album "The Eraser" in the "King of Limbs" so I dont know if the band is coming together fully as a whole rather then Thom pulling the strings.

The album in many ways is dense and layered with loop upon loop. Making it a very catchy and groovy sort of atmosphere. Mixed with echo and distortion effects with Thoms vocals makes it haunting yet beautiful at the same time. They tracks are also very dense for multiple listens and you can always pick out something in each track. Which I have always liked about Radiohead is that the songs never get old after repeated listens. This means its well produced and very complicated musically. To make textures to provoke such imagery is genius. Sonically I think this record is at the same level as Kid A was. Only that it has hints of "In Rainbows". Which is the perfect combination of sexy and haunting.

Some key tracks I would say are "Lotus Flower". Phils percussion is superb and has improved from past efforts. Thom's falsetto is nothing short of beautiful and has never sang that high. They hit there stride and keep it going with "Codex". I feel like this is a perfection of "Sail to the moon" which I thought fell short. It grabs you and takes you in while you close your eyes and the rest of the world passes you by. The best transition from the birds chirping into "Give up the Ghost". You feel like your floating and then the acoustic guitar comes in with Thoms layered vocals. Paints a perfect picture of imagery which makes me feel that this album is almost complete. Although it falls short with the closing track "Separator" because I feel like it ends awkwardly. It leaves me in sort of an empty feeling so this is why the album as a whole falls short. I feel for an eight track album there is just to much filler and I know Radiohead can do better then this. Let us pray that this is not the end of this album. There is speculation for another side of this to complete a close but no cigar album.


user ratings (2595)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
cvlts
February 22nd 2011


8968 Comments


aawwww! was hoping...

TheSpirit
February 22nd 2011


17940 Comments


I thought this was him too. Damn..

Foxhound
February 22nd 2011


4570 Comments


mistake in first sentence

ThePalaceOfWisemen
February 22nd 2011


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I said almost 20 years close enough.

climactic
February 22nd 2011


19528 Comments


thats not what he's talking about

SCREAM!
February 22nd 2011


10255 Comments


Only reason i clicked on this was cause i thought it was ThePalaceOfWisdom

Now all i have to say is: Damnit not another King Of Limbs review

WashboardSuds
February 22nd 2011


5025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Radiohead has been one of the most influential and critically acclaimed band for almost 20 years

change that to "bands"

that said, how many reviews can this fucking record get

foreverendeared
February 22nd 2011


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Okay review. Tons of grammatical mistakes, though.

WashboardSuds
February 22nd 2011


5025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album in many ways is dense and layered with loop upon loop. Making it a very catchy and groovy sort of atmosphere.

combine these sentences with a comma
Sonically I think this record is at the same level as Kid A was. Only that it has hints of "In Rainbows". Which is the perfect combination of sexy and haunting./quote]
Same thing here, combine all 3
[quote]Mixed with echo and distortion effects with Thoms vocals makes it haunting yet beautiful at the same time

should be "Thom's"
Phils percussion

Phil's

there are several other capitalization and grammer issues, but overall this review reads fine, especially for a first. keep writing, and have a pos

rmill3r
February 22nd 2011


167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I put up my Andrew Bird review and get no pos's (or even negs) and no comments, and you put up a King of Limbs review and in seconds you're already breaching a debate. Goddamnit! Fuck you!

Besides that, review has too many errors. It's not bad, just proof read first...

rmill3r
February 22nd 2011


167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Scratch that. WAY too many errors.

whywontyoudie
February 22nd 2011


3063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

more reviews are necessary.

WashboardSuds
February 22nd 2011


5025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I put up my Andrew Bird review and get no pos's (or even negs) and no comments, and you put up a King of Limbs review and in seconds you're already breaching a debate. Goddamnit! Fuck you!

who's Andrew Bird?

rmill3r
February 22nd 2011


167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

meh heh heh

Captain Civic
February 22nd 2011


280 Comments


...

whywontyoudie
February 22nd 2011


3063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"who's Andrew Bird?"

possibly a relative of Big Bird.


theacademy
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


28700 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

only clicked because i thought it was palaceofwisdom

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

WashboardSuds
February 22nd 2011


5025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

possibly a relative of Big Bird.

i thought big bird was elmo's godbird

iFghtffyrdmns
February 22nd 2011


7047 Comments


make....it.....stop.

fr33convict
February 22nd 2011


11697 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

only clicked because i thought it was palaceofwisdom[36]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy