Jimmy Eat World
Invented


3.5
great

Review

by Mike Stagno EMERITUS
September 28th, 2010 | 227 replies | 30,905 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Jimmy Eat World rein themselves in, but they're still a lot of fun.

Perhaps Chase This Light was a little too upbeat for Jimmy Eat World. They'd done fun, optimistic tunes before, of course (and rather well at that), but Chase This Light took the theme and ran with it. In and of itself, this isn't a bad really thing; the record features a number of slick pop songs, and it's wonderful if Jim Adkins is as happy as he sounds in "Big Casino". But in ratcheting up the peppiness, Jimmy Eat World missed out on the kind of slow-burning contemplativeness that provided such a neat contrast to songs like "Sweetness" and "A Praise Chorus". "Gotta Be Somebody's Blues" came close, admittedly, but it hardly conveyed the kind of power that "23" or "My Sundown" did.

In this context, Invented is a rather interesting follow up. If Chase This Light overwhelmingly focused on bouncy, upbeat tracks, Invented is the opposite. Aside from "My Best Theory", the record is bereft of the anthemic sing-alongs that Jimmy Eat World is generally known for. That isn't to say it's particularly dark, ala Futures, or that it even lacks genuine rock songs. Both "Coffee and Cigarettes" and "Action Needs an Audience" feature rougher undertones accentuated by driving power chords. However, where the beauty of Jimmy Eat World's other post-Clarity efforts were in their simplicity and catchiness, with Invented, the band opts for something a little less obvious. One almost wants to call it a reaction to a song like Chase This Light's "Here It Goes" (in hindsight, the song's danceable inclinations may have come on a little strong…). While Jim Adkins and co. haven't exactly abandoned the hook, they do force listeners to dig a little deeper in tracks like "Cut" and "Littlething".

What is immediately clear is that Jimmy Eat World makes their biggest statement in the record's closing songs. The title track and "Mixtape" are two of the group's most easy going tracks (aside from a brief distorted bit in the former), but they best embody the spirit Jimmy Eat World embraces on Invented. The songwriting is the real draw here; while neither track strikes me bringing the kind of instant gratification that many of their previous songs did, the leisurely pace to which both songs built up is extremely captivating. And with their lush instrumentation, both songs convey a warm sound that has eluded most of the band's (sadder) ballads.

Much in the same way "My Sundown" reined in Bleed American after the likes of "Sweetness", "The Middle", and even "If You Don't, Don't" Invented reins in Jimmy Eat World after Chase This Light. It still possesses the same inviting, feel-good sentiment, but it's expressed more personably, and in this regard it makes for a very rewarding listen.



Recent reviews by this author
Funeral for a Friend ConduitPropagandhi Failed States
Tycho DiveMegadeth Th1rt3en
Fair to Midland Arrows and AnchorsArch Enemy Khaos Legions
user ratings (398)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Adam Knott EMERITUS (4.5)
A scrapbook....

SowingSeason STAFF (3.5)
Almost nothing about Invented is immediately rewarding, but with patience you will find that the alb...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Emeritus
September 28th 2010



10585 Comments


Nice review, may give this a try.

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

AtavanHalen
September 28th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can anyone shoutbox me if there's a 320 rip of this going around? All I've found is a MySpace rip and it sounds horrible.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2010



15341 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

great review, agree with the rating too

Digging: Astronauts - Hollow Ponds

Mikesn
Emeritus
September 28th 2010



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thank you gentlemen

davey where are you

AtavanHalen
September 28th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Davey as in CK? He's probably asleep. It is 7:30 in the morning here.

BigHans
September 28th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I need to give this another spin, I wasnt that impresse don first listen, my rating is fanboy.

Mikesn
Emeritus
September 28th 2010



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Atavanhalen check your last.fm

I need to give this another spin, I wasnt that impresse don first listen, my rating is fanboy.
General consensus seems to be that this is a grower, so I'd give it another chance.

AtavanHalen
September 28th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you Mike :D

Nomos
September 28th 2010



808 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album is waayyyy too low-key and slow.

Rawrz
September 28th 2010



145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After repeated listens, this album is fantastic. I especially love the acoustic version of Mixtape on the deluxe edition.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I’m awake now.

Just keeping in mind that I am still to hear this album, I think it’s a freakin’ fantastic review. I had trouble putting into words exactly why ‘Chase This Light’ went nowhere near matching ‘Bleed American’. I like the way you have explained it in both your opening & closing paragraphs here Mike. It sounds as if Chase This Light & Invented are almost a double album… And that’s why ‘Bleed American’ and (for almost opposite reasons) ‘Futures’ were so great: They got it all done on 1 disc.

Will let you know what I think when I eventually get to it.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2010



15341 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

im predicting a daveyboy rating of 3.5. aka the correct rating

cinaedus
September 28th 2010



26298 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

daveyboy usually has the correct rating.

unless if we're talking def leppard.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Jips
September 29th 2010



1129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

higher devotion shows growth for the band doing something new for them...
and its awesome...

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
September 29th 2010



2806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wasn't feeling this much but the last two tracks make the album.

Jips
September 29th 2010



1129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what do you guys think about the Allmusic review of this?

Mikesn
Emeritus
September 29th 2010



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think

Adkins places himself on the other side of the equation at the beginning of Invented, taking a look at the 21st century kids who’ve come to take away his crown. “I’m more and more replaced by my friends each night/I can’t compete,”

is a bit of a stretch. Aside from that, I'm not really sure what he's trying to say.
And that’s why ‘Bleed American’ and (for almost opposite reasons) ‘Futures’ were so great: They got it all done on 1 disc.
Fair point. This stands up better than Chase This Light, which isn't bad every now and then, though. I'm surprised you haven't streamed this yet.

THIEF
September 29th 2010



237 Comments


My favorite songs by these guys are 23 and Drugs or Me. Is that kinda the vive they have going on for this album.

Jips
September 29th 2010



1129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ive got it... i like it so far...

i just thought the review read like it wasnt a good record...

vakuola
September 29th 2010



276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I just can't get into this record, I find it boring.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy