Our Last Night
We Will All Evolve


3.5
great

Review

by Cody Skidmore USER (1 Reviews)
May 4th, 2010 | 51 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A well executed, albeit unoriginal, metalcore album.

Cutting right to the chase, We Will All Evolve is a continuation of Our Last Night's previous full length, 2008's The Ghosts Among Us. Their sound hasn't changed at all; they just sharpened some edges and collectively improved as musicians. The first noticeable difference from their previous efforts is the matured screaming of lead vocalist Trevor Wentworth. We Will All Evolve begins with the heaviest song on the album, 'Elephants.' It starts the album off with a bang and sets the pace nicely. It also has a catchy chorus to back up the harsh verses. Speaking of which, this album is full of catchy choruses, courtesy of guitarist/clean vocalist Matt Wentworth. His voice really shines on tracks 'The Air I Breathe', 'Mouth Machine Gun,' 'Across the Ocean', and 'Deceiver'. 'The Air I Breathe' is the gem of this album with it's top-notch chorus and catchy verses.

Andrew Wade did a solid job producing this album. The drums sound crisp and the guitars sound clean. It's definitely one of the main positives of the album. It's nice to hear a band in this flooded scene NOT layering their vocals or drums. Another positive is the album's lyrics. They are varied from song, and never delve into immaturity or bitterness. The topics, contained within metaphors, range from trying to not take things for granted ('The Air I Breathe'), maturing in general ('We Will All Evolve'), touring hardships ('Across the Ocean'), staying true to yourself ('Deceiver'), and helping other people ('The Devil Inside You').

Continuing on, 'The Devil Inside You' is another heavier song. The breakdown near the end of the song is sure to keep your attention. The next three tracks almost blend together because of their formulaic songwriting, which keeps We Will All Evolve from anything above greatness. The album ends on a high note with the solid title track. Near the middle of the track, Trevor repeats, "We will all evolve into working machines, controlling the world," backed by a heavy breakdown. This is the highlight of the album.

Our Last Night obviously aren't breaking any ground. This formula of scream/sing has been done by countless others. Our Last Night doesn't showcase much versatility as far as songwriting goes, but what makes this album shine above a lot of the rest in this genre are the great clean vocals, skillful drumming, and tasteful lyrics. The album's execution itself hits home; nothing more, nothing less.

Closing note: If you don't like bands like Underoath or other metalcore/post-hardcore hybrids, stray far from this; but if you do, definitely check this out.


user ratings (232)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Emim
May 4th 2010


26625 Comments


Hmmmm, I don't know if I can stand another average band. Good review for a first, keep it up.

axetofall517
May 4th 2010


63 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i don't think they're average, but if i didn't like a lot of metalcore/post-hardcore i probably would.

PinkBlackberry
May 4th 2010


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sucks that alot of Post-hardcore / Metalcore doesn't get a whole lotta love on this site, there's obviously bands that shine through. But I wish a lot more people enjoyed this.

I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about this album. But quite frankly It's pretty damn good, It's a maturation from their last CD, it's much more technically driven, as well as extremely catchy.

but hey, that's just me

Bitchfork
May 4th 2010


7584 Comments


Sooooooo generic and boring.

sneasy
May 4th 2010


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely an album for fans of the genre only.

axetofall517
May 4th 2010


63 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah thought i made that clear in the review.

sneasy
May 4th 2010


201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just restating, don't get too upset. Nice first review btw.

KTLL
May 5th 2010


87 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm actually a fan of the band, and agree mostly with the rating, but the review was short and pretty vague.

Why is the drumming good (I think its improved vastly)? Why is Matt a good vocalist? How has Trevor's screaming improved? Are the guitars interesting, like they were in the old songs "Failures of a Failing System" and "Surviving Disasters"? How does the band's age reflect upon their music? (I believe Trevor is 16 and Matt is 20 (Matt writes all of the music: drums, bass, guitar, lyrics...anyone, even if they aren't fans of the genre, can listen to this album and agree that its impressive that such a young person composed those songstyles))

It is obvious that screaming and singing has been done by others, yet you fail to compare their style to any other band (unless you really meant to throw Underoath out there, in which your ear is REALLY off or you haven't listened to Underoath since TOCS). Who do they sound like? Jesus, bands ranging from Between the Buried and Me to Fall Out Boy sing and scream. It tells me absolutely nothing about them to list that as a characteristic.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2010


8007 Comments


Saw these guys for free with Vanna last saturday. They put on a decent show, but I don't think I am going to go out and get this

Digging: Beach Slang - Cheap Thrills On A Dead End Street

Emim
May 5th 2010


26625 Comments


How is Vanna? I've heard a song or two, but nothing conclusive.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2010


8007 Comments


The are alright, one of the biggest hit or miss bands out there. They will have songs like "We Ate The Horse.." which are awesome, but then a shit-ton of boring and/or terrible songs.

Emim
May 5th 2010


26625 Comments


Huh, thanks.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2010


8007 Comments


all in all, an average metalcore band, with more post-hardcore than actual metal

fr33convict
May 5th 2010


11689 Comments


good review for an good cd.

PirateSquid
May 5th 2010


1881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Good band, eh album.

Some songs make me go, "Wow!" But most make me go, "NEXT"

axetofall517
May 5th 2010


63 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

look to the right to see who they sound like. it's in the recommended. duh. and vague? maybe. this is my first review. i welcome criticism.

PirateSquid
May 5th 2010


1881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Except the albums on the right sound better...well at least Of Machines and The Color Morale do

axetofall517
May 5th 2010


63 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nah. TCM uses endless chugging and the vocalist can't scream at all. OM sounds good but their debut was clearly over-produced.

sspedding
May 5th 2010


4765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this review has changed abit from the previous one you did it seems. Its still decent, keep it up.

pos

PirateSquid
May 5th 2010


1881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

TCM has awesome screams, and they do have the guilt on their heads of having chugged, but regardless much more original than this.

And being overproduced is much less of a crime than being generic shit.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy