HIM
Love Metal


4.5
superb

Review

by evilmenhavenosongs USER (2 Reviews)
September 11th, 2005 | 61 replies | 16,204 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


6 of 10 thought this review was well written

HIM formed in 1994 though most people think theyíre a new band, thereís often a lot of argument over what genre they play but I would say that itís melodic rock/occasionally metal, goth metal if you will. Theyíre often described as Love Metal which is the name of this album. I fully expect bashing, I've been a HIM fan way too long to hope for itelligent disscussion all round.

Buried Alive By Love
I like the introduction to the song and the backing guitars. Villeís vocals are good, very emotional especially in the chorus. A very catchy song which seems quite cheerful (to me anyway) but the lyrics are quite dark, fairly simplistic but heartfelt, an impression which is heightened by the singing. Overall, not the best song on the album but his semi-scream near the end is good and Iíll always enjoy it because it was the first song I ever heard from them. 8/10

The Funeral Of Hearts
A slower song this one, quite odd lyrics but that lends a bit of mystery to it all. Villeís voice really suits this type of song, the vocals are beautiful, especially in the verses where he holds back and doesnít scream or anything. The guitar solo is beautiful even though it may not be too technical and I like it when Ville hits the high notes, which he does well in my opinion. Really emotional and beautiful. 10/10

Beyond Redemption
One of my favourites, but then theyíre all my favourites. I love the opening lines, his voice is really sexy and the introduction leading up to it is great as well. Another song with great verses and I like the way his voice goes all wavery occasionally, the chorus, however, is also good, it builds up and itís great. The guitar solo in this song is also good but not as good as Funeral of Hearts, it sounds less smooth which I donít like much. His breathing isnít fair because itís so sexy though I can see how it would annoy people (it doesnít annoy me). His high singing at the end is good as well. 9.5/10

Sweet Pandemonium
I love the guitar in the introduction, everytime I hear it, it makes me go all shivery and itís instantly recognisable. The drums come in a bit later and sound hollow, which is cool. His singing is soft and whispery, high at times which is beautiful, his voice is suited to this type of music; the song is slower, including the chorus which is uplifting but depressing at the same time. The guitar helps a lot with the depressing tone. The lyrics donít make much sense at first but if you think about them they do and hey, thinking thatís got to be a good thing. The build up about a minute from the end is good but not as good as Soul on Fire and the strange guitar at the end is odd but good. 8.5/10

Soul On Fire
On of my favourites, maybe even the favourite, starts straight in with fairly heavy guitars then goes quiet for Villeís singing, which is beautiful as usual. The chorus leads in with a wail from the guitar which makes my stomach go all tingly and his voice is harder in the chorus, complete contrast with lyrics that I like about ďthe living dead" etc. I love the guitar in this song, itís great to rock to and builds up often which I really really like. The drums at the end are relentless and build up and up helping the guitar and the vocals to create a really tense atmosphere. 10/10

The Sacrement
Really pretty piano introduction, soft and quiet and really beautiful. This is a love song and the lyrics are beautiful, emotional and very heartfelt as is Villeís singing. Thereís a kind of Dr Who vibe going on with the guitar in the background which is cool, the guitar helps create a great atmosphere in most of the songs. The piano continues throughout the song, getting a sort of solo, which also gives it a nice atmosphere. A slight fault is that the chorus isnít very recognisable as a chorus but I still love it none the less. The ending, with Ville singing on his own is beautiful. 8/10

This Fortress Of Tears
A fairly long guitar introduction which, at the beginning, is plucked (I think?) and sounds beautiful. A beautiful but depressing song, slow and Villeís voice is harrowing, his singing is extremely emotional and this song always makes me think of suicide; ďno one can free you now", ďand hold your breath on the way down" and is incredibly sad but reassuring as well ďno one can hurt you now". Another one of my favourites though some people may think he wails a bit (shame on you). Incredibly well sung, with great guitar as well. 10/10

Circle Of Fear
Slight oriental feel to the guitar in this one which I like, another slow song with a sort of high keening sound in the background (sorry for lack of technicality) which I love and contrasts with Villeís voice which is really deep in this song. Nice chorus but not as good as earlier songs, still beautifully sung with amazing lyrics, but not as emotional as some others yet still emotional. I really love the deep voice. 8.5/10

Endless Dark
Fairly long introduction with nice guitar, Villeís singing with short bursts of guitar is very effective and the build up to the chorus is good (still not as good as Soul On Fire though). Great lyrics as always and I love the way Ville sings with barely an accompniant. Good guitar solo, with nice distortion. The lines ; ďI know where I belong, away from your Gods" are quite sinister as are the bits where his sings on his own. 8/10

The Path
Last song, with a really beautiful opening piano and echoing drums. Very moving guitar and singing. This song grew on me, I didnít like it as much at first but Villeís singing is again beautiful (getting repetitive this isnít it) and very emotional, one of the more emotional songs which is why I like it so much, very, very sad but very, very beautiful. I suppose you could say he wails a bit but thatís part of what makes it so good for me. Some very nice haunting ooooohs (? Is that what youíd call them?) which I like a lot. I love the lyrics so much and the solo is great. 9.5/10

In conclusion, HIMís style of ďLove Metal" is probably not for everyone and youíd have to like the vocals otherwise you wonít like the music. I love the vocals Villeís singing is incredibly beautiful (also sexy) and very emotional, the guitar work is good as well, simplistic maybe but still good. Iím probably biased because Iíve grown to love this album, knowing all the words, so feel free to argue. This album is amazing although it does peter out at the end due to all the faster songs at the start and itís one of the very few albums I can listen to all the way through. Kind of depressing though *shrugs*
Iím probably biased because Iíve grown to love this album, knowing all the words, so feel free to argue.

4.5/5


user ratings (359)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
AleksiS (3.5)
Chapter IV - Soul on Fire...

Nightside (4)
...

tearsofthesoul (4)
...

Ross Delany (1.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
September 11th 2005



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ext.reamlly good review!

Can't get that much into the album tho.

evilmenhavenosongs
September 11th 2005



31 Comments


:lol:

I would have changed it, but I can't stand to re-read over things. I'll probably review the new album, it's not as if anyone else will do it. :p

Med57
Moderator
September 11th 2005



1001 Comments


Yeah, good review. :thumb: Thanks for re-submitting it.

Killtacular
September 11th 2005



1314 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Good review, but I can't stand the album. It's boring as all hell. Rubbish.

Senor_Whippy
September 11th 2005



367 Comments


Good review but I hate HIM.Terrible Pop Goth Metal! No thanks.Stupid title too 'Love Metal' Ha!.

_unknownST
September 17th 2005



256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think this album is amazin in so many ways......... and i hate to say it but i am one of the many ppl who like HIM and CKY. Best song is 'Soul on fire'

P.S - youve got a cheek to say that this has a stupid name............. Senor_Whippy ................... you should be ashamed........in fact............. hang your head in shame.This Message Edited On 09.17.05This Message Edited On 09.17.05This Message Edited On 09.17.05

Arrakakaka
September 30th 2005



685 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Gave it a chance.This Message Edited On 11.04.05

Laafe
September 30th 2005



347 Comments


HIM is a tanlentless void of trash

Atticus 69320
October 1st 2005



49 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Why is this under mainstream rock?

francesfarmer
October 2nd 2005



1477 Comments


because their not underground

ocelot-05
October 2nd 2005



807 Comments


Everyone listen: Despite their image, HIM is pop. Just because their shirts and wristbands get sold at Hot Topic, it doesn't mean they are some kind of dark underground band.

_unknownST
October 6th 2005



256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wot is hot topic?

Killtacular
October 6th 2005



1314 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

A crappy "goth" store where preps are afraid to go and people who think they're dark or different buy their personalities.

Killtacular
October 6th 2005



1314 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Of course you do. Who doesn't? (Besides the blind and otherwise disabled)

evilmenhavenosongs
October 12th 2005



31 Comments


I would hardly say that they were pop by any stretch of the imagination. Mainstream rock seems like a perfectly adequate description to me, they are a rock band who have an accessible sound and are well known. Don't exactly sound like Kylie Minogue do they?

Cravinov13
October 22nd 2005



3854 Comments


This album is by far HIM's best work. (5/5)

Atticus 69320
October 22nd 2005



49 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, i do enjoy scruples comment there.

however, shouldn't they be under pop if they are pop? mainstream rock refers to crap like creed.

Sepstrup
January 18th 2006



1563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think a lot of people 'choose' to hate him because other people do, and because of the whole Bam Margera thing, without giving them a chance. I really think this album is decent, and has some pretty good songs.
HIM aren't all that terrible at all, in my opinion.

Storm In A Teacup
February 10th 2006



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Somebody is going to shat all over the reviews for this, but it's not me. ;)

mjoel
March 15th 2006



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is only album I have heard so far, and I am impressed by each of those guys. They are supurb at what they do.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy