Manchester Orchestra
You Brainstorm, I Brainstorm, But Brilliance...


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mike Allen USER (107 Reviews)
December 22nd, 2009 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I'd rather have a broken arm than have my arms around you.

Before there was “I’m Like a Virgin Losing a Child,” “Mean Everything to Nothing,” and even Manchester Orchestra, there was a budding songwriter in his junior year of high school. Taking the following year off from school, the songwriter quickly became a sensation in the Atlanta region, showcasing his talent and great potential. Soon after, the individual acquired a band that would aid in both changing his life, and propelling his success. Yes, that songwriter was Andy Hull, and that band was Manchester Orchestra. In 2005, Manchester Orchestra recorded their first EP, “I Brainstorm, You Brainstorm, But Brilliance Needs a Good Editor.” Although featuring just five tracks, this particular EP is what put Manchester Orchestra on the map, and made “I’m Like a Virgin Losing a Child” and “Mean Everything to Nothing” possible.

When Andy Hull claims in the opening track The Procession, “I'll break this guitar and board up these windows. Just make sure they know that I won't return,” it becomes apparent that his tortured songwriting will be a defining characteristic for the band. Each release from here on out has been similar; take the deep sorrow of I Can Feel a Hot One and the blatant reality of I Can Barely Breathe into account. The following tracks are no different, for Hull is constantly blunt, distressed, and revealing the terrible reality at which is his life. Each of these tracks are just as passionate as the last, giving the indication that Hull really does feel and believe in his music. I’d Rather Have is no exception, Hull suggests, “Well I would rather have a broken arm than have my arms around you.”

“I Brainstorm, You Brainstorm, But Brilliance Needs a Good Editor” as you can imagine has a similar sound to “I’m Like a Virgin Losing a Child.” In fact, this EP includes the original version of Alice and Interiors in which can be found on the full-length debut record. The raw rock edge of “Mean Everything to Nothing” has yet to be seen here, for this is a much more mellow album. At the record’s most chaotic moments, the electric guitar is at a warm and melodic level, something that continued on “I’m Like a Virgin Losing a Child.” With that said however, the EP does not cease to be diverse, for Play it Again, Sam! You Don’t Have Any Feathers offers a sparse acoustic piece in its entirety and Slow to Learn is somewhat reminiscent of a pop-punk song. Slow to Learn is an extremely catchy and upbeat piece, highlighted by captivating vocals and syncopated riff.

This 2005 EP, “I Brainstorm, You Brainstorm, But Brilliance Needs a Good Editor” offers the listener quite a bit, and provides them with a taste of what is to come for Manchester Orchestra. The band has grown immensely from here to this year’s “Mean Everything to Nothing,” but this EP is precisely what propelled the band to where they are today. Overall five solid, to even great tracks are presented here, and is an essential listen for Manchester Orchestra fans.

Recommended Tracks:
The Procession
Alice and Interiors
Slow to Learn



Recent reviews by this author
The State Lottery When the Night ComesThe Wrens The Meadowlands
Bruce Springsteen The PromiseRVIVR RVIVR
Iron Chic Not Like ThisFake Problems Real Ghosts Caught on Tape
user ratings (56)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
JesusChris (5)
Hold me, the day I try to fly....


Comments:Add a Comment 
EVedder27
December 23rd 2009


6088 Comments


Just added this yesterday. All you MO fans listen immediately!

handoman
December 23rd 2009


2386 Comments


listening on last.fm, pretty good

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review Mike. I haven't listened to this as yet.

Since I have only occasionally given you feedback in the past, I just thought that I'd also add that you have been on quite the reviewing streak over the past 4 months. Your output actually reminds me of my earlier work & I think it's great to see you being so consistent & improving along the way. Good stuff.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


17920 Comments


their first album sort of sucks so i won't bother with this

EVedder27
December 23rd 2009


6088 Comments


Thanks a lot Davey. I would say this is pretty similar to their debut so I don't think you would be into it chan.

SeaAnemone
December 23rd 2009


20559 Comments


Nice review for an EP I wish was longer...
oh and chan Virgin > METN > this

Digging: Dirty Beaches - Stateless

EVedder27
December 23rd 2009


6088 Comments


Thanks SeaAnemone

Skimaskcheck
December 23rd 2009


2360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the original version of Alice and Interiors?! sweet.
great review again man, although there's an exposed '[i]' in there you might wanna change, and and 'to' to 'two' in the last sentence

Ponton
Emeritus
December 23rd 2009


5804 Comments


I just thought that I'd also add that you have been on quite the reviewing streak over the past 4 months. Your output actually reminds me of my earlier work & I think it's great to see you being so consistent & improving along the way. Good stuff.


The same goes for me, except you are doing much better than I did. I don't know if you will keep this pace up forever - most don't seem to - but the fact that each review is always well written and professionally done says a whole lot given your pace.

EVedder27 for Contributor.


BigHans
December 23rd 2009


26454 Comments


I agree, he has proven to be both prolific and professional.

EVedder27
December 23rd 2009


6088 Comments


Thanks everyone, really appreciate it.

Skimaskcheck
December 27th 2009


2360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

even though Alice and Interiors is one of my faves on Virgin, i kinda wish they had chosen The Procession to re-record - such a good track!

EVedder27
December 27th 2009


6088 Comments


yeah can't disagree with you on that

Skimaskcheck
January 4th 2010


2360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only just realised the opening line of Play It Again, Sam!... is 'You lift your skinny fists up in the sky'. And there's an exclamation mark conveniently placed in the title of said track...

Andy Hull, fan of Godspeed?

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2010


7363 Comments


Great review. I need to hear this.

EVedder27
January 4th 2010


6088 Comments


Thanks man. I'm not sure Skimaskcheck because I have yet to hear that band. Could be likely though since they've shown homage to other bands in their music.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Manchester Orchestra deliver a solid 22 minute EP in 'You Brainstorm, I Brainstorm, But Brilliance Needs a Good Editor', with 3 tracks from the band's prior unreleased LP being re-recorded. However, it is likely that the 2 remaining songs will be this release's barometer, with a slower version of later album cut 'Alice and Interiors' & the sparse 6 minute acoustic closer sure to be divisive. As per usual, the tunes are deceptively catchy & front-man Andy Hull shows off his captivating vocals & quality songwriting. 5 tracks just doesn't seem enough to show off the group's diversity though. Recommended Tracks: Alice and Interiors & Slow To Learn.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy