Deeds of Flesh
Crown Of Souls


4.0
excellent

Review

by InHumanForm USER (8 Reviews)
August 14th, 2009 | 39 replies | 8,524 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Brutal, Brutal, and Brutal. Seriously, it's Brutal.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Deeds of Flesh have been around for awhile now. They are also highly regarded in the Brutal Death Metal scene. 1 EP, 7 full-lengths, and even a DVD release, Deeds Of Flesh have done a good job of letting people in the underground know who they are. Deeds Of Flesh are highly regarded for a reason. Each album they release showcases a furious combination of technicality, brutality, and just plain catchy songs.

Crown Of Souls is Deed's 6 full-length release and is a very impressive addition to the catalog. The Production on Crown of Souls is, for the lack of a better word, interesting. Every instrument sounds faint and distant, though this tone actually makes the album sound even better than what it already is. The vocals sound good too, they are clear, loud, and for the most part, intelligible.


Erik Lindmark does a superb job in the guitar department, combining groove laden breakdowns with technical, and even sometimes melodic riffs. Each track on the album contains at least one catchy riff that will impress you, but at the same time be stuck in your head for days on end. This what Erik Lindmark sets out to achieve, and he hits the nail on the head. This is Brutal Death Metal though, and you will occasionally find crushing, chugging sections throughout and it all sounds spot on. Jacoby Kingston does a solid job on bass, easily keeping up with Lindmark. Even at times when things start to really pick up speed wise, Kingston hangs in there and shows his bass work is nothing but skillful. Mike Hamilton does a good enough standard death metal drumming effort. He makes great use of blast beats and double bass, and knows how to get things going very quickly. The vocals on Crown of Souls are your familiar Deeds of Flesh fare. Low, guttural vocals from Lindmark, and the occasional scream or two from Kingston.

Crown of Souls is an excellent album. There's nothing really bad that stands out about it except for maybe a few weak tracks, though you will find yourself coming back to COS quite often for some great moments. While obviously not Deeds of Flesh's most amazing or unique album, but It's definitely a worthy addition to the catalog of one of the most recognized Brutal Death Metal bands today.

Standout Tracks:
Crown of Souls
Hammer-Forged Blade
Medical Murder
Crimson Offering



Recent reviews by this author
Disgorge Consume the ForsakenBeheaded Ominous Bloodline
Insidious Decrepancy Extirpating Omniscient CertitudeAbysmal Torment Omnicide
Fleurety Department of Apocalyptic AffairsBroken Hope Loathing
user ratings (63)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
combustion07
August 14th 2009



5303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their best imo

Zip
August 14th 2009



5313 Comments


Sounds good to me, I tried them once but I wasn't too interested. I'll look again I guess.

FadeToBlack
August 14th 2009



10913 Comments


you need to add the album's release date

InHumanForm
August 14th 2009



316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

forgot to put the release date lol, fixed it. and yea its awesome

FadeToBlack
August 14th 2009



10913 Comments


This is a nice review, but you should probably say something about the songs themselves, at least mention what the best ones are or something

InHumanForm
August 14th 2009



316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

for some reason i thought i added what the standout tracks were. what the hell? there not even there. hold on

FadeToBlack
August 14th 2009



10913 Comments


good good, pos'd

This sounds like a band I might like, which album should I listen to first?

InHumanForm
August 14th 2009



316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well their best CD IMO is path of the weakening, but reduced to ashes is great also. Their new CD is extremely technical, its good though. Just start with Path of the Weakening.

Anthracks
August 14th 2009



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is back to being my favorite from them at the moment...well tied with Inbreeding the Anthropophagi of course. i hate the remixed version though...which is the one i got when i bought the album

Digging: Tobacco - Ultima II Massage

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2009



8221 Comments


good review and sweet avatar also

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

InHumanForm
August 14th 2009



316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what does the remix sound like? i have the original

Anthracks
August 14th 2009



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

its kinda similar to the production on of what's to come...it ruins a lot of the riffs for me and ditches the popcorn snare, i love the original drum sound

last i checked their myspace had the remixed version of crimson offering on there

InHumanForm
August 14th 2009



316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea dude the popcorn snare is awesome, i love that drum sound, its insane on reduced to ashes.

InHumanForm
August 14th 2009



316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea just listened to remix version and it takes a lot away from the original atmosphere of this album. i just bought this album 2 days ago, I'm guessing I'm gonna get the remix aren't I.

Anthracks
August 14th 2009



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i assume so...i think theyre also remixing Reduced to Ashes in the same way :[. i think both of the albums have (had...) perfect production so the remixes are a heartbreaker

InHumanForm
October 11th 2009



316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea I heard the re-mixed version of this, and it sounds good to me, though i like the original production better.

combustion07
October 11th 2009



5303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Original production all the way imo

InHumanForm
October 11th 2009



316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty much lol

Anthracks
October 11th 2009



3639 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i hope erik only does one more album of the new sound (owtc) and comes back to what he does best

combustion07
October 11th 2009



5303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I like both styles but I prefer this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy