The Dillinger Escape Plan
Calculating Infinity


5.0
classic

Review

by Dancin' Man USER (40 Reviews)
August 11th, 2005 | 2403 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist


On this album, DEP are Ben Wienman, Brian Benoit, Adam Doll, Chirs Pennie and Dimitri Minakakis.

The Dillinger Escape Plan's first full length album is quite possibly one of the best "core" albums ever released. A sort of progressive grindcore that dabbles in jazz and schizophrenia. This album should not be overlooked by anyone. Any fan of metal, prog, hardcore or good music in general needs to listen to this album. The technicality and songwriting are both through the roof and there is no shortage of creativity. This is not someone elses album, it belongs to the Dillinger Escape Plan, no questions.

Ben (who seems to be the core of the band) plays some of the most challenging and jaw dropping guitar parts to be heard on this album (43% Burnt) while remaining super creative and not falling into the trap of classic shredding. Dimitri's vocals are excellent, though would probably be what turns off the most people. These vocals are extremely chaotic, and whenever they stop being as heavy as possible, it is only to build back up again. The fact that the music could be appreciated without the vocals is a testament to the originality. So long as you don't mind the vocals or can see past them, you will enjoy this.

It is also important to mention that the feeling of this album is never calm. Even when the distortion is gone and it all slows down, there is still a very ominous feeling that the music will jump out from behind a rock and smash you in the head. A prime example of this would be the song The Running Board which falls back form the intensity but never even approaches soothing. That isn't to say there is no dynamic because the level of intensity shifts just imagine the Spinal Tap quote "our amps go to 11" and insert it here. This album has dynamic in that it goes from intense to balls-staple-gunned-to-the-wall-of-a-house-rolling-down-the-side-of-a-mountain.

Basically what I'm trying to say is get this album now. When someone tells you that there is no good metal left, point them here. WHen they say all core stuff sucks, point them here. When they say metal and core are all just shrieking and screaming, point them here. This album is the killer of cliches. This band is amazing and this album is some of their finest work.

Pros
- Technicality fits song writing
- Superb songwriting and technicality
- Innovative to the extreme

Cons
- Production can sound a little strange at times



Recent reviews by this author
Verse AggressionTool 10,000 Days
Found Dead Hanging Dulling Occam's RazorJob for a Cowboy Doom
Me and Him Call It Us The (C:) Drive Of Love StoriesEphel Duath The Painter's Palette
user ratings (2036)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
masada
August 11th 2005


2733 Comments


Great review, and an equally great album.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
August 11th 2005


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rule sauce.

cbmartinez
August 11th 2005


2525 Comments


Hard to get into, but it's an awesome album.

Shadows
Moderator
August 11th 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I can respect these guys more than any other band in the genre, but I still hate the genre with a passion. Good review anyway.

Justanothernimrod
August 12th 2005


478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still havent heard this, Miss Machine was amazing though.

Great eviewThis Message Edited On 08.12.05

pixiesfanyo
August 12th 2005


1223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Do a workout before you pick up this album. Yes, it is that heavy. "

I think that describes this album perfectly.

Dead_Trench
August 12th 2005


159 Comments


I thought Dillinger Escape Plan fell under grindcore, not metalcore.

Dead_Trench
August 12th 2005


159 Comments


I thought Dillinger Escape Plan fell under grindcore, not metalcore.

Dancin' Man
August 12th 2005


719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I didn't do that, that is curtosey of whoever started the band page. This album falls under Grindcore but Miss Machine I'd put under hardcore.

canadapantsman
August 13th 2005


236 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i dont get it, i love metalcore, but i just cant get into these guys and zao. and everyone effing loves them. o well.

Captain_HumpYourFace
August 13th 2005


119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I thought Dillinger Escape Plan fell under grindcore, not metalcore."

Ask yourself, "Do we really NEED a grindcore genre?" Just call them metalcore, I think metalcore, hardcore and emocore are more than enough at this point and I refuse to add any more.

Anyway with that out of the way, this album rocks, not a 5 in my opinion but damn close.

Dancin' Man
August 13th 2005


719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Grindcore is very different from metalcore. Metalcore is about melodies while grindcore is about textures, chaos and speed.

Arrakakaka
August 13th 2005


685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it's totally different, even though they both are fusion-genres with 'hardcore'. It's two different genres, like individual people.

Anyway, superb review. How come 1 out of 3 people found this helpful :confused:

Dancin' Man
August 13th 2005


719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Too short maybe? Or maybe they just don't like the band.

Shadows
Moderator
August 13th 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Metalcore and Grindcore the same thing? That makes no sense...does As I Lay Dying sound the same as old Carcass?

I don't like the album but I thought it was a good review...so I said it was helpful.

Ad Absurdum
August 15th 2005


44 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice review, this is Dillinger at their greatest. I totally agree about the tension even in the clean parts, especially the clean section in "The Running Board" (which is by far the greatest song on this album).

Arrakakaka
August 18th 2005


685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aaah. I'm still trying to figure out "Sugar Coated Sour" on bass. There's no tabs, and it's one hard song to tab out.

Arrakakaka
August 23rd 2005


685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes... I've figured it out!

/Happydance.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
August 23rd 2005


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rule. That's my favorite DEP song.

Dancin' Man
September 12th 2005


719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

omgsh. Also, thanks Med. This album wins.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy