Bad Religion
Stranger Than Fiction


3.5
great

Review

by Ryan Cleary USER (16 Reviews)
May 29th, 2009 | 23 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Great release from punk collegiates Bad Religion. Far from their best, but a quality listen nontheless.

Bad Religion – Stranger Than Fiction

Personnel:
Greg Graffin – lead vocals
Greg Hetson – guitar
Brett Gurewitz – guitar, backing vocals
Jay Bentley – bass guitar, backing vocals
Bobby Schayer – drums, percussion

Bad Religion is a great band. A bold statement, but it is safe to say that a poorly done album by Bad Religion equates to a good to great album generated by any other band. They have their formula; simple catchy punk songs with intelligent lyrics and the occasional guitar solo; but it rarely gets old. Stranger Than Fiction is no different, a usual Bad Religion album; it consists of fifteen short, simple tracks with infectious power chords and hefty political content in the lyrics. It is nothing new, just a regurgitation of a tried and true formula that works.

Everything starts with vocalist (and life science PhD) Greg Graffin and his deep, nearly sage-like voice. His singing is what it is on this album, decent, but the strong lyrics are present. Among his best moments are the thirty seconds of “The Handshake” where his voice chants “fend for yourself and shun the handshake” a powerful line topping off an already spectacular song. His voice is complemented by the appearance of punk gurus Tim Armstrong of Rancid and Jim Lindberg of Pennywise on the songs “Television” and “Marked” respectively.

Now-vilified guitarist/backing-vocalist Brett Gurewitz shines on his last release with the band with great performances on singles “Infected” and “21st Century Digital Boy”, two of the most successful tracks ever composed by Bad Religion. Composing those two tracks along with lesser known punk gems “Better Off Dead” and “Incomplete” Gurewitz makes the most of his final album, being personally responsible for the majority of its stronger tracks.

Stranger Than Fiction’s strongest track is easily Graffin’s punk masterpiece, “Inner Logic”. A chugging rhythm is layered with brilliant, insightful lyrics and a solid guitar solo. Though given little love in the face of hits like “Infected” this song is the highlight of the album, and should be given a shot by all who listen.

Bad Religion did not do much wrong with Stranger Than Fiction. The songs do get a bit repetitive, and several could be considered filler, but the album is by and large a great listen. It is by no means BR’s best release, but stacks up in the top five. It could be battered for selling out the punk spirit by being commercially successful, but any attempting to discredit the quality of this one would find themselves horribly mistaken.

The major complaint most detractors have of Bad Religion is that they do little to vary or create orginality within thier music. Not only is that difficult to do within the punk genre, it would me even more difficult to break habits that have earned you acclaim for over twenty years. As previously stated, Bad Religion have a formula that works, a formula that has kept them intact and popular for twenty plus years. This one is a typical Bad Religion release, a release substantially better than that of many of today's modern "punk rockers".

3.5/5

Check Out
Inner Logic
Infected
21st Century Digital Boy
The Handshake

Diehards Should Also Check
Television
Hooray For Me…
Better Off Dead



Recent reviews by this author
Senses Fail The FireA Skylit Drive Adelphia
Aiden KnivesDrop Dead, Gorgeous Hot N' Heavy
Intronaut PrehistoricismsSenses Fail Life Is Not a Waiting Room
user ratings (504)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
May 29th 2009


16350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm too burned out on writing to provide feedback, but this is an awesome album. Their last really good one for quite a few years, actually.

WatchItExplode
May 29th 2009


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is the album that got me into this "thesaurus" band. Love it to death, however, Marked bugs me for some reason.



Review is totally solid, but the line "His singing is what it is on this album, decent, but the strong lyrics are present." reads awkwardly. Nice.





WatchItExplode
May 29th 2009


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're never to young to have good taste...By the way I thought Process of Belief is the best thing they've done in this decade. Are you talking before the return of Mr. Brett Willie?

WatchItExplode
May 29th 2009


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Songs were even shorter, and Greg's voice was far weaker until the very late 80's. Suffer and No Control are still essential.



I DON"T ASK QUESTIONS

Willie
Moderator
May 29th 2009


16350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

By the way I thought Process of Belief is the best thing they've done in this decade. Are you talking before the return of Mr. Brett Willie?
I'm just talking in general. It was nearly 8 years between this release and "The Process of Belief". That's a long time between really good releases.
The song length on 90's stuff is ideal for me. Anything shorter would probably bother me.
Try "Generator" and if that works for you then work backwards until the songs finally become too short. You should at least try to do it that way or you're really missing out on some peak Bad Religion releases.

WatchItExplode
May 29th 2009


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Blenderhead off against the grain is barely over a minute and one of my favorite BR songs...but I have so many. Many on this album. I could probably recite the lyrics to every song on this album off the top of my head.

WatchItExplode
May 29th 2009


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd...check out my lone review

WatchItExplode
May 29th 2009


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

by the way ditto...

WhiteNoise
May 29th 2009


3313 Comments


I only have a few Bad Religion albums, This one doesn't do too much for me.

Masochist
May 31st 2009


8154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Glad this album finally got reviewed.



This was the first Bad Religion album I ever bought (in fact, it was the first album PERIOD I ever bought). I loved it a lot more back then...I still enjoy it, but they've got quite a few better albums (TESF, TPOB, TGR, Suffer, ATG, etc.). Still, this is awesome anyways; some true classics on here. "Tiny Voices" is my favorite from this one, I think (besides perhaps "Infected").



The review itself was sort of short, but you get a nice overview of the album. Wish it would've gone into a bit of depth on what makes this album work (which, in my opinion, is because no one is given the spotlight, which puts all the focus on the music and songs themselves). Also..."Oozin' Ahhs." But yeah, not bad review anyways.



One more thing: best thing BR have done this decade is "The Empire Strikes First," easily.

Digging: Failure - The Heart Is a Monster

StrizzMatik
May 21st 2010


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Probably the strongest of their Atlantic period and some of Brett's best lyrics and songwriting. "Tiny Voices" and "Better Off Dead" are my favorite jams on this.

WatchItExplode
May 21st 2010


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Seeing Stranger Than Fiction live on 120 minutes is what started my love affair with this band espicially infected, hooray for me..., and I love the lyrics for inner logic

owl316
September 20th 2010


83 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

villified guitarist? explain

Satellite
September 20th 2010


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

He's not really vilified at all anymore (other than for signing a bunch of shitty bands to Epitaph), but Greg left the band shortly after this album on less-than-amicable terms. He formed a band called Daredevils, who released a single titled "Hate You" that was allegedly definitely aimed at bassist Jay Bentley.

WatchItExplode
September 20th 2010


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

because Bad Religion fucking rules, that's why

StrizzMatik
September 21st 2010


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He's not really vilified at all anymore (other than for signing a bunch of shitty bands to Epitaph), but Greg left the band shortly after this album on less-than-amicable terms. He formed a band called Daredevils, who released a single titled "Hate You" that was definitely aimed at bassist Jay Bentley.


Brett. Not Greg (either one), and he did in fact admit it was completely about Bentley although like you said it was pretty obvious. They had another song on that single called "Rules, Hearts" too. LOL Gore Verbinski was the second guitarist (yes, the famous director) and Josh Freese was the drummer too!



Satellite
September 21st 2010


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am an idiot, wow. I meant Brett. *facepalm*



Satellite's been a-drinkin'.

StrizzMatik
September 21st 2010


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New album leaked



Sounds a lot like Recipe For Hate (very experimental/less punk-rawkish)

WatchItExplode
September 21st 2010


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome, just got done listening to recipe actually (one of my favs)

random
June 22nd 2012


2301 Comments


"Infected" rules face.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy