Cradle of Filth
Godspeed on the Devil's Thunder


3.5
great

Review

by Dash USER (5 Reviews)
March 13th, 2009 | 25 replies | 4,075 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "sick and offensive" - the Lord Provost of Glasgow

1 of 3 thought this review was well written

Cradle of Filth have always sounded British, or perhaps closely French. Like Lord Byron and other grand poets of the English countryside, the band should be known more of poets than, "Metal musicians". Still, no matter the title, critics would still like to garner them as sick and terrible; terrible poets. Case in point, Cruelty and the Beast displayed a fervour for the Gothic; gaunt castles, erotic sinews.. and then Dusk and her Embrace was a slide into misted Romantic landscapes; Midian last of all was an eerie commercial album that owed its scars to the imagination of Clive Barker. And this is why Cradle of Filth are a rare bird, they are poetic, the lyrics read like a Victorian novel and the music more a cobwebbed storyline. A breath of dark air compared to Dimmu Borgir preaching misanthropy (misanthropic bank accounts!) or Obituary grinning over being chopped in half.

However well, *cough* after Midian, the floodgates opened. The band along with their predecessor became popular all across the globe. Similar to Satyricon and their last opus Nemesis Divina, you can view Dani Filth (the lead singer) in a Porsche driving into the studio to record glossy and unfitted albums. Midian was the last hallmark of a shocking, imaginative and original band.

So it is literally nine years later, with the dissapointment of DaaD, Nymphetamine and Thornography, many of the old perhaps, "true" fans have jumped ship. Shockingly an album slightly like Cruelty and the Beast is released called, "Godspeed on the Devil's Thunder" being and adventurous although *expected* release.

Almost as sadistic as the Marquis de Sade or perhaps Elizabeth Bathory, the French nobleman, war hero and later child pervert, "Gilles de Rais" is documented throughout the album, from such a silly repose as, "Shat out of Hell" to sometimes the masterful ballad in The Death of Love. The lyrics at times sure.. may conjure images of misted hovels, french castles and the perverted macabre of De Rais; abd yet lyrically, the fervour is missing. The early Cradle of Filth writing scheme is but a memory.

A snippet from Cruelty and the Beast:
Through the maw of the woods, a black carriage was drawn
Flanked by barbed lightning that hissed of the storm
(Gilded in crests of Carpathian breed)
Bringing slaves to the sodomite for the new-born
On that eve when the Countess' own came deformed
A tragedy crept to the name Bathory

From this album:
Now the treetops bowed to whisper
In a thin Disney veneer
They knew the howls so exquisitely honed
Were those of children, disappeared


Yet, if the lyrics are important for the band, what about the music?

Unfortunately, we have (shudder) Andy Sneap at the helm recording another perfect, "polished" album. The production is quite sterile. Here, every note, instrument and wail is clear and processed and processed and processed... This album's production is the fine example of modern metal. Sadly, this sound makes me miss the repulsive and glamorous atmospheres of Midian or Cruelty. It may not have been perfect but it had personality, something that the concrete sounds on this album miss.

As the album starts like any other Filth album, their is the opening keyboard intro of In Grandeur and Frankincense(more like orchestra). Although it is overdone, it works. It sets the classical and almost french overtone for the album. Shat out of hell gives the listener the basis for the album, tremolo picking, blast beats, classical overtones. Other than the name, like the rest of the album, it isn't half bad. But then, "The Death of Love," comes into play and it is gorgeous. Like the earlier, "Courting Baphomet" Cradle is starting to get into this happy and sugary sound. The dual harmonies, the sputtering female vocals may be pop at it's highest but It's brilliant. It recounts what made Her Ghost in the Fog one of my favorite songs and perhaps why they are the most popular band, they are actually composers.

And more importantly Doug Bradley (Hellraiser fame) narrates the introductions to the album. Somehow when we get to the song, "Midnight Shadows," I have to smile at his low croaking voice, "Sometimes I beheaded them with daggers, with poniards, with knives Sometimes I suspended them in my room," this paints Gilles de Rais, in a dark medieval room smiling over a cart of corpses.

All the other songs are slightly derivative and not as much worth the mention like the gleaming, "Death of Love". There are high points. The large choirs in Honey and Sulphur, the memorable riffs and eastern and almost, "french" keyboard passages in Midnight Shadows and the 13th Ceaser. Like Thornography and it's excellent track, "the Byronic Man" the evergrowing personable and commercial guitar harmonies still are in play. Luckily, Dani Filth's voice isn't as gravelly as on Thornography; but it will never be the wailing and annoying banshee from Dusk and her Embrace, ever ever again.

Godspeed on the Devil's thunder is not quite as eloquent of the underrated Nymphetamine let's be sure and although Cradle of Filth always prove they were unique and above their contemporaries; they still should be judged on quality. The guitar tone is genuinely Filth, the themes and lyrics still almost as portent as ever. Yet, the constant blast beats, repition and overproduction just doesn't make this classic. Yearning for the past, the wintry brilliance of Cruelty and the Beast, proves wrong; But for a story of the ornate and perverted medieval imagery of Gilles de Rais, the low narration of Doug Bradley, the classical overtones and sometimes shining moments like, "the Death of Love", Godspeed on the Devil's Thunder is worth the price tag. Just do me a favor and pick up their first five albums (yes, that includes Vempire).


user ratings (388)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Francis A. Calliento (3)
Another Cradle of Filth album......

CradleDefender (5)
Cradle of Filth's greatest album of all time. Their magnum opus....

TheJesusCodpiece (4)
A welcome return to familiar territory...

Channing Freeman STAFF (1)
Cradle of Filth released another album. They're so cute....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dash
March 13th 2009



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didn't say it was similar.

Btw, look at a map and look how close the two are, of course they share similarities. Apple and oranges, still fruit.

You seem confused. Lord Byron was a famous Romantic poet that CoF is extremely influenced by. The band writes poetic material and in my opinion, are more of poets (Dani Filth) than typical metal musicians.

Also, the album has a certain french sound to it and is about a french man. I apologize if I didn't make this clear in the review.
This Message Edited On 03.13.09This Message Edited On 03.13.09This Message Edited On 03.13.09

Dash
March 13th 2009



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That is only your subjective opinion. Read the lyrics to the mini-album Vempire. In my case I prefer the style more-so than most of the Romantics. Again, this is my review, not yours. If you don't like the fact that I think Dani Filth writes poetic lyrics than you're allowed to disagree but your just being rude if you tell me to, "hang myself".This Message Edited On 03.13.09

I hate Henry Rollins but I'm not going to tell you to go hang.This Message Edited On 03.13.09

taylormemer
March 13th 2009



4917 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol

rasputin
March 13th 2009



14540 Comments


A lot of typos in your review, you really need to proof read.

Also, some of your descriptions aren't very good at all.
[quote=review]Cradle of Filth have always sounded British, or perhaps closely French.[/quote]
[quote=review]It sets the classical and almost french overtone for the album.[/quote]
[quote=review]eastern and almost, "french" keyboard passages in Midnight Shadows and the 13th Ceaser.[/quote]
What does any of that even mean? How can something sound 'french'? How can something sound both 'eastern' and 'french' at the same time? Perhaps some other forms of description would make your review seem a lot more credible.

To add to that, comparing the band's lyrics to classic works is pretty laughable. You say you prefer Cradle of Filth's lyrical substance to that of well reputed romantic writers, and that's your opinion, but prepare to be ridiculed for having a terrible opinion.

taylormemer
March 13th 2009



4917 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Something can sound French, look at the French Impressionist classical works from Satie, Debussy, Ravel, Dukas and Chaminade. But to say this is classical, with 'French Overtones', while being Eastern as well, is pretty hilarious, especially in this context.

rasputin
March 13th 2009



14540 Comments


Something can sound French, look at the French Impressionist classical works from Satie, Debussy, Ravel, Dukas and Chaminade

I agree to an extent, but all those composers would probably have a more appropriate adjective to describe their similarities rather than 'french'. And in application to Cradle of Filth it's a pretty stupid description.

SKUDstorm
March 13th 2009



136 Comments


dongs

Dash
March 13th 2009



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok fine. I'll compare Wordsworth to a lyric.
No motion has she now, no force;
She neither hears nor sees;
Rolled round in earth’s diurnal course,
With rocks, and stones, and trees.

Cradle of Filth:
When the sun has wept upon the waveless lake
And the mists steal in with ease
Covened wolves are their eerie dissonant napes
In adoration of the moon and thee

I much prefer the bottom one.

It has all those qualities. It sounds almost arabic in some parts, french in others and the synths are very classical in orientation. I don't see the problem. It's what I hear.

When I listen to Peste Noire or Celestia there is a CLEAR french sound to it and I found traces of that in Godspeed, although commercial.

It seems anyone who has gave this album a positive review gets lambasted for it. I thought the guy who gave it a 5 wrote an excellent review and everyone just called him a bastard and told him to leave.
This Message Edited On 03.13.09This Message Edited On 03.13.09

rasputin
March 13th 2009



14540 Comments


Ok fine. I'll compare Wordsworth to a lyric.
No motion has she now, no force;
She neither hears nor sees;
Rolled round in earth’s diurnal course,
With rocks, and stones, and trees.

Cradle of Filth:
When the sun has wept upon the waveless lake
And the mists steal in with ease
Covened wolves are their eerie dissonant napes
In adoration of the moon and thee


Haha, way to totally ruin your own argument. If you can't see the difference in those two passages, and how contrived and lame the CoF lyrics are, then I'm assuming you're, for want of a better expression, literature-deaf.


It has all those qualities. It sounds almost arabic in some parts, french in others and the synths are very classical in orientation. I don't see the problem. It's what I hear.
And again with the use of a nationality/ethnicity in describing music. Music can't sound 'arabic' or 'french', you need to look up some actual terms for different styles of musicThis Message Edited On 03.13.09

Dash
March 13th 2009



53 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Again, It's subjectivity. Of course everyone in here who hates CoF with a passion is going to say those lyrics suck but I among many people enjoy them A LOT. I realize the Wordsworth piece is in poetic meter etc etc but I much prefer the CoF sample for its far superior imagery. I get little imagery from Wordsworth but with the Dusk and her Embrace example, I can literally feel the mist, the wolves, the lake. If you are telling me I am somehow literary deaf for having an opinion, than so be it.

"And again with the use of an ethnicity in describing music. Music can't sound 'arabic' or 'french', you need to look up some actual terms for different styles of music"

I'm not saying its LITERALLY Arabic music or that it's from France, it just certainly has those feelings.

Oh and btw, where are all these typos? I see two, at most. I think you're just an elitist.
This Message Edited On 03.13.09This Message Edited On 03.13.09This Message Edited On 03.13.09

Essence
March 13th 2009



3583 Comments


subjectivity means nothing if you are an idiot

joshuatree
Emeritus
March 13th 2009



3743 Comments


terrible review
yes this has been said how can something sound french unless its like air or justice something those guys are french right but thats fucking electronicaThis Message Edited On 03.13.09

KILL
March 13th 2009



71482 Comments


jealous

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

jingledeath
March 13th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

infidels

Phantom
March 13th 2009



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

What can be derived from this discussion is...lol, Cradle Of Filth

TricksterGRex
March 13th 2009



2087 Comments


How about this sounds like a pile of shit.

KILL
March 13th 2009



71482 Comments


u better run before hawks gets here

Rugter32
March 13th 2009



754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review is meh. I've seen better. The best review here is Chan's, and not for the score. It's just ****ing awesome.

Album could be better, far from their best, but far from their worst. The Death of Love, Midnight Shadows Crawl to Darken Counsel with Life and the title track are completely badass though

BallsToTheWall
March 13th 2009



44197 Comments


Great album is great.

Digging: My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge

XulOnerom
July 16th 2009



1818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I read this review because it was the one that agreed with the rating I gave this album. I have seen worse, but this is still pretty mediocre. You called Nymphetamine both "underrated" and "a dissapointment" (sic). Also, you said that Satyricon's last album was Nemesis Divina, which came out 13 years ago.

Btw, I think that COF lyrics are actually pretty good, but comparing them to classic literary works is, quite frankly, exaggerating. I listen to Pantera way more than I listen to Mozart, but comparing the two would make me sound like an idiot



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy