Skinny Puppy
The Greater Wrong of the Right


3.5
great

Review

by Merkaba33 USER (14 Reviews)
November 16th, 2008 | 27 replies | 9,417 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The industrial wizards return from the dead and offer one of their more apealing albums.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Usually when a group goes on hiatus for an extended period of time, you don’t expect them to return. You surely wouldn’t expect a group in this kind of situation to return with an album actually worth your time. Well there are exceptions to everything and Skinny Puppy’s “The Greater Wrong of the Right” is one of them. Sure they could have thrown in the towel and called it a career. Especially considering that their lead keyboardist Dwayne Goettel died midway through their prior album. But instead the group decided some eight years later to return the studio and make another album. Of course they didn’t just settle for the same but decided to push the group in yet another direction.

Right away you will notice something different about the style of sound. Instead of wondering what the hell Ogre is saying, we are treated to some clear and obvious lyrics early on. In the first track “I’mmortal” we hear a repeated “Just lookin’ for something” Some of the most pronunciated lyrics from Ogre up to this point. This continues into the next track titled “Pro-test”, in which we hear “(In the streets), Hit me in the streets (Hit me! Hit me)” over and over again in a rather blatant fashion. Of course you will still have to find some official lyrics while trekking your way through the heavy use of vocal distortion. That is if you are even interested in what is being said. While staying on this track (“Pro-test”) I should mention that it is also much more dance friendly. Its simple beats and catchy vocal melodies give it a much more techno vibe. This shouldn’t be a total surprise if you heard their preceding album, “The Process”, which showed hints of this sound in tracks like “Blue Serge” and “Morter” While this style is apparent on other tracks of this album, it is mostly apparent on the particular track. And this is the only one I feel it doesn’t work. It’s use of simple and conventional sounds make me wonder “Why am I listening to this song if I’m going to listen to this group right now?” If a want to hear a dance groove I’ll listen to The Prodigy or Daft Punk, but if I want to be pushed out of my comfort zone a bit I listen to something like Skinny Puppy.

While many of these tracks, with their minor key piano licks (Empte) and less dense sound (Ghostman), feel as if they could have easily been plopped into “The Process”, the album still definitely manages to add new sounds and ideas. Tracks like “I’mmoratal” and “Past and Present” features some truly fresh and superb keyboard work. And Tool’s Danny Carey uses his tom work to help give “Use Less” a very cool tribal feel. Something I would sure like to hear more of. The album as a whole has a much grander feel to it as well. Songs like “Empte” and “Use Less” uses timpani and other loud percussion to slowly make these dramatic chord progressions come to life. I can tell quality time has been put into nearly every song allowing me to easily listen to this album all the way through.

Of course there are some flaws I should mention. First off, Ogre is sometimes just flat out annoying on this album. Listening to him whine “Neeeeew wooooorld ooooorder” on “Neewerld” gets kind of old quickly. His vocal melodies are just not as strong on certain tracks as well. “Pro-test” and “Downsizer” feature some repetitive and monotonous melodies that also grow tiresome quickly. Lyrics also seem to take a backseat on this album. Maybe it’s just because we can actually hear some of his lyrics now, but in any event we’re forced to hear some less than stellar lyrical work. The lyrics of “Pro-test” that were posted earlier display one of the lower points of the album lyrically. You’re probably thinking I’ve really trashed that song by now and I guess I have. It’s actually not that bad of a song, it just displays a lot of the issues I had with this album. However, these flaws do little to take away from the overall sound of the album.

I’m really glad Skinny Puppy didn’t just stop making music. Not just because I love their music, but because I think this one of their better albums. It has some really well done songs that push the envelope for further development of their ever progressing sound. Like always, the digital layering is outstanding and the songs this time out are very catchy (sometimes too catchy). It brings back the heavy hitting effects that were lacking on “The Process” but retains the same moodiness and groove that that album achieved. I would strongly recommend this album to any industrial fan, or any electronica fan for that matter. What do you have to lose? It’s not like Ogre is growling much anymore. Unless you let the spooky melodies scare you away, there’s no reason not to check this out.



Recent reviews by this author
Orbital In SidesAlice in Chains Sap
KMFDM AngstDavid Wise DK Jamz: Original Donkey Kong Country ST
Peter Gabriel Passion Soundtrack Singles (Original Soundtrack)
user ratings (110)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Merkaba33
November 16th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool, im glad some spamming fuck just came and negged me for no reason.This Message Edited On 12.01.08

rasputin
November 16th 2008



14540 Comments


Don't worry Merkaba, as soon as a mod sees it he can pretty much delete everything in a few seconds.

Merkaba33
November 16th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey this is a question for the mods. Is there any way i can take these this dude's comments off? It's obvious he's just spamming the shit out of people seeing as he just joined today.This Message Edited On 11.16.08

ManWomanBoogie
November 16th 2008



185 Comments


I pretty much stated this in the mod thread, but right now, I don't think the sputnik mods are on.

Merkaba33
November 16th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't worry Merkaba, as soon as a mod sees it he can pretty much delete everything in a few seconds.


well i guess that answers my question. thanks


DeadToPain
November 16th 2008



694 Comments


Review is alright. It actually is reverse of what I feel on this album. I think it's poorly thought out, and somewhat rushed. And I love "Pro-Test" for whatever reason. You backed yourself up well though, so much respect.

Go to youtube and find the Techno-Viking video with "Pro-Test", it's effin' hilarious.

Wonder when WillieFisterbut will be in to share his thoughts.

Merkaba33
November 16th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is that the vid with the breakdancers? I think I've seen it already.

And yeah I'm curious what Willie have to say. I was surprised he hadn't reviewed this.

Burn2Burn
November 16th 2008



2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The first 4 tracks are all so solid. This is prolly my 3rd favorite cd by them.

DeadToPain
November 16th 2008



694 Comments


No breakdancers, just Techno-Viking. It's so very amusing. I love it!

I may have to review this just to give a counterpoint. Skinny Puppy is one of my favorites, I just feel as if this was a misstep for them. I don't think these guys will ever live down Dwayne's influence.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2008



20856 Comments


When there are 2 spelling mistakes in the summary, it doesn't really motivate you to read further. I did though & this is actually quite a good review if you exclude quite a few sentences that read terribly awkwardly. A simple spell-check would overcome all this and you would be left with a pretty darn good review. Or, as the reviewer puts it at the end of the first paragraph; "Mostly of which is good".


Willie
Moderator
November 16th 2008



15912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I definitely agree that you could have used some sort of spell checking program, but the content of the review is good.

Listening to him whine “Neeeeew wooooorld ooooorder” on “Neewerld” gets kind of old quickly.
That is easily one of the worst songs I've ever heard... from them or any band.
Maybe it’s just because we can actually hear some of his lyrics now, but in any event we’re forced to hear some less than stellar lyrical work. The lyrics of “Pro-test” that were posted earlier display one of the lower points of the album lyrically.
That's not entirely true. He's still writing using a lot of imagery and play on words. Their lyrics are still as social conscious as always. In fact, actually read the entire lyrics to Pro-Test to see what I mean.
http://www.lyricstime.com/skinny-puppy-pro-test-lyrics.html
It’s not like Ogre is growling much anymore.
Check out the latest OhGr album ;)

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Chrononaut
November 16th 2008



6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

First post here. Ever.

IDM is not Skinny Puppy's genre. What happened to the shocking live shows and raw political honesty? A few of the tracks are stellar, usually the ones with guest spots. I never thought I'd say this about a Puppy album, but "The Greater Wrong the Right" is hit and miss. Oh well, it's beats the turd of an album that would follow.This Message Edited On 11.16.08

Willie
Moderator
November 16th 2008



15912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There hasn't been any real "shocking" live shows since the "Last Rights" tour, but it's not like the tour for this album was family friendly or anything. I also heard that the tour for their last album did bring back some of the more shocking elements (although I didn't see them this time).
The album that follows this one isn't that bad, it seems like a step back towards what people expect from classic Puppy. Like I told the other guy, the best post-Dwayne Puppy album is actually OhGr's new album.

Zippermouth
November 16th 2008



1305 Comments


What is Industrial? I've never even heard of the genre.
I take it this is good stuff.

Willie
Moderator
November 16th 2008



15912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The closest most people get to industrial is Nine Inch Nails which isn't even really industrial a lot of the time. The genre has some really good stuff and some really bad stuff. This isn't a good album to start with. Too Dark Park is a better place.

Merkaba33
November 16th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah i can't believe i didn't notice those mistakes in the summary. it was late last night. although i did use spell check for the rest of the entire review and it didn't catch any of my awkward sentences. Let me know where they are at and I'll try and change em.

Merkaba33
November 16th 2008



702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's not entirely true. He's still writing using a lot of imagery and play on words. Their lyrics are still as social conscious as always. In fact, actually read the entire lyrics to Pro-Test to see what I mean.

Well I was just pointing out that particular line of the song which sounded too repetetive and dull to be the main line of the song.

Willie
Moderator
November 17th 2008



15912 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well I was just pointing out that particular line of the song which sounded too repetetive and dull to be the main line of the song.
Ok, that makes more sense. To me it just came off like you were talking about the lyrics in general. Glad to see this get a review

Wizard
November 18th 2008



19343 Comments


Glad to see some Skinny Puppy reviews popping up amongst most of these garbage metal bands hahaha. The content of the review was excellent, the grammar wasn't so much in some areas.

Album really didn't do anything for me, but I will give it another shot when I have time.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Burn2Burn
April 16th 2009



2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Goneja positively slays.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy