Empyrium
Songs of Moors and Misty Fields


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (70 Reviews)
June 26th, 2008 | 43 replies | 11,407 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist


5 of 7 thought this review was well written

Since everyone else seems to be doing a doom metal review the past couple of days, I thought that I would do one too. Ok first of all, I'll be the first to admit that I'm not a doom metal expert by any means. I only listen to a few bands in the genre, but after listening to this album I can tell you that I definitely want more. Empyrium isn't a pure doom band. Thats their main genre, but they also mix in elements of black and folk metal. This album is probably one of the most epic albums I own and anyone who's reading this should try to own it too.

The main thing that makes this album great is the atmosphere and I think thats the main thing in all doom metal albums because even though the guitars, bass, and drums probably arent doing anything special, the atmosphere of the album makes it so good. Just think of early black metal records like In the Nightside Eclipse or Dusk and Her Embrace and you will understand the atmosphere this album gives off. Like I said earlier, the instruments do nothing special. They are going in true doom metal fashion, slow and sort of depressing. The beginning of The Blue Mists of Night goes pretty fast for a doom record. The guitarists play fast, melodic black metal riffs with some pretty fast drumming, not blast beats, but fast. Then it slows down and the acoustic guitars come in and then from that point on the album is slow the rest of the way. Acoustic guitars are used quite a bit throughout this album. They are used in almost every song and thats the folk element that this album brings. Other folk instruments such as flutes are also used several times throughout the course of the album.

The vocals on the album are absolutely amazing. He has three main styles, a black metal shriek, a clean voice, and a regular, gothic-like talking voice. More often than not he uses the clean singing voice and it might remind you of Jari from Wintersun and the black metal vocals sound almost exactly like Silenius from Summoning and Abigor. All three vocal styles are used in every song. All of the songs except for the opening instrumental are extremely long ranging from 6 to 9 minutes. That just helps to make this album even more epic.

This album and band has definitely opened my eyes to the doom metal world and I can tell you that this album might open your eyes too. If you're a fan of black, doom, or folk metal, this album will probably amaze you. It's definitely one of the best albums I've ever had the pleasure of hearing and everyone else should listen too. Even if you're not into any of the kinds of metal that I mentioned, you should still check this out. You never know, it might surprise you.



Recent reviews by this author
Xanthochroid Blessed He With BoilsCradle of Filth Midnight in the Labyrinth
Istapp BlekingeAntediluvian Through the Cervix of Hawaah
Marduk Dark EndlessDer Sturmer A Banner Greater than Death
user ratings (116)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
June 26th 2008



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not a huge doom fan, but after listening to this and some other albums, plus some recommendations from rasputin, I'll be getting more.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

Crimson
June 26th 2008



1935 Comments


First sentence is really pointless.

SCREAM!
June 26th 2008



10038 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review is hit and miss. At some points it looks good but parts like this for example:

They are going in true doom metal fashion, slow and doom like.
Bring it down. If you touch it up a bit i might vote. THis does sound interesting though. You should really try to steer away from always 4.5 and 5 reviews.

Digging: Old Witch - Come Mourning Come

Hawks
June 26th 2008



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There we go, I changed that part. I couldnt think of anything to put when I was writing it lol.

SCREAM!
June 26th 2008



10038 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just that oen sentence actually makes it a lot better lol. Ill vote. But yeah, try doing a negative review next time. Youve been doing lots of 4.5-5.

Hawks
June 26th 2008



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah you're right.

combustion07
June 26th 2008



5343 Comments


Good review, I'll vote. I added this to the list of cds I need to get.

BallsToTheWall
June 26th 2008



44194 Comments


Wintersunset is amazing and so is Wood Grouse. I'll be sure to pick this up. Nice review. DOOOOOOM.

Digging: My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge

Hawks
June 26th 2008



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys.

Wizard
June 26th 2008



19343 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Since everyone else seems to be doing a doom metal review the past couple of days, I thought that I would do one too.

Lose this first line.

Not a bad review Hawks. You should try to do a more critical review next time around (even though you ripped apart the last Darkthrone album, which needs to be done more around here hahaha). This doesn't mean you should be negative for the sake of it, but I would try and do something where you don't feel the album is perfect. Makes for a far more interesting read and will really make you picky with your 5's (I'm one to talk). Keep up the good work.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Thor
June 26th 2008



10186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album is kinda long and shitty.

Hawks
June 26th 2008



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think length of the album makes it even better actually.

Thor
June 26th 2008



10186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was actually supposed to review this a while ago because of some forum thread. I didn't because, well, I couldn't get through it.

Hawks
June 26th 2008



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha. Try again. You never know, you might like it.This Message Edited On 06.26.08

Hawks
July 31st 2008



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to this right now for the first time in a while. Most of my time has been occupied by Buried in Oblivion, but I thought I would give this a listen. It still rules IMO.

mothergoose
June 15th 2009



308 Comments


I love Weiland, will have to check this out though it's supposedly nothing like it.

Hawks
June 15th 2009



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well from what I've heard around the site, Weiland is a neofolk album, but this is a doom/folk/black metal album. So yeah they're probably pretty different.

plutosatanclubhouse
June 15th 2009



142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fucking awesome album tbh

rasputin
July 25th 2009



14540 Comments


it's similar, but no where near as good. a lot more synthy lameness

Hawks
July 26th 2009



35638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You should probably still give it a shot man.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy