The Dillinger Escape Plan
Ire Works


4.5
superb

Review

by The Writer Ov This Review USER (49 Reviews)
May 21st, 2008 | 54 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ire Works is Dillinger Escape plans latest release. Though its not as good as their former release Miss Machine, this album will trample you, make you bang your head, and every now and then make you snap your finger.

Dillinger Escape Plan have been known as a experimental band in the (Place word here) core genre, taking it into new and dare I say progressive places. This album just takes those experimental sections to a new level. Strap in, and prepare yourself because because your about to be leveled by spastic core that is as all over the place as your tweeked out neighboor.

The album opens up with the chaotic song Fix your Face. The vocals on this are agressive. The riffs are really catchy, at about the one minute mark they give you a little time to rest after the beating you just recieved then its right back into the chaos. This song gives you a taste of one side of Dillinger Escape Plan's Octagon of musical personalities, but don't worry if this didn't grab your attention you'll get to meet the other sides of them soon.

The Dillinger Escape Plan is a very dynamic group, they go from chaos to gongs and electronic soundscapes. The vocals are very varied on this (more than I am used to as a metalhead) There is a lot of energy throughtout the album. Dillinger is unable to put in just one catergory, and this album proves that. I don't think there are two songs on the album that sound the same in the least bit, though the vocals can sound kind of alike on some of the heavy songs.

You can never get bored with this album, the variation on this album is unmatched by anything else I've heard. Black Bubblegum is one of my favorite songs on the album, its got a pop feel to it, and its catchy. Kind of seems like something that you would hear on TRL flipping through channels and be pleasantly surprised with. The song Mouth of Ghosts sounds like something Pink Floyd would make, its one of my favorite album closers.

There are more electronic elements on this album then on previous releases, there are also quite a few wierd noises thrown all over the place, it really adds to the music. The electronic sounds really bend good with the rest of the music on the record. The drumming on the album is phenominal, and it doesn't sound exactly the same throughout the cd. The guitarwork is great, it is also catchy enough most of the time for a fan of more mainstream music to like. I can see this becoming a gateway album for people to get into heavier music. The album has about 4 or 5 songs that are a break from all of the chaos.

The band says they listen to more than just agressive stuff, and that really reflects onto this album in my opinion. The album hits almost every genre I know of at some point in the albums playing time. Throught the whole length of the record it doesn't drag at all, with how much variation this has it has tons of replay value (I listen to it at least twice every week and never get bored) Album of 2007? I don't know about that but this has to be damn close for me. This is a fun listen, and everytime I listen to it I find something in the backround of the music that I didn't notice before.

Overall I give this a 4.5. out of 5, this is one of the highest 4.5's in my ratings, the only reason its not a 5 is because of how some of the vocals get a little boring on the really heavy songs. Other than that this cd has no noticable flaws.

Pros
------
Lots of variation
Electronic noises make for interesting listen
Tons of replay value

Cons
-------
Vox may get boring at some points


Rec. Songs
--------------
Black Bubblegum
Mouth of Ghosts
Lurch
Milk Lizard
Sick on Sunday



Recent reviews by this author
Blaspherian Infernal Warriors Of DeathHaeresiarchs Of Dis Denuntiatus Cinis
Ana Kefr The Burial Tree (II)Autaric Demo 2009
Candle Serenade Nosferatu's PassionScaremaker What Evil Have They Summoned...
user ratings (2062)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
combustion07
May 21st 2008


5359 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Everything I just put up are reposts of reviews I had before the system failure.

razedtotheground
May 22nd 2008


368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So far I would say this is decent, but much weaker than their other albums.

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain

Wizard
May 23rd 2008


19407 Comments


make bang your head

This sounds like a Borat line.

Not a bad review, a little skimpy on the details though. Maybe beef it up a tid bit?

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

TrojanWhore
May 23rd 2008


752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I'm agreed with wizard. This is a very underrated album but I wouldn't call it a 4.5 as it just has too much filler.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i'd repost mine but i typed it in a facebook note and i didn't save it

TrojanWhore
May 23rd 2008


752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked your review chan. Twas very good.

Ouch
May 23rd 2008


546 Comments


this album was kind of boring, but its good still.

FR33L0RD
May 23rd 2008


1464 Comments


Im curious about this band.
what album should i get first if i want a feel of this band.

KritikalMotion
May 23rd 2008


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Calculating Infinity AND Miss Machine, if you don't like Calculating Infinity still try Miss Machine.

Digging: Death From Above 1979 - The Physical World

HighandDriving
May 23rd 2008


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Good dig.

That's a tough question but most would say Calculating Infinity just because that's their first and most intense album. If that turns you off and you want something more polished go for this or Miss Machine.This Message Edited On 05.23.08

morjens
June 17th 2008


207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Saw these guys last night and wow, fucking awesome. The most energetic and intense live show i've ever seen. For some weird reason though they didn't have any merch to sell cause some stuff got mixed up. Anyways i think the user rating on this record shouldn't be that low, this record isn't as good as their previous releases but goddamn, it's still a great record and one of the best of last year.

froghawk
June 24th 2008


127 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album takes Miss Machine and focuses it. Miss Machine sounded more spastic than Calculating Infinity because they couldn't stick with any sound in any given song - even the poppier songs included a bunch of mathcore chaos. It seemed like they were trying extremely hard with that record to prove that they're not one trick ponies - that they could have played any style they wanted, but instead tried to imitate.

To say that the crazier tracks here are Panasonic Youth ripoffs is to ignore how much more focused this record is. Panasonic Youth starts off with a crazy riff, then quickly simplifies and becomes more melodic and punkish. The only song on Miss Machine which is truly focused is the closer, The Perfect Design. The whole album is scattered, and every song rambles. In short, Miss Machine is a mess - an appealing mess, but a mess nonetheless.

By contrast, in Ire Works, they separate out their experiments and mathcore tracks into separate songs. Not only does this give the individual songs far more focus and power, but it allows them to create a flowing, cohesive album. For instance, Black Bubblegum takes some mathcore riffs, simplifies them, and creates a track that sounds like a fusion of Justin Timberlake and DEP, and somehow makes it fit in with the tracks on either side of it. In terms of production, it's their clearest and most powerful yet. Miss Machine often suffered from overcompression.

The sum effect is that this album holds together as a whole release far better than Miss Machine, while being free of the monotony of Calculating Infinity. Sure, it's not as good as Irony Is A Dead Scene, but this might be their most polished full length. It does have a few slip-ups (Dead As History becomes dull pretty quickly), but on the whole, this is a damn solid release.

SpinLightTwo
June 24th 2008


1041 Comments


Miss Machine was pretty tight, imo.

the middle of this record is just pretty stupid at times. The electronic tracks have nice melodies, but they leave a lot to be desired.

RandMcNally
June 25th 2008


158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its not Calculating Infinity, but its still Dillinger, and its fucking awesome.

Only issue is have is that due to the eclectic almost bi-polar nature and arrangement of the tracks, its difficult to listen to it all the way through at once. If i want to listen to something heavy, im skipping some tracks, which is a shame coz every song is great.



BallsToTheWall
June 27th 2008


44382 Comments


This is pretty good so far but can someone explain the nature of their live shows. I always skim through a mag about them putting on a dangerous show but never know what they do.

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

MyRamona
July 6th 2008


1075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I shouldn't have overlooked this album, it's definately awesome.

Porklips
August 7th 2008


86 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

About as good as Miss Machine, maybe better.
Sort of weird how people consider Miss Machine a classic, while calling this garbage.

jconley77
August 12th 2008


63 Comments


motherFUCKER i just wrote a goddamn BOOK about this album and the fucking website reset me. FUCK

Boognish
February 18th 2009


1003 Comments


Good album, but Greg Puciato needs to stop imitating Mike Patton. It's getting ridiculous.

cjgone
March 8th 2009


766 Comments


Can anyone give me a song to get into this band?

I listen to prog death metal and some other techy bands like protest the hero and BTBAM.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy