Avenged Sevenfold
City of Evil


3.0
good

Review

by radianteclipse USER (26 Reviews)
June 9th, 2005 | 219 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Avenged Sevenfold broke onto the scene with the metalcore album "Sounding the Seventh Trumpet", and there was no doubt about it that there was something special about them even then. Sure, they were young, and the music wasn't entirely polished, and Shadow's vocals needed a lot of work...but the album was better than most metalcore you will hear these days. Then something happened, and soon enough the band progressed into something almost entirely different. With "Waking the Fallen", they established themselves as a full blown metal band with punk influences, and gained a lot of fans in the process. Combining soaring clean vocals and powerful screams with heavy riffs and melodic interludes, this band really created an epic atmosphere.

The band, however, was faced with a hardship. M.Shadows blew a blood vessel in his throat, and was now not able to do his trademark scream. The band was to go into a new direction, and with so much talk leading up to it, it was nearly impossible to predict what to expect.

...and yet now it is finally here. "City of Evil", the thrid album from the Orange County group. And this time they have pulled out of the pack, broken down the boundaries, and created a true metal masterpiece. Every track a breathtaking epic, borrowing from bands like Iron Maiden, Metallica, and Guns N' Roses and adding their own twist upon it, creating something entirely original. Shadows voice has never sounded better, perfecting the metal voice, and at times sounding very reminiscent of Axl Rose. Synester Gates has proven he is quite possibly the greatest guitarist of this decade with soloes that even Slash might have difficulty perfecting. This album has everything, breathtaking soloes, beautiful melodies, even a full blown orchestra and choir moment that could give anyone goosebumps.

Avenged Sevenfold has destroyed the scene. They are nowhere near similar to any band still together today. They are original, and in this day and age that almost seems impossible. Meet your new metal gods, and an album that thirty years from now could very well be rememberd as a metal classic.

Now a track by track review.

1. Beast and the Harlot- 10/10. This was the first song I think most of us got a hold of from the album before it came out, and it definately got me interested. It starts out with one of the few (if not the only) screams you will hear on this album. The chorus is a bit iffy, but the track is definately a great opener.

2. Burn It Down- 9/10: Great song with an awesome breakdown and amazing solo. Only gripe is Shadows voice is at its most nasally at the chorus of this track and it can get a bit irritating after awhile. Other than that, great song.

3. Blinded in Chains- 8/10; This is probably my least favorite track on the album, but thats not saying its bad at all. It starts out very similar to "Burn it Down", and it gets a little boring as the song progresses. Some parts seem a little out of place

4. Bat Country- 10/10: A very fun song to listen to. Sounds very 80's metalish and a very singable chorus. Awesome song.

5. Trashed and Scattered: 10/10: I like this song a lot. Shadow's voice sounds very edgy in this one, and for the most part this track reminds me the most of the Waking the Fallen days out of any other track on here. The almost rap-like chorus is a bit weird, but interesting. And I really enoyed the little Axl Rose like yelp Shadows throws in there every so often.

6. Seize the Day- 10/10: Oh how I miss the days of a good power ballad. This song is definately paying tribute to the G'N'R days.Shadows sounds almost exactly like Axl Rose, and Synester Gates solo is one of the most amazing I have ever heard, and sounds just like something Slash would have come up with.

7. Sidewinder- 10/10: A very epic feeling track, and could quite possibly be my favorite track on the album, second only too maybe "The Wicked End". A great chorus, and the latin sounding part towards the end is remarkable.

8. The Wicked End- 10/10: Probably my favorite track on this album. Definately the most epic. It's about the apocalypse, and sounds like the very thing its about. A great heavy metal track, and then the beatiful orchestral and choir part about 4 or 5 minutes into the song. Absolutely breathtaking.

9. Strength of the World: 10/10: Very power metalish. And the chorus sounds very much like that with the deep chanting. Great song and I love the latin sounding intro with the twangy guitars.

10. Betrayed: 8/10: If this album lags at all, this is where it starts too. It's a solid track, but the rest of the tracks on this album kind of make this one pale in comparison. Even so, the guitar work is amazing and the solo incredible. No surprise there.

11. M.I.A- 8/10: Great solo, and very touching towards the end. It's a very good way to close the album.



Recent reviews by this author
Between the Buried and Me The Great MisdirectDevendra Banhart What Will We Be
The Swell Season Strict JoyThe Swell Season Once: Music From The Motion Picture
Katy Perry One of the BoysStolen Babies There Be Squabbles Ahead
user ratings (3222)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cecillianne
June 9th 2005


19 Comments


Good review. I really liked The Beast and the Harlot, and I think I'll buy the album and check the rest out.

Broken Wings
June 9th 2005


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I...Fucking...Love...That...Album. Ive always known a7x were amazing, and i honestly thought they wouldnt top waking the fallen, but theyve done it. Synyster has finaly settled into his role and has left every other guitarist in the dust behind him! Sweep picking anyone? Oh Yes indeed! Amazing Album 10/10

spoon_of_grimbo
June 9th 2005


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amazing!!! The first 5 tracks are the best full on heavy metal songs i have ever heard ever!!! and the rest of the album is a bit more experimental, which means some crazy shit going on! WHICH IS ALWAYS GUD!!!

beg borrow or steal this album if you have to, OR YOU SUCK!

Mister_Sparkle
June 9th 2005


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is a great album i was gonna write a review on it but you beat me to it and yours is probly better than mine would be ;)

Shadius
June 9th 2005


203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm really liking this album so far. Great sound, I'm checking out their older stuff now.

Arucard
June 9th 2005


575 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great album, totally pwns WTF. Buy it. Now.

LiZeR
June 9th 2005


49 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

WTF is still my favourite A7X album because it was a nice mix of everything. City of Evil is still a great album though, the guitar work is excellent. It's like a dual guitar orgy. Unlike WTF the bass is actually audible on this album. Although Johnny Christ doesn't put out incredible bass riffs, they're still pretty decent. Drumming was also very good with a good dose of double bass.

Some of Shadow's Vocals i thought were kinda annoying. Not all, but some of it he sounds more like he's whining. That's my opinion though.

LgndryOutlaw
June 9th 2005


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

PART 1: Well, to be brutally honest, I would have difficulty giving this album even a 4. I ****ing love A7X, Waking the Fallen is the best album ever, but something seems missing on this album. It seems that since they were signed to a big label, they forgot what got them to where they are now. Musically, it is still very good, but I still find a few faults. The harmonized guitars that were so awesome on WTF were good because they were used in moderation; they seem a bit overused here. The solos are flippin' awesome though.

LgndryOutlaw
June 9th 2005


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

PART 2: Next thing: his voice. Yes, I know he'd have difficulty screaming again, but his voice just seems... weak. On WTF, when he was singing, he sounded powerful and deserving of your attention, but here he just sounds whiny half the time. Trashed and Scattered, imo, is his best vocal performance on this album. It seems like they try too many new things, and don't really blow everyone else out of the water in any of them. I think being on a big label got to them a bit, and they went kind of pop on us. This may not be a bad thing, but because of it, this album pales in comparison to Waking the Fallen.
P.S. - That's all just my opinion. I still think it's a really good album, just not awesome. No flaming please.


LgndryOutlaw
June 9th 2005


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review, by the way

tigerarmy138
June 9th 2005


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

LgndryOutlaw...I'm gonna have to disagree with you...even though you said no flaming. Im not gonna aruge...I just want to point out that of 12 songs on Waking The Fallen (thats including the intro) 9 songs do.

Unholy Confessions
Chapter Four
Reminissions
Desecrate Through Reverance
Eternal Rest
Second Heartbeat
I Wont See You Tonight (Part One)
Clairvoyant Disease
And All Things Will End

All of those are filled with harmonized guitar riffs. Sorry for assholeing this thread up.



-AND FOR THE REVEIW-

I AGREE WITH EVERYTHING!! This album rocked my pants off and threw them in the washing machine 'cause I spooged all over them 3 times while listening to this song.

rockrap274
June 9th 2005


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i got this album and its so f***ing awesome i dont know what i would do with out that albun or any other A7x albums

JacksonPlayerA7X
June 10th 2005


8 Comments


I don't think I've ever read a review that was so dead on with my feelings and thoughts of an album as this one. If I'd review it, it would come out exactly the same, except one small thing:

I like M.I.A. so much I think the 8/10 is just way too low.

radianteclipse
June 10th 2005


397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Waking the Fallen was a great album, and has basically been on my playlist for a very long time now, but this new album just blew me away. Yes I agree the vocals can get annoying, and some of those more narrow minded hardcore kids who hate it because there is no screaming piss me off...but I don't care. It's incredible.

This was my first review by the way, and I hope to get better, so sorry if I didn't do as great of a job as I should.

Jawaharal
June 10th 2005


1832 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I should check this out cause I liked waking the fallen.

LgndryOutlaw
June 10th 2005


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

tigerarmy138-
I know all those songs have harmonized riffs, but I think it sounds better because they're not all over the place, and are offset by the heavier riffs. I dunno, maybe it's just me, but it seems like on CoE, they went a bit overboard, or just cahnged whatever made them awesome before. And I'd just like to say again; I was just pointing out faults I found; still a very good album, just nowehere as good as it could have been.

LgndryOutlaw
June 10th 2005


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And cheeto-t, it's almost nothing like Waking the Fallen. Still good though.

DBL BASS HAMMA
June 10th 2005


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album different than WTF, but their change is awesome. Love the CD. Go buy it if you haven't already! Nice Review...

Amused
June 11th 2005


5 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this album is good, but man, Waking The Fallen murders this lyrically. Shadows
could scream. he was amazing. it just sucks he blew that blood vessel. that being
said, considering he can't scream, it turned out a little better than expected, but i
still find places all over this album where some screaming is very much fitting. this
album didn't strike me as great from the first go around, but after a few times
through you learn to appreciate it for what it is. the last five tracks are real badass.
A7x will prolly become the Gun's And Roses of our generation, and i bet warner is
gonna advertise them that way. this album has mainstream success written all over
it. i guess the next album will prove whether or not mainstream success is a good
thing.
This Message Edited On 06.11.05

Amused
June 11th 2005


5 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

edit: i wanted to give it a 3.5 but i clicked 2.5 by accident. i don't know how to change my rating, cause i am new to this forum.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy