The Roots
The Tipping Point


2.0
poor

Review

by Zesty Mordant USER (24 Reviews)
January 16th, 2005 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


Well here is the new album by the Roots, and with their last two releases, 1999's Things Fall Apart and 2002's Phrenology setting foot on new ground in the hip hop industry and continuing to innovate the genre. in fact, with each release it seems that the roots keep improving on their genre of jazz-based hip hop and continue to move further away from the "norm" with increasingly conceptual lyrics, solid live instrumentation, and unorthodox structure of songs (at least for hip hop).

...that is well, except for this album, as the band has gone through some drastic changes, that i will explain. first thing first is the reduction of the band to a four-piece, of BT, ?uest, kamal, and hub. gone is not only malik b., who was absent from the last album, but scratch and rahzel, and guitarist ben kinney if you want to count him. though the scratch and rahzel were seldom used and more seen as a novelty, their abscence gives the album an empty feel. but more so this empty feel seems to be due to the lack of keys on the album. gone are the sonic textural washes that enriched and refined the musical backdrop, and thus giving the roots a distinct sound. ironically, the band's sound has moved in a very staunch neo-soul direction- which would argubly demand more keys. as since the roots' last two big hits, "you got me" and "break you off" were based in this genre, they seem to have made this decision based on attracting more radioplay and less on continuing to set themselves apart from their contemporaries.

however this not to say that the album is entirely bad, ?uestlove for the most part fills in plenty of the aforementioned aural void created by the lack of keys and the departure of scratch and rahzel with his killer solid beats, and there are indeed plenty of them. as well Black Thought, was lyrics are beginning to become hackneyed and redundant, varies his vocal style immensely. thus this album is almost in a sense puts the listener in a sense of love it or hate it as they listen to the album in its entirety, so here is the track by track review:

Star/Pointro: the album kicks off with a fairly mellow number that samples Sly and the Family Stone. for the most part the drums and bass work very solid together and Black Thought's rapping is enjoyable but a sense of [review not completed]



Recent reviews by this author
J Dilla The ShiningGhostface Killah Fishscale
DJ Shadow The OutsiderStrike Anywhere Dead FM
Johnny Cash At Folsom PrisonDrive-by Truckers Southern Rock Opera
user ratings (234)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
sum1soiledMyBongos
September 22nd 2004


19 Comments


Nice review.
I wasn't too crazy about this album either. I'm pretty sure their label is Okayplayer though, the last album they did under Geffen was Illadelph Halflife

Iai
Emeritus
September 22nd 2004


3553 Comments


There's been a massive hoo-hah with The Root's label. They are currently signed to Geffen, a label that they absolutely hate, because they are constantly trying to stifle The Roots and make them conform to commercial hip-hop standards. They did get off that label recently and sign to MCA, of which OkayPlayer was a subsidiary - but Geffen bought out MCA, so The Roots are now back to square one. That might well explain the quality of this album.

I'd give it a 2.5/5. Easily the most disappointing thing I've heard all year.

Edit: Irony here - it was Geffen's marketing that made everybody think The Roots were so up their own arses about sampling (they never called themselves 'hip-hop's collonic irrigators', Geffen did). So, I wonder - who chose Don't Say Nuthin as the lead single? Was it more horrible marketing from Geffen, trying to back down on the way they'd marketed them earlier by releasing a horrible song that doesn't use live instruments - or was it the band themselves trying to prove a point?

Zesty Mordant
September 22nd 2004


1196 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^^^^
didn't know that and now that kinda explains why the album is such a disappointment, musically.

KemikalKadet
September 25th 2004


4 Comments


yeah i'd agree with that review. i saw them at reading this year and they were easily the best band there. they had the late afternoon slot so the sun was just setting making a really cool atmosphere. so the first thing i did when i got back was buy this record and i was massivly dissapointed. it just kinda seems empty, nothing like they were live. i only ever listen to tracks 6, 7 and the bonus track now. The bonus track does rock though so if you've got a passing interest in the roots i'd download it.

Zesty Mordant
September 18th 2005


1196 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah, I decided to give this album a 2 instead. It's just so disappointing

RandyfromPennywise
August 23rd 2009


752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Low ratings for this, I don't get it. This is sick. One of the better Hip-Hop albums I've heard.

AnvilJ
June 19th 2010


124 Comments


Deserves at least a 3.5. I can see how other reviewers can't quite understand the change from I-Halflife. It stands alone. Like the cheese.

xfearbefore
September 28th 2010


1245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't get the low ratings for this album. "Web" is Black Thought's finest moment lyrically, his delivery and lyricism in that song is simply flooring, a verbal hip hop assault on the ears.

HalfManHalfAmazing
December 25th 2010


565 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Say Cool is one of their best songs.

BigPoppaDiesel
January 26th 2011


150 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Why? (What's goin On)" is air tight. Black Thought on "Boom!" is the shit! For him to transform his voice like legends Big Daddy Kane & Kool G. Rap was insane. I seen him do it live and was blown away!! Hidden tracks "Din-dah-dah (The Drum Song cover)" will make you explode and even 20x better live. This is the most underrated band ever! They are one of the best bands regardless of genre. Appreciate the effort on the review but disagreed on all of it.

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 26th 2011


565 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A five is really pushing it pal, did you love every song on this album and consider it perfect in every way?

BigPoppaDiesel
February 24th 2011


150 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sure did.

captaincrunch11
March 27th 2011


1209 Comments


The hate for this album is retarded.

MUNGOLOID
March 28th 2011


4301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

really isn't that bad.

Tupik
March 28th 2011


672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It doesn't have nearly as much replay value as any other Roots album, but it is really good yeah

WooHa
May 8th 2011


159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is great

ALEXGVEGA
June 24th 2011


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is raw. Doesn't deserve anything lower than a 3

xfearbefore
December 5th 2011


1245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn this shit is underrated in terms of the Roots catalog on here. "Web" is straight up the BEST shit that Black Thought has ever spit, hands down, nothing else even comes close.

Tupik
January 16th 2012


672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I should write a positive review for this, it sure as hell ain't worth a 2...

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2012


6109 Comments


get it nigga



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy