Blur
Blur


2.0
poor

Review

by Porter W. Richards USER (62 Reviews)
September 29th, 2007 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Even if Blur tried to set themselves apart from their peers with this album, there's not much to like.

Blur...yet another one of those bands that I stay away from like the plague. I was never a fan of the britpop revolution of the 1990s, and when Song 2 began to get played on the radio worldwide, it only led to more britpop hate. Sure, Blur wasn’t really that britpop anymore, but they were part of that movement, and they were one of those bands that I refused to listen to. The lead singer’s voice to me was about as irritating and distressed as if you were taking Billy Corgan from Smashing Pumpkins and sticking a knife in his vocal box. The mindless screams of “Woo Hoo!” seemed completely elementary. The guitar work was unbearably repetitive. God, I get just irritated at the thought of talking about Blur.

But, see, the other day, I was quite bored, and took my girlfriend’s copy of Blur’s self-titled, and well, listened to it. Even though this was definitely a biased and forced listen, I took the album, and put it in my CD player...and well, wasn’t really surprised with what I heard. More of the mindless anthems were littered about this record, mixed with strange electronica tinkerings that effectively shut the door for my mind and opinions on this release. I wasn’t expecting much, and that’s exactly what I got with Blur's self-titled.

If I refer to this album as god awful, that’s only beginning to sum it up. This is just not good music, Blur has managed to pull over the biggest sham over music listeners all across the country with one simple song, Song 2. What a mindless, irritating, repetitive, and tough listen to call your lead single. There’s no point to the album either, it’s just a random mishmash of pointless sounds, coerced lyrics, and an overwhelming feel of sub par music. The guitar work is tight and crisp for most of the songs and does well in setting a nice backdrop, but at times it’s messy and all over the place. Albarn’s vocal performances are moronic and about as enjoyable as watching paint dry because his accent doesn't fuse well with the way he overprounces the wrong syllables. But the biggest issue with Blur’s self-titled is the identity crisis the album seems stuck in, as some tracks are hard-edged slow-burning rockers, some are pop anthems, and some are just plain weird techno trances. The tracks show no sign of maturing with the album as it goes on either, as the tracks will go from insane rocker to techno pop anthem with no hesitation at all. It just seems rather half-cooked and immature.

Look, I realize Blur was trying to set themselves apart with this album, but it didn’t work. Even though Blur showed signs of talent, the same feel of bad execution, poor production and mixing methods comes through in waves and harms a potentially earth-shattering band. There’s some signs of excellent guitar work, there’s some signs of good vocal performances, and there’s some signs of excellent techno-influences, but as time would prove Blur never really had what it took to put all these parts together, which would ultimately lead to Blur’s downfall.

So while sounding biased by my hate for the britpop bands of the 1990s, I’d just like to clear the air that well, Blur is a band I was willing to give a chance, but the misfirings of this album, their overall poor sound of their early albums, and the awkward experimentations of their later albums would keep me as far away from Blur as possible. This was Blur’s defining album that would influence their future and their fans, but unfortunately for this band from England, that wasn’t enough to gain me over as a fan, and ultimately they ended up putting out this desperate, rushed, misfired, and overly dramatic release that just wasn’t up to par.



Recent reviews by this author
Radiohead In RainbowsMetallica St. Anger
Porcupine Tree Nil RecurringFoo Fighters Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace
Pink Floyd A Momentary Lapse of ReasonThe Smashing Pumpkins Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
user ratings (491)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Ben Thornburgh CONTRIBUTOR (4)
For Tomorrow: A Guide to Contemporary British Music, 1988-2013 (Part 27)...

(4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
tribestros
September 29th 2007


918 Comments


I'm done writing for a while, but I hope you feel I've taken advice people have given me in this review.

The Jungler
September 29th 2007


4827 Comments


You use the words mindless and repetitive way too much. Not that bad a review though.
I don't really care all that much about Blur, but they did have that one awesome single off Think Tank, but I can't even remember the title of it anymore.

tribestros
September 29th 2007


918 Comments


I changed up parts of it.

Mikesn
Emeritus
September 29th 2007


3709 Comments


Song 2 rules.

Digging: Grimes - Visions

Cesar
September 29th 2007


2732 Comments


Only thing I have to say about review is that some descriptions u gave and how u presented the album it felt u think it is worst than a 2. But thats just what I see.

Besides that nice review; I have never heard this band.

Yyy
September 29th 2007


289 Comments


The first two paragraphs make it seem like you're only reviewing this becuase you have nothing better to do.
You don't really start talking about the music until the forth paragraph, and you don't even really provide much insight into the music. If I had never heard this band before, how would I know what they sound like?

tribestros
September 29th 2007


918 Comments


Heavy britpop, electronic, poppy...etc. etc.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2007


17920 Comments


see your problem is you always try to justify yourself instead of taking advice

tribestros
September 29th 2007


918 Comments


I am TAKING advice. I'm simply saying that I tell the genre and what they sound like VERY well. I will give in to criticism, but it's in plain sight what they sound like.

Yyy
September 29th 2007


289 Comments


You don't tell how they sound at all, unless you count "Britpop", "weird electronic sounds", and "mindless anthems" as anything beyond vague, half-assed attempts at describing music.

You may want to actually cite songs you like/dislike and provide a reason why or describe them. Sometimes people do that in reviews.This Message Edited On 09.29.07

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2007


6094 Comments


There’s no point to the album either, it’s just a random mishmash of pointless sounds, coerced lyrics, and an overwhelming feel of sub par music.

Most of your descriptions come out like this.
Look, I realize Blur was trying to set themselves apart with this album, but it didn’t work. Even though Blur showed signs of talent, the same feel of bad execution, poor production and mixing methods comes through in waves and harms a potentially earth-shattering band. There’s some signs of excellent guitar work, there’s some signs of good vocal performances, and there’s some signs of excellent techno-influences, but as time would prove Blur never really had what it took to put all these parts together, which would ultimately lead to Blur’s downfall.

"excellent techno-influences" is about all I can say about what they sound like from this.
But the biggest issue with Blur’s self-titled is the identity crisis the album seems stuck in, as some tracks are hard-edged slow-burning rockers, some are pop anthems, and some are just plain weird techno trances.

Specifically?
Heavy britpop, electronic, poppy...etc. etc.

Telling me this in the comment section without broadening it in the review doesn't strengthen your review but just proves how little your delved in it there.

You're doing better, but basically what Chan said. You talk about a lot of how and why it's bad, but not necessarily how the sound comes out because of it.

The Jungler
September 29th 2007


4827 Comments


[quote=plath]Good Song?[/quote]Nah, Out of Time is the single I was thinking of.


Justanothernimrod
September 29th 2007


478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nah, this album is brilliant, 'On Your Own' is absolute genius, the musicianship for a pop song is just incredible.

JumpTheF**kUp
September 30th 2007


2710 Comments


[quote="review"]The guitar work was unbearably repetitive.[/quote]

And you think Korn are any different?

Are you actually retarded?

I want a serious answer please.

edit: What everyone else is saying is true. I've never heard anything by Blur aside from Song 2, and I still have no idea what this would sound like, even after reading your review. If I actually had a life, I would be disappointed that I just wasted 5 minutes of my life reading about how your girlfriend listens to music you don't like.This Message Edited On 09.30.07

InvaderANT
October 2nd 2007


10 Comments


This album is way better than a 2 just based on the variety of songs and musical styles on here. WOO HOO!

Chewie
December 31st 2007


4532 Comments


i dont care song 2 was shallow and dumb. But I still fucking love it.

rasputin
December 31st 2007


14550 Comments


I don't think your review is as bad as some of the others are making it out to be, but I think it would make the review better if you wern't so biased sounding. You can still write a negative review without jabbering on about how much you can't stand the music, just say what it is exactly that you don't like about it.

tcaporale
December 31st 2007


177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Absolutely terrible review. You don't provide specific examples for any of the songs, except Song 2, which, if you read information on it, was a joke at the American alternative bands of the time. It was a spoof, intentionally splattered with "woo-hoos" and only for 2 minutes long.

You failed to mention the Beatles-esque brilliance of "Beetlebum", the alt-country tinged "Country Sad Ballad Man," or even the excellent "Death of a Party."

You even said it yourself. You wrote the review biased. Please don't write reviews for something just because you are "bored." Because they come out poor and half-arsed like this one.

Neoteric
December 31st 2007


3243 Comments


rip tribestros

ShadowRemains
May 7th 2010


21161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Song 2 rules."

fuckin 123


Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy