Insomnium
Above the Weeping World


4.5
superb

Review

by Kyle Ward STAFF
September 18th, 2007 | 157 replies | 27,815 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


Despite what many opponents of the band may say, Insomnium's well-worn niche in their respective interpretation of melodic death metal is one that they rule with an iron fist. Their depressive take on the genre is one that rings true with emotion and sincere songwriting prowess, from the thunderous and melodic riffs to the wayward acoustic interludes that piece themselves around the compositions fairly prevalently, but each time placed in a way that the structures fail to become repetitive. Above The Weeping World is a more focused album that ever before for Insomnium, sticking true to what they do best but exploring the many ways it can be presented with a thorough and satisfying exhaustiveness.

The intensity and straight-forwardness of the single “Mortal Share” contrasts the lumbering and deep “At The Gates Of Sleep”, showing the dynamic ability for Insomnium to swing powerfully even though contained within a relatively suffocating space. Tracks like "In The Groves Of Death" feature exhausting beauty and ravaging sorrow that simply no band in the world has replicated in its sheer emotional sincerity, setting Insomnium far above any of their contemporaries. Exploring all the facets of melodic death metal with a seemingly unending catalog of highly melodic and incredibly memorable riffs is the norm on Above The Weeping World, backed by a respectably solid showing by the drums and bass, which are mixed well and not buried or overshadowed. The diversity of songs like “The Killjoy” contain the drawn-out, emotion-laden compositions that are at this point typical Insomnium while shoehorning in intense and sharp rhythms that fit well with Niilo Sevanen’s fitting, if a bit rigid, growls.

It’s hard to point out any real negatives to an album that was so well-composed and complete, an achievement that Insomnium have rightfully attained with Above The Weeping World. There are moments of serenity, moments of intensity, and moments of emotional purity that let you know that everything here is sincere and true. Nothing seems shallow or faked; no riffs lose themselves in their own pretenses. Each and every song has a purpose that, once added together, reveals an overall picture that surpasses the notion of being the sum of its individual parts. It’s an art, and one that Insomnium are well-versed in, because the deep colors and clashing shades are smooth and clean, and despite being painted on the canvas of a genre that seems worn and tattered, Above The Weeping World is a breathtaking piece.



Recent reviews by this author
Panopticon Roads to the NorthEmpyrium The Turn of the Tides
Wolves in the Throne Room CelestiteAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
Insomnium Shadows of the Dying SunAinulindale Nevrast
user ratings (742)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2007



16310 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Love this album. Can't wait for more Insomnium material.This Message Edited On 10.07.07

BallsToTheWall
September 18th 2007



44164 Comments


That is a great review and a great cd. My vote will cancel out that as*hole .

SCREAM!
September 18th 2007



10035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

MUST LISTEN TO THIS AGAIN NOW!!!!!!!!This Message Edited On 09.18.07

Digging: Old Witch - Come Mourning Come

SCREAM!
September 18th 2007



10035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've heard it already lol I added the again to avoid such confusion but i guess you saw the post before i added it.

BallsToTheWall
September 18th 2007



44164 Comments


I cant find this anywhere. Ive had the same 6 tracks for awhile, pisses me off.

SCREAM!
September 18th 2007



10035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still dont have Devoid of Caring and that pisses me off too. It's supposed to be one of the better songs (and it has to be pretty damn good to beat some of the stuff on here).

Willie
Moderator
September 18th 2007



15911 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I cant find this anywhere. Ive had the same 6 tracks for awhile, pisses me off.
I still dont have Devoid of Caring and that pisses me off too.
well if you don't have all the songs then my assumption is that... well you know what it is... I know you can get the ones you're missing off of iTunes Music store legitamitely, and give the band some sort of support ;)
I read yours, I actually enjoyed it a lot.
Thanks!

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

masscows
September 18th 2007



2236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i don't understand the point of the review.

good album though, one of the few melo-death albums i've heard that really has true longevity.

SynGates
September 18th 2007



2467 Comments


Cool Review of a great album

Wizard
September 18th 2007



19335 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was caught off guard by that review. Well written and was a convincer for me to check out this band.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Crimson
September 19th 2007



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, don't worry about blackmilk, no one really cares what he says anyway.

Mu pos vote.

Abaddon2005
September 19th 2007



684 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album really isn't that good. It has a few good melodies throughout but gets very repetitive as a whole.

Aeksis8745
December 1st 2007



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Their first album destroys this and STDIACD, this is still a very good album. Much better than most melodic death these days.

myhigherpie
January 1st 2009



3027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm starting to like this even more than STDIACD

Motiv3
May 1st 2009



8923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This albums is even better than their previous 2 tbh

Digging: Punch - They Don?t Have To Believe

BallsToTheWall
May 1st 2009



44164 Comments


Crysis was whacked.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2009



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think he was saying that crysis got murdered

but he is also insane so idk what he meant

mothergoose
June 14th 2009



308 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Enjoy this significantly more than STDIACD honestly... both great albums. I've been pondering raising this to a 5 - it isn't the most innovative stuff out there, but it's still one of my favorite metal albums to date.

Ponton
Emeritus
December 5th 2009



5790 Comments


This is a great album; The Killjoy and Last Statement are awesome tracks.

Ponton
Emeritus
February 22nd 2011



5790 Comments


... i prefer the other one though ;)





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy