Spoon
Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga


4.0
excellent

Review

by The Door Mouse USER (29 Reviews)
July 15th, 2007 | 19 replies | 4,516 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Spoon blends abrupt instrumentals with smooth voice to produce a beautiful album.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

I always believed that an infant’s cry was one of the most annoying things on earth. I recall a couple of times trying to sleep off a 6 hour flight but couldn’t because of the dreaded crying baby. It honestly makes you want to put a bullet in you head. Not to sound like too much of a Grinch but it is just a loud, abrupt and ear shattering noise! Well when I decided to get Spoon’s 6th effort Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga I immediately noticed the unusual title, the mocking of a crying infant, and immediately I became skeptical, but the outcome wasn’t as bad as I thought.

What is similar to a baby crying are the instrumentals. In that they are very repetitive and staccato which is shown in the first track Don’t Make Me a Target. You get that feeling immediately when you hear a short, choppy guitar riff that goes into a simple drumbeat and vocals. But the best example of this mood of instrumentals is The Ghost of You Lingers with the entire song being a couple of piano chords being repeated over and over again being layered over with heavily reverbed and echoed vocals. With these first two songs, you understand what they’re getting at with the theme of their instrumentals. Short, fast and choppy. Not only does this resemble the album title by being repetitive and abrupt, but in You Got Yr. Cherry Bomb and Underdog there are blaring trumpets to add on to the disjointed instrumentals. On the contrary of the instrumentals, heavily representing the aspects of an upset baby, are the vocals. Britt Daniel’s voice can be described as smooth, flowing with a hint of raspyness. He even hits some high notes every once in a while with songs like The Ghost of You Lingers and Don’t You Evah.

This brings me to my next point of how the vocals and the instrumentals act as complementary foils for each other. Without the vocals the instrumentals would be annoying and hasty, but without the instrumentals the voice would have nothing to to be backed up with. But when they act together the instrumentals make it so the voice is smooth enough to relax to, and the voice makes the instrumentals thumpy and punchy enough to bob your head and tap your foot to. When these two components act together it makes for a smooth and beautiful album.

When I look back to the beginning to the review I find myself dreading an infant’s wail but now at the end I find my self talking about smooth, beautiful instrumentals and vocals acting together. Rather than thinking of the loud, screech of a baby’s cry I’m thinking of the innocence and of an infant’s laugh.

Pros:
Smooth vocals
Vocals and Drums blend unusually well


Cons:
Choppy instrumentals can get annoying at times




Recent reviews by this author
Okkervil River The Stage NamesPrefuse 73 One Word Extinguisher
Explosions in the Sky All of a Sudden, I Miss EveryoneGhostface Killah Ironman
Dream Theater Train of ThoughtScott Joplin The Entertainer (Fine Tune Gold Collection)
user ratings (415)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
TheSaneLunatic (4.5)
On Spoon's sixth album, the baby-sounding Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, the band makes arguably one of the best al...


Comments:Add a Comment 
The Door Mouse
July 15th 2007



2092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Once again I apologize for the double posts, hopefully that will be fixed soon.

Also I wish I did this first. Oh well

plane
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2007



6093 Comments


To be completely honest, this doesn't want to make me buy this at all. I'm not sure what I should be looking forward to, but it sure doesn't sound pleasing.

Otisbum
July 15th 2007



1912 Comments


Is it Zoidberg or Zoidburg?

Anyway, nice review. I haven't heard anything by these guys. I'll do a quick search and see if they have anything free on their website.

The Door Mouse
July 15th 2007



2092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn I read it over like 4 times. I guess I'll read it over again.

The Door Mouse
July 15th 2007



2092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just looked it over and fixed like two things

Otisbum
July 15th 2007



1912 Comments


Some errors I see right off the bat, you may want to add what is bolded in each of these:

it is just a loud, abrupt

I became skeptical, but the outcome
(comma is bolded)
In that, they are very
This comma should be removed.
That brings me to my next
Might look better as 'This' instead.

The Door Mouse
July 15th 2007



2092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aye Aye. And thank you.

Otisbum
July 15th 2007



1912 Comments


No problem.

The Jungler
July 15th 2007



4827 Comments


Alright, there a few choppy sections but, overall, this review isn't bad.
Spoon are pretty good at what they do. I know my dad bought this, so I'll probably end up listening to it sooner or later. Plus, they're playing at Lollapalooza, so I may have to see them live.

blackmilk
July 15th 2007



584 Comments


There are like two good songs on this.

Intransit
July 15th 2007



2797 Comments


hey zepdude I dunno if you noticed or not but all of your stuff shows up twice maybe its just my computer I dunno you should probably figure that out

The Door Mouse
July 15th 2007



2092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey zepdude I dunno if you noticed or not but all of your stuff shows up twice maybe its just my computer I dunno you should probably figure that out


Are you serious? I've been bitching about it in the forums for like 3 weeks.

Woah this one didn't double post.This Message Edited On 07.15.07

plane
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2007



6093 Comments


glad to know sputnik users understand sarcasm

Skyler
July 16th 2007



1084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is the first album I've heard from these guys. It's good.

Skyler
July 16th 2007



1084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is the first album I've heard from these guys. It's pretty good.

samthebassman
July 16th 2007



2164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is a bit iffy, I wish they had written some catchy songs. It is all nice and cosy but oh so boring.

T_L_H
July 16th 2007



69 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love this new album almost as much as I loved Gimme Fiction. This to me almost seems like a continuation of the Gimme Fiction sound.

There are like two good songs on this.


Don't Make Me A Target? You Got Yr. Cherry Bomb? The Underdog? My Little Japanese Cigarette Case? Finer Feelings? Black Like Me? All great tracks. In fact, the only really bad song is The Ghost of You Lingers.


The Door Mouse
July 16th 2007



2092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

glad to know sputnik users understand sarcasm

Yeah it's kinda hard to tell on the internet.

astrel
July 16th 2007



2614 Comments


have you tried using a different web browser? I have heard a few songs off of this album, and I wasn't too pleased, still might get it though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy