Pink Floyd
The Dark Side of the Moon


5.0
classic

Review

by flyguy USER (1 Reviews)
January 14th, 2005 | 107 replies | 17,455 views


Release Date: 1973 | Tracklist


8 of 12 thought this review was well written

This album is probably one of the greatest albums of all time, if not "the" greatest. It features an all star line up of

David Gilmour - Guitars, vocals
Roger Waters - Bass, vocals, all lyrics
Richard Wright - Keyboards
Nick Mason - Percussion, tape effects

This album has probably influenced just about every single rock musician to date in some shape or form. Composed of just 10 tracks and being little over 43 minutes in length, it would eventually go on selling more than 35 million sopies since its release in 1973. Many "remastered and anniversery" albums have been made. Now onto the review. Its truly an epic!!!

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side of the Moon


1. A. Speak to Me - Nick Mason uses a unique blend of effects to ahceive a very memorable and different intro to this album. These tape effects are heard through out the album and greatly complement the greatness of the album.

1.B. Breathe - David Gilmours amazing guitar layering does this song justice and opens the album of beautifully. He uses a steel guitar on this one to acheive that sound as well as other guitars. Nick and Rogers simplistic playing helps establish a nice groove to the whole song.

2. On the Run - This instrumental tunes starts off where Breathe leaves you. This song was actually made by Wright who sped up some sythesizer notes which creates the 'spiraling" sound (hopefully you know what im talking about) Nick provides extradinary tape effects for the time. Sound effects from explosions to a man running to a laughing man are heard. The balance is important setting for this song. A great song from a great band.

3. Time - Being such an epic album Time starts where On the Run leaves you as well. The tune starts out with more tape effects that include bells, chimes, and telephones and everything in between. Then Nick Mason perfroms a nice roto-tom solo that introduces the song, perhaps the only one in rock history? This leads up to a nice song progression played by the band. David Gilmour delivers a powerful guitar solo that is unique, musical and just plain awesome. As usual the backing music just kicks and could not be more fitting. This may be one of Floyd's most reconizable songs.

4. The Great Gig in the Sky - This song was written by Richard Wright and starts with a piano intro. It starts slow but the changes as the drums come in. One of the few song where the band members dont sing. The amazing singing is done by Clare Torry whom utilazies an unbelievable series of screams. The results are just great.

5. Money - Perhaps Pink Floyd's biggest and most well known hit. It features possibly the most well known bass riff known in rock history. Starting in 7/4 you notice another great batch of tape effects from the band that contain cash registers and change dropping. It delivers a powerful message and another rockin guitar solo by David Gilmour. Also Dick Parrys saxophone playing doubles the songs appeal and just overall kicks ***. Defintately a true classic.

6. Us and Them - The longest track on this cd. It starts where money ends. This song is beautiful. The paino and guitar playin complement eachother so well, not to mention the harminizing in the chorus. The echoed vocals also give this song a signature feel. Dick Parry explodes with another majestic sax solo. There is also some nice "voices" that can be heard.

7. Any Colour You Like - Another Floyd instrumental. Written by the whole band. David Gilmours guitar effects in this song go beyond anything. This song can be simply desribed and a batch of colors shining magnificently. Most definately a wonderful song.

8. Brain Damage - Wow. What can i say, Any Colour You Likes drops us off here at the 8th song of the album. This song contains probably the best lyrics on the CD, listen to them and discover for yourself. Amazing song, i cant even describe in words how great it is. Great guitar verse, nice slow drum fills.

9. Eclipse - The final song of this masterpiece. It again follows right behind Brain Damage and changes to 6/8 time. The powerful lyrics help reinforce the music. I feel that this song is the album theme. IT closes with pretty much the same way that it starts. The heartbeat intesifies the ending and the album gradually comes to a halt. (unfortunately)

This album as I said before is one of the best ever. Pink Floyd literally acheives perfection with this one. It contains meaningful lyrics, wicked guitar solos, nice piano chord progressions, and groovin bass licks. This album is most definately a 10/10 and should be bought by everyone.

I highly reccomend that everyone purchases this CD if you dont already have it. No one would be dissapointed.

Lastly, I would like to thank you for reading this review, and tell me what you think. Share your opinions on this masterpiece.


user ratings (5418)
Chart.
4.6
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
manuscriptreplica
November 25th 2003



431 Comments


finally someone did a review on dark side of the moon! i was surprised that it took this long really... a near perfect album in my opinion. the only thing i dont like about it is the great gig in the sky... god**** that song is annoying. but, the rest of the album is bloody good. my favourite song is probably breathe or maybe eclipse. anyways great review mate.

Kaden
November 25th 2003



222 Comments


Originally posted by manuscriptreplica
finally someone did a review on dark side of the moon! i was surprised that it took this long really... a near perfect album in my opinion. the only thing i dont like about it is the great gig in the sky... god**** that song is annoying. but, the rest of the album is bloody good. my favourite song is probably breathe or maybe eclipse. anyways great review mate.


A absolutely love Great Gig in the Sky. My favorite song is Any Colour you like, it's so trippy. I love how it's a complete album instead of just a group of songs. 6/5

savarious
November 26th 2003



14 Comments


Nice review. DSOTM is one of the best albums ever IMO. Some where I heard that it still sells 250,000 copies annually. Pretty amazing for a record that is around thirty years old.

BirdsOfFires
November 26th 2003



92 Comments


Dark Side of The Moon was the first art-rock trimuph. Singularly, the songs certainly aren't Floyd's finest work, that title goes to either Wish You Were Here or Piper At The Gates Of Dawn. However, Dark Side of The Moon started something that trimuphed later in Sonic Youth's 1988 masterpiece Daydream Nation: the single-flow art rock album.

sting-ray
November 26th 2003



92 Comments


you forgot the genre. I'm deleting or maybe closing the thread if i dont see an edit by tomorrow.

BirdsOfFires
November 26th 2003



92 Comments


... Nick Mason didn't do the effect, it was Alan Parsons.

Genre is Psychodelic/Art Rock

flyguy
December 13th 2003



4 Comments


This album is probably one of the greatest albums of all time, if not "the" greatest. It features an all star line up of

David Gilmour - Guitars, vocals
Roger Waters - Bass, vocals, all lyrics
Richard Wright - Keyboards
Nick Mason - Percussion, tape effects

Engineering - Alan Parsons, Peter James

Additional personnel: Clare Torry (vocals); Dick Parry (saxophone); Doris Troy, Leslie Duncan, Liza Strike, Barry St. John (background vocals).

Recorded at Abbey Road Studios 1972-1973

This album has probably influenced just about every single rock musician to date in some shape or form. Composed of just 10 tracks and being little over 43 minutes in length, it would eventually go on selling more than 35 million copies since its release in 1973. Many "remastered and anniversery" albums have been made. Now onto the review. Its truly an epic!!!

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side of the Moon


1. A. Speak to Me - Nick Mason uses a unique blend of effects to ahceive a very memorable and different intro to this album. These tape effects are heard through out the album and greatly complement the greatness of the album.

1.B. Breathe - David Gilmours amazing guitar layering does this song justice and opens the album of beautifully. He uses a steel guitar on this one to acheive that sound as well as other guitars. Nick and Rogers simplistic playing helps establish a nice groove to the whole song.

2. On the Run - This instrumental tunes starts off where Breathe leaves you. This song was actually made by Wright who sped up some sythesizer notes which creates the 'spiraling" sound (hopefully you know what im talking about) Nick provides extradinary tape effects for the time. Sound effects from explosions to a man running to a laughing man are heard. The balance is important setting for this song. A great song from a great band.

3. Time - Being such an epic album Time starts where On the Run leaves you as well. The tune starts out with more tape effects that include bells, chimes, and telephones and everything in between. Then Nick Mason perfroms a nice roto-tom solo that introduces the song, perhaps the only one in rock history? This leads up to a nice song progression played by the band. David Gilmour delivers a powerful guitar solo that is unique, musical and just plain awesome. As usual the backing music just kicks and could not be more fitting. This may be one of Floyd's most reconizable songs.

4. The Great Gig in the Sky - This song was written by Richard Wright and starts with a piano intro. It starts slow but the changes as the drums come in. One of the few song where the band members dont sing. The amazing singing is done by Clare Torry whom utilazies an unbelievable series of screams. The results are just great.

5. Money - Perhaps Pink Floyd's biggest and most well known hit. It features possibly the most well known bass riff known in rock history. Starting in 7/4 you notice another great batch of tape effects from the band that contain cash registers and change dropping. It delivers a powerful message and another rockin guitar solo by David Gilmour. Also Dick Parrys saxophone playing doubles the songs appeal and just overall kicks ***. Defintately a true classic.

6. Us and Them - The longest track on this cd. It starts where money ends. This song is beautiful. The paino and guitar playin complement eachother so well, not to mention the harminizing in the chorus. The echoed vocals also give this song a signature feel. Dick Parry explodes with another majestic sax solo. There is also some nice "voices" that can be heard.

7. Any Colour You Like - Another Floyd instrumental. Written by the whole band. David Gilmours guitar effects in this song go beyond anything. This song can be simply desribed and a batch of colors shining magnificently. Most definately a wonderful song. The guitar effects are unmatched. ( well at least for 1973 times )

8. Brain Damage - Wow. What can i say, Any Colour You Likes drops us off here at the 8th song of the album. This song contains probably the best lyrics on the CD, listen to them and discover for yourself. Amazing song, i cant even describe in words how great it is. Great guitar verse, nice slow drum fills.

9. Eclipse - The final song of this masterpiece. It again follows right behind Brain Damage and changes to 6/8 time. The powerful lyrics help reinforce the music. I feel that this song is the album theme. IT closes with pretty much the same way that it starts. The heartbeat intesifies the ending and the album gradually comes to a halt. (unfortunately)

This album as I said before is one of the best ever. Pink Floyd literally acheives perfection with this one. It contains meaningful lyrics, wicked guitar solos, nice piano chord progressions, and groovin bass licks. This album is most definately a 10/10 and should be bought by everyone. It is a blueprint for life, the message is eternal, and nobody ever put it all together like this before, or since. It deserves all the praise it has gotten, so dont let the naysayers fool you. Check out this record, love it or hate it. It is 43 minutes you will never forget.

I highly reccomend that everyone purchases this CD if you dont already have it. No one would be dissapointed.

Lastly, I would like to thank you for reading this review, and tell me what you think. Share your opinions on this masterpiece

BirdsOfFires
December 13th 2003



92 Comments


I'm rather dissapointed in your review. You mentioned each song rather well, but in my opinion, as songs only go, DSOTM is by far not Floyd's finest work. The allure, to me at least, of DSOTM, is the single-flow album presented here, something comparable to later attempts by Sonic Youth on Daydream Nation and of course perfected on later Floyd records Animals and Wish You Were Here.

I think of DSOTM as one song. One mediocre, overplayed song. A great album, none the less, but certainly not ...

It is a blueprint for life, the message is eternal, and nobody ever put it all together like this before, or since.


:eek:

I'm just going to assume that you haven't heard much prog, or Animals or WYWH. DSOTM is possibly a masterpiece, but to me it's simply Floyd's first delving into what the would later prefect on Animals.

:thumb:

manuscriptreplica
December 13th 2003



431 Comments


cool review

barry st. john (the backup vocalist) sounds like a pornstar name

robnathanson
December 13th 2003



93 Comments


I prefer The Wall, but I do like this album.

good review...even though I disagree on many points..main one being

I highly reccomend that everyone purchases this CD if you dont already have it. No one would be dissapointed



I was highly disappointed. I bought this expecting to be blown away. I wan't unhappy with the quality of the album, however, it's not as good as it's made out to be.

I give it a 3.75/5

savarious
December 13th 2003



14 Comments


Nice review. IMO every music fan, regardless of which genres they like, should own this album. It's certainly one of the best ever.

musicman
December 13th 2003



15 Comments


Great album I give it a 4/5.

Has anyone ever tried the Wizard of Oz thing with Dark Side of the Moon? I wonder if that actually works. If you don't know what I'm talking about, apparently if you press start on Dark Side of the Moon at the third roar of the MGM Studios Lion in the Wizard of Oz before the movie starts some of the music and lyrics match up. Has anyone tried it?

PoorTom
December 13th 2003



3 Comments


yeah, i have tried the DSOTM/Oz thing.I'm not sure if i didn't quite pull off the timing correctly or what, but it didn't really work.AND, i didn't have any acid, so...

flyguy
December 13th 2003



4 Comments


Originally posted by BirdsOfFires
I'm just going to assume that you haven't heard much prog, or Animals or WYWH. DSOTM is possibly a masterpiece, but to me it's simply Floyd's first delving into what the would later prefect on Animals.

:thumb:



ohh ive heard all there albums, and i agree with you on how much animals and wish you were here kick ***, but to me i like dark side a little bit more. surely theres nothing wrong with that. remember that everyone entitled to there own opinion. i respect yours, but dont assume things like "i havent heard much prog before" because when you assume your just making an *** outta U and ME.

toodles

Zappa
December 13th 2003



355 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Don't believe the hype. Overplayed-ness aside, judging simply on the quality of the music when it is fresh and new to a listener, this is a 2/5. The truth is, this won't seem fresh to most people, because it's aged horribly, and so many things (included some of Floyd's own later work) has expanded on what's presented here. It might have broken ground in 1973, but 30 years later, it's hardly relevant. If you've heard it as many times as most human beings have, it's not even worth spending a dime on.

moderaterock222
December 13th 2003



121 Comments


i dont really agree with your review but good work nevertheless. its a great cd and i love listening to it, but i thin they have made betetr records, but still i respect your opinion totally

Mekkalayakay
December 13th 2003



167 Comments


I'm getting this album for my dad for Christmas. Hope he likes it.

3/5

manuscriptreplica
December 14th 2003



431 Comments


Zappa: 2/5??? its far better than that...

you need the Remastered version of Dark side of the moon (on the un-remastered version, it says 'breathe in the air on track 1b instead of Breathe - the original title that is on the record and the remastered versions) or it won't work. don't ask me why that is...
edit: ^^ for the Wizard of Oz thing that is

rating: 4.25/5

Maveryck
December 14th 2003



12 Comments


Although Animals is my favourite Pink Floyd album, DSOTM, The Wall, WYWH, PATGOD (lol!), and Meddle all come in pretty much equal, somewhere between 4/5 and 4.5/5, depending on my mood.

So, to be as fair as possible, 4.25/5.

flyguy
December 14th 2003



4 Comments


yeah, i also reccomend that anyone who hasnt done the wizard of oz thingy with it yet should try it out sometime. If you time it correctly its really amazing how some of the stuff fits together so well. So next time your really bored give it a shot.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy