Dissection
Storm of the Light's Bane


4.5
superb

Review

by Unhallowed66 USER (1 Reviews)
April 22nd, 2007 | 14 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


As a fan of Melodic Death Metal and Black Metal bands such as Norther, Satyricon, and Darkthrone, I was told to check out Dissection's supposed "masterpiece" called Storm of the Light's Bane, something I couldn't really care for at the time.

... What a horrible mistake!


This album has everything someone into Black Metal, Death Metal, and any cross-over genre could ever want! Haunting melodies, fast aggressive drums and riffs, spine-tingling rasped vocals, and much more. Whatever you want to find in metal, Storm of the Light's Bane has it all. From "At the Fathomless Depths" to "No Dreams Breed in Breathless Sleep" this album proves to be a landmark in both worlds of Death Metal and Black Metal. This album takes bits and pieces of both genres, and puts it so well together. This, my friends, is a masterpiece.

In comparison to the earlier album, "The Somberlain," this album seems to be more Death Metal, so that means faster tempos, thrashier riffs, and not to mention the more aggressive drums. Some elements we're kept from "The Somberlain," such as the acoustic guitars and epic melodies, but what I also noticed is that the lyrics on "Storm of the Light's Bane" are less direct on the subjects as opposed to "The Somberlain," which I love.

In conclusion, if you want a long lasting album that is melodic, and at the same time brutal, go ahead and throw a couple of bucks away and buy the masterpiece that is "Storm of the Light's Bane." You will not regret it!


user ratings (928)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Thor
April 23rd 2007


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sorry, but I just can't vote for this. You really need to add in alot more detail.

This album is still my favorite BM album, as well.This Message Edited On 04.23.07

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

jrowa001
April 23rd 2007


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great ablum, short review though...but good

Dethtrasher
April 23rd 2007


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agree with Thor, you need more detail in your reviews. This album is very good though, better than I could imagine

Slaapkamers
April 23rd 2007


596 Comments


Nice Thor, negging someone's first review.

This album is okay.

Eakflanderyof
April 23rd 2007


2143 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is actually a pretty good review for how short it is, but I can't pos this unless you add more detail.

SynGates
April 23rd 2007


2467 Comments


It's basically a long soundoff. Good though.
One of my favorite black metal albums.

Unhallowed66
April 23rd 2007


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I must agree that it is short. Silly me XP

I might add a tbt later on. 'Cause that's how I roll.

Nikkito
April 27th 2008


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's cool for a first review

oh, and what an awesome album!

FR33L0RD
April 28th 2008


1467 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Classic album

SCREAM!
April 28th 2008


10399 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Definately my fave BM album. Possibly my fave album too

Digging: Svartidau?i - Flesh Cathedral

bobrocket
April 28th 2008


7 Comments


album blows

bobrocket
April 28th 2008


7 Comments


no really, i actually hate this abum. doesnt help that u kids all whack off its peenis

Wizard
April 28th 2008


19646 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It doesn't really help your argument when your grammar reminds me of my 4 year old cousins!

Digging: Horseback and Locrian - New Dominions

FR33L0RD
April 29th 2008


1467 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^^^^^
that was funny






You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy